HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,098 Posts
adding 3 channel to my FF9 with a DragonLink 12 ch receiver

I take the time today to hook up my Channel Wizzard.

I have successfully added 3 channels to my Futaba 9C, on which I have a DragonLink UHF system attach ie 12 channels receivers.

I can now drive a pan & tilt cam with a joystick.

Thanks to FPVKiwi for such a nice think

Here are some pics :

1 Overview of the entire system before going in a box

2 Channel Wizard wiring

3 detailed pic, I used a genuine futaba 3 positions switch and add 2 10k OHMs resistor for having 0 - 2.5 V - 5 V range

4 Dragon Link Rx channel 10, 11 and 12 used by the FF9


5 Picking ppm from FF9


And now a video of the system in action

6 a video of my set-up for FPV use
GLADUS63 is offline Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by GLADUS63; Mar 13, 2012 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:11 PM
Flying FPV or Dreaming I Am...
cactus's Avatar
United States, CO, Durango
Joined Sep 2001
6,073 Posts
What setting did you put the dial on during the setup? Where did the joystick come from? I can't get any channels added to my DL.
cactus is offline Find More Posts by cactus
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:26 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cactus View Post
What setting did you put the dial on during the setup? Where did the joystick come from? I can't get any channels added to my DL.
I used the "C" dial position

I use this joystick with push button, the push-button was wired on the "A" CW channel because it should be detected by the CW, but not used by the DL rx because of the ppm output on this channel

I have re-bind the DL receiver after setting up the CW

here is the link of the joystick :

joystick with button
GLADUS63 is offline Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by GLADUS63; Mar 13, 2012 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:38 PM
Flying FPV or Dreaming I Am...
cactus's Avatar
United States, CO, Durango
Joined Sep 2001
6,073 Posts
I just tried that and now my DL Tx won't let me go into bind mode, just flashes red.
cactus is offline Find More Posts by cactus
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:48 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cactus View Post
I just tried that and now my DL Tx won't let me go into bind mode, just flashes red.
I have the flashing red too, but it worked. I haven't pay attention when it was red.

Just to add that I have a "old DL version" not the last one.

After the setup, I have turned off the CW via the FF9 before I put the dial to "0" position.

And last thing, I have kept the 10 k resistor between the ppm out of the FF9 and the PPM in of the CW.
GLADUS63 is offline Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:56 PM
Flying FPV or Dreaming I Am...
cactus's Avatar
United States, CO, Durango
Joined Sep 2001
6,073 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
I have the flashing red too, but it worked. I haven't pay attention when it was red.

Just to add that I have a "old DL version" not the last one.
.
This was a no-go for me. Will not bind with flashing red light. Mine was purchased last Sept before the latest firmware upgrades started.
cactus is offline Find More Posts by cactus
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:05 PM
Registered User
GLADUS63's Avatar
France, Limousin, Limoges
Joined Jul 2009
1,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cactus View Post
This was a no-go for me. Will not bind with flashing red light. Mine was purchased last Sept before the latest firmware upgrades started.
Try also to restart you transmitter

You need 4 channels connected if you use position "c" because I think futaba ppm is 8 channels
GLADUS63 is offline Find More Posts by GLADUS63
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:18 PM
Flying FPV or Dreaming I Am...
cactus's Avatar
United States, CO, Durango
Joined Sep 2001
6,073 Posts
Tried that too.... but I am using a JR9503.
cactus is offline Find More Posts by cactus
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:27 PM
Up up and away!
FpvKiwi's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Oct 2010
696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
I take the time today to hook up my Channel Wizzard.

I have successfully added 3 channels to my Futaba 9C, on which I have a DragonLink UHF system attach ie 12 channels receivers.

I can now drive a pan & tilt cam with a joystick.

Thanks to FPVKiwi for such a nice think
Very nice Gladus!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
I have the flashing red too, but it worked. I haven't pay attention when it was red.
Flashing red does not sound good. In my experience, DL flashes red when stuff doesn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
Just to add that I have a "old DL version" not the last one.
I don't think the DL upgrades makes a difference in our case. They addressed the issue of multiple DLs interfering with each other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLADUS63 View Post
After the setup, I have turned off the CW via the FF9 before I put the dial to "0" position.

And last thing, I have kept the 10 k resistor between the ppm out of the FF9 and the PPM in of the CW.
After setup is done, the dial can be set to zero at any time, no difference.
You can keep the 10 K resistor like you did. Another option is to short out the CW pads labelled "BRDG" (bridge) to achieve the same effect. I thought about this.
FpvKiwi is offline Find More Posts by FpvKiwi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 08:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
190 Posts
Hi, is the channel wizard still on sale?
FabioBrazil is offline Find More Posts by FabioBrazil
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 12:06 PM
Up up and away!
FpvKiwi's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Oct 2010
696 Posts
Hi
Yes it's on sale. Unfortunately I have a small backlog of orders.

A heads up: Hopefully I can release the next version within a few weeks. It won't have any new features. The only advantage is that it'll be compatible with future add-on modules but I can't say what those add-ons are yet.
FpvKiwi is offline Find More Posts by FpvKiwi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 12:57 PM
Registered User
Hugeone's Avatar
Canada,Quebec
Joined Jan 2005
1,968 Posts
Quote:
A heads up: Hopefully I can release the next version within a few weeks. It won't have any new features. The only advantage is that it'll be compatible with future add-on modules but I can't say what those add-ons are yet.
Sound great!

-Hugo
Hugeone is offline Find More Posts by Hugeone
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 06:55 PM
Registered Abuser
lostheli's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FpvKiwi View Post
Hi
Yes it's on sale. Unfortunately I have a small backlog of orders.

A heads up: Hopefully I can release the next version within a few weeks. It won't have any new features. The only advantage is that it'll be compatible with future add-on modules but I can't say what those add-ons are yet.
If I order now, will I get the new version, or should I wait?
lostheli is online now Find More Posts by lostheli
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 07:20 PM
Up up and away!
FpvKiwi's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Oct 2010
696 Posts
I can put you on a waiting list for the new version. And anyone that already ordered and didn't pay yet can switch as well.

The catch is that I can't promise a date for it. If the testing goes well I can offer it within a few weeks at best. But any add-on won't be developed within the next couple of months. There's nothing wrong with the current version and add-ons aren't for everyone so I can't really recommend one way or the other.
FpvKiwi is offline Find More Posts by FpvKiwi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 08:20 PM
Registered Abuser
lostheli's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
573 Posts
OK put me on the list.
I want to do exactly what gladus63 did, soon, but I've got enough equipment, planes, and quads to build to keep me busy until next year. Hurry up though.
lostheli is online now Find More Posts by lostheli
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Channel Wizard: Flexible PPM encoding/decoding/mixing FpvKiwi DIY Electronics 36 Feb 10, 2012 02:24 AM
Discussion Converting a PPM 9 channel to PPM 8 channel....... lazy-b DIY Electronics 5 Mar 10, 2011 11:22 AM
Question PPM decode + PWM encode in one PIC AnthonyRC UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 31 Mar 04, 2008 04:10 PM
Question PPM decode + PWM encode in one PIC AnthonyRC DIY Electronics 14 Jul 03, 2006 01:26 AM