HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 19, 2012, 10:34 PM
DONT PANIC! :)
United States, FL, Lehigh Acres
Joined Jan 2012
1,865 Posts
Question
where are you guys placing your separate receiver pack?

wheres a typical location to place a receiver pack? i have a lifesource pack.

im still learning and have learned alot since joining this site! i am a bit confused as to whether i should power my radio gear from a bec or a receiver pack. im hearing becs failing on some people. what are the ups & downs on becs and receiver packs? any info is big help for me!

sbach 342 60" ep
out of stock is offline Find More Posts by out of stock
Last edited by out of stock; Feb 19, 2012 at 07:14 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 19, 2012, 10:54 PM
Balsa addiction since age 3
Upstate NY
Joined May 2005
1,222 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by out of stock View Post
im still learning and have learned alot since joining this site! i am a bit confused as to whether i should power my radio gear from a bec or a receiver pack. im hearing becs failing on some people. what are the ups & downs on becs and receiver packs? any info is big help for me!

sbach 342 60" ep
A BEC can work very well - depends on lots of factors. Some are better than others. Some are linear regulator based designs and significantly reduce in current capacity as the number of cells goes up. Some are "switching" and generally can tolerate more cells but "might" introduce electrical interference. Some servo's require more power than others for the same "general" characteristics. Digital servos for example (I don't use) seem to be more power hungry but then again some of the cheap Chinese servos also seem power hungry.

Many of the "good" ESC's have switching BEC's that can handle 3A draw (vs 2A for linear at 3S and less at 4S). These are generally the ones I use and I have had no failures or issues (other than forgetting to validate cutoff voltage when first getting into LiPos).