HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:57 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Jo I think you must be an accountant.
Just go fly.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:12 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Jo I think you must be an accountant.
Just go fly.
lol, true very true
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:21 PM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Jo I think you must be an accountant.
Just go fly.
Yes, but an accountant would have to tell you the future value of the time spent flying, hence....
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:32 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
I have trouble getting people to understand why I just throw my power supplies in my trunk and 'build' ARFs. Building anything has taken a back seat to flying. The power supplies don't seem to mind.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 03:49 AM
Pro beginner
rchelijc's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Aug 2010
742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
I have trouble getting people to understand why I just throw my power supplies in my trunk and 'build' ARFs. Building anything has taken a back seat to flying. The power supplies don't seem to mind.
You are exactly right. In fact I no longer have the desire for trying to neatly fit them all into a nice case. I've seen some builds that look really nice and neat, with the PL8 and MPA attached and sitting nicely inside the case.

But in use, I've charged 6, sometimes 12 of those 6S 5000mah packs and this would be a cable and space nightmare to those neat builds. I've seen lipos hanging off the side... just a nightmare in general.

I'm now putting together two PSU's for 24V, taped together with duct tape, and chucking them all in a bag with the charger. I'm downsizing, and getting lighter and lighter. 1000W charging power suits me just fine and charges faster than I can fly. When I charge, my lipos, PSU and charger are all at ground / table level.
rchelijc is online now Find More Posts by rchelijc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:00 AM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
So with the new iCharger 4010 duo coming out would there be any real benefit to wiring up 4 DPS-600PBs in series to produce 48.6v. The sense pins would have to be connected to lower the PSU to the actual rated voltage of 12.15, otherwise at 12.5v each they would be bumping right up next to the 4010's max voltage input of 50v. But my question is, is this even worth it in the US as most household circuits would be limited to 15amps and 2 PSUs wired in series are already just about maxing that out? Maybe if connected to a dryer socket (240v) or if you are using a generator it might be worthwhile?
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:06 AM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,422 Posts
Jo, dude, that would surely be a "pig" in a silk dress!
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:30 AM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
I think 240v circuits in the US are limitted to 15 amps in most houses just like their 120v counterparts. Can someone please confirm if that is right?
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Last edited by jocanon; Nov 17, 2012 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:31 AM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,422 Posts
Buy lots of completed products (products liability) coverage....
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 01:33 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,518 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocanon View Post
I think 240v circuits in the US are limitted to 15 amps in most houses just like their 120v counterparts. Can someone please confirm if that is right?
No, you are limited to what your main panel limit is. I have one for my compressor (60A), Oven (40A) and AC (40A) with a 200A main panel.

Harry
Harry H is offline Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:01 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
So we could wire 4 of these in series and connect them to one of these 240v outlets. I don't know about newer houses, but my house doesn't have very many separate 240v outlets. I can unplug my dryer and wire a plug into that, which I have done.
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:02 PM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
7,422 Posts
Well, your next project can be an expansion "buss" for a 220 outlet!
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:04 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
right, "next" project...I have enough on my plate to keep me busy for now. I don't want to just go wiring them up and selling them until I really understand all the risks and have had a chance to fully test it on my own...so it would be a while.
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:09 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Joe - Dryer is typically 40-50A, Range is typically 40-50A and AC 30-40A.
Water heater 30-40A. Most modern panels are 200A capable and you can install breakers typically as large as 50A.
Harry has a 10-12hp air compressor. No idea what he does with that.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:12 PM
jocanon's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
Thanks feathermerchant...have you sold units with 4 wired in series? If so, do you sell some sort of plug for them to plug into a 3 prong or 4 prong 240v outlet, or leave that up to them? Actually, I don't know, but I think there may be some newer houses that have 240v wall outlets already installed.
jocanon is offline Find More Posts by jocanon
Site Sponsor
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flydumini Frame Thread and Build Hints/Help nasgul Multirotor Talk 216 Sep 28, 2013 04:58 PM
Discussion DPS-600PB Power Supply Shuts Down wcsd106 Batteries and Chargers 3 Jun 23, 2013 06:11 PM
Mini-HowTo Tips, Tricks, Hints, Secrets & How To's to help make a build/rebuild easier... ABADGTP The Builders Workshop 37 Dec 24, 2011 11:48 AM
Discussion Sokol build tips and hints Dan the man High Performance 9 Aug 21, 2008 03:26 AM
Discussion GWS Piper Cub Build Tips & Hints? Royster Australia 111 Feb 07, 2007 03:11 PM