SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 17, 2012, 04:48 PM
United States, MA, Barnstable
Joined Jan 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Newbie needs help with Hitec Focus 2 SS am transmitter

I am brand new to this sport and was given a Whisper 1400 EP Sailplane with a Hitec Focus 2 SS am transmitter. This outfit, while probably 10 years old, was new in the box. After assembling the plane, I discovered that the rudder does not respond to the joystick. The rudder is not jammed, and it appears there is no signal being sent to the receiver ( or the receiver is bad ). The elevators work and respond to the joystick, but lateral movement of the joystick has no effect on the rudder. The rudder servo is Ok as I swapped the servo plugs as a test.

Is there any easy way for me to determine the source of the problem ?
Apparently the company, Ace Hobby, is out of business and their phone is disconnected.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Ernie
Cape Cod, MA
( mods: this is my first post so kindly let me know if I am posting in the wrong section )
capecodder is offline Find More Posts by capecodder
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 17, 2012, 07:54 PM
Livermore, CA
Joined Sep 2004
8,582 Posts
Call Don at Hitec in LA, Calif at; 858 748 8440 Extension 309
He services my Hitec radio's cheap.
Butch777 is offline Find More Posts by Butch777
Old Jan 17, 2012, 08:12 PM
Senile Member
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
6,046 Posts
How many channels does the receiver have? If it is a four channel or greater have you tried plugging the rudder servo into channel 1 and channel 4 to see if it works with either one of those?

Larry
Lnagel is offline Find More Posts by Lnagel
Old Jan 17, 2012, 10:33 PM
Kamikaze Ace
USA, FL, Lakeland
Joined Jan 2010
2,377 Posts