SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:33 AM
A new day, a new gadget
Brighton, UK
Joined May 2006
571 Posts
Followed your link Blucross but in the FAQ's linked from that page it said the hack only applies to GF1.
Garry s is offline Find More Posts by Garry s
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:38 AM
Gravity is a cruel mistress...
Blucross's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Mar 2011
724 Posts
Ptool 3.65D supports GF3. Here's a few more resources (including release log)

http://www.gh1-hack.info/wiki/VersionHistory

http://www.43rumors.com/gf3-gets-hac...ming-soon-too/

http://www.gh1-hack.info/wiki/PToolSoftware

PM me if you want to discuss the hack further.
Blucross is offline Find More Posts by Blucross
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:42 AM
Destroyer of G-10
askman's Avatar
United States, OR
Joined Jul 2004
10,085 Posts
I am using hacked firmware on GF3.

I am running about 60mbps for data rate using cake 2.2 video quality is quite good.
askman is online now Find More Posts by askman
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:49 AM
A new day, a new gadget
Brighton, UK
Joined May 2006
571 Posts
Thanks Blucross! May well do that.
Garry s is offline Find More Posts by Garry s
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:10 AM
Video Juggernaut
Wingbreaker's Avatar
FL
Joined Nov 2003
2,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by askman View Post
I am using hacked firmware on GF3.

I am running about 60mbps for data rate using cake 2.2 video quality is quite good.
what frame rates are you getting? manual iris/shutter settings control?
Wingbreaker is offline Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:40 AM
Destroyer of G-10
askman's Avatar
United States, OR
Joined Jul 2004
10,085 Posts
there is FSH and SH setting one is 1080 i and 720p (both at 60fps) of course, i mode is interelaced, so it is in effect a 30fps. you can change ISO. you can also do aperture priority, shutter priority, auto and manual focus, etc.

i just checked streamparser data and my TS max speed is currently at 58.8mbps. on my class 10 card, it works without issues.
askman is online now Find More Posts by askman
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:18 AM
Video Juggernaut
Wingbreaker's Avatar
FL
Joined Nov 2003
2,653 Posts
After a ton of research and bargain shopping, I bit the bullet.

I bought Askmans NEX f550 gimbal w/brushless servos
A dampening mount and legs for my f450
A WK-M controller from DJIUSA, came with free f450 ARF
Used NEX5N and 16mm Pancake lens ($600, I think I got a good deal there..)

Progress will be posted.

Thanks to GGoodrum and Askman for the help. Lord knows I'll be pestering you guys he shortly....

Cheers!
Wingbreaker is offline Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:06 PM
Registered User
Jeffem62's Avatar
United States, TX, El Paso
Joined Apr 2012
527 Posts
You are not alone. I bought the AG550 Gimble for my 550, and the leg extensions and hard mount for the 450. I'll post details once they all come in.
Jeffem62 is offline Find More Posts by Jeffem62
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:33 PM
jbb
Registered User
Joined May 2006
210 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGoodrum View Post
I'll post some pics later, after I get it put together, but what we are doing is a purpose-build quad, in a crab-like rectangular format, sized around 500mm, or right between the F450 and F550. It will use a smaller version of the AG550-LG landing gear, but instead of having the center section, like on the F550, this will be integrated into the center section of the frames. Basically, the legs just "plug into" the body. We will use a modified version of the AG450 roll assembly and mounting plate, and it will have a new yoke that is more tailored to use with the NEX-5N/7, or a GF3.

The goal is to have it be right around 2100g, with a NEX-5N/7, some typical FPV gear, and a 4s-4400 pack. This just wouldn't be possible starting with the F450 frame, so we decided to "roll our own".

More later...

-- Gary
Classic Movie Line #51 (0 min 5 sec)
jbb is offline Find More Posts by jbb
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:41 PM
Destroyer of G-10
askman's Avatar
United States, OR
Joined Jul 2004
10,085 Posts
lmao. well, life happens I did not get much done this weekend either LOL. we are working on it though. (and I am working on improvement to it already)
askman is online now Find More Posts by askman
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:55 PM
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
South Orange County, CA
Joined Mar 2003
8,026 Posts
I love that!

I'm trying to get caught up. Not enough hours in the day. Today I have to ship some orders, finish the damn instructions (), do another test flight with the PJ710V setup and then get back to building up the first of these new "crab" quads.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline Find More Posts by GGoodrum
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:18 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
i had another guy ask if there was a manual and a faq or wiki on tuning it.

good to see that coming along!

I will be interested in those quads too they seem cool.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:28 PM
jbb
Registered User
Joined May 2006
210 Posts
just a picture of the "crab" would be great! use some duct tape and spit to slap it together

jbb is offline Find More Posts by jbb
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor73 View Post
Hi Gary, any particular reason why you swapped two 3300 in parallel for a single 5800 ?

And why do you recommend 40C or higher?
Isn't 25C enough for the F550 setup?!

Regarding 3S, I imagine they are probably more suitable for light weight flights likes the unloaded ones I'm doing while testing my new F550, but there is any other reason for avoiding them if not for the heavier weight the 4S can fly with?
I'm also looking for that answer.

I almost forgot... and about the FY-30a, any conclusion?
page 4 Gary: "Finally, just for grins, I tried using an FY-30A as a standalone gimbal controller. It seems to work pretty well, but I can't really tell yet if it is any better or worse than the WK-M/Naza's direct gimbal outputs."
pabloreg is offline Find More Posts by pabloreg
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:32 PM
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
South Orange County, CA
Joined Mar 2003
8,026 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pabloreg View Post
I'm also looking for that answer.

I almost forgot... and about the FY-30a, any conclusion?
page 4 Gary: "Finally, just for grins, I tried using an FY-30A as a standalone gimbal controller. It seems to work pretty well, but I can't really tell yet if it is any better or worse than the WK-M/Naza's direct gimbal outputs."
I switched to a single 4s-5800 pack because it was always a pain to charge a two-pack setup. I also switched to a single 4s-4400 on my F450.

The FY-30A worked fine, but it was too hard to get the gains perfect with the tiny 1/4-turn pots.

TC has a new firmware load for me to try in the Naze32, which I will do tomorrow.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline Find More Posts by GGoodrum
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Sony Nex 5n aerial samples. jeffscholl Aerial Photography 1446 Today 03:12 AM
Discussion DJI WK-M - Droidworx Hex Build Huddo Multirotor Talk 41 Dec 31, 2011 07:58 AM
Discussion Sony NEX 5N raw video footage SeismicCWave Multirotor Talk 5 Nov 17, 2011 12:10 AM
Discussion Which is best: "Sony Nex 5" or "Panasonic GH2"? babanan Aerial Photography 6 Sep 08, 2011 04:27 PM
Discussion What gyros to use on a 2 Axis camera gimbal? Voguna Aerial Photography 0 Mar 13, 2011 11:51 AM