HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 12, 2012, 06:54 AM
Registered User
damoz's Avatar
Australia, VIC, San Remo
Joined May 2010
909 Posts
...
damoz is offline Find More Posts by damoz
Last edited by damoz; Jul 13, 2012 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Double post
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 12, 2012, 06:55 AM
Registered User
damoz's Avatar
Australia, VIC, San Remo
Joined May 2010
909 Posts
Thanks for your insights Yak.
I find it a bit strange that you pop up out of the blue to share this information.
I have been flying RC for 2 years and have flown this board, Arducopter, Ardupilot etc, etc. and have over 100 flights with this mostl between 30-60mins and never had a problem. I lost my camera cable at 22kms (15miles) and this thing saved me. That is what I paid for.
From your post I am lucky I haven't needed to contact Feiyu. So which boards did you end up going with or have you designed your own with such a professional team behind you

We all have our own experiences

Quote:
Originally Posted by yak13 View Post
I usually do not post here, mostly on RCU and mostly on the hobby side.
I work for a major manufacturer of UAS. I have been flying RC for 40 years, designing airframes for 12 years, integrating and participating in the design of AP systems for 10 years. My team includes 36 specialists in electronics, software, mech, aeronautics and testing.

This issue with Feiyu was over 18 months ago. I understand that the products might be improved, but I seriously doubt that their attitude can or will improve. This experiment cost a lot of money. Putting over 10 hours of flight time on these units was a lot of work.

Most of our test flights were in the range of 20-45 minutes each.

I'm sorry I cannot comment more on this, but I can assure you I have nothing to win from badmouthing Feiyu. I am simply stating the bare truth about their absolute lack of honesty. I (and my team) are certain that they knew their product was not reliable, but they misled us to thinking otherwise.

Best Regards.
damoz is offline Find More Posts by damoz
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:37 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry baraniuk View Post
I considered circuit board bashing the FY31 AP and replacing the micro pots
with better quality pots but never got around to performing the micro surgery
soldering required.
I like the size of the pots that are on the FY 20 A stabilizer.
Too bad they didn't stick to that size of integration for the FY 31.
Glad to see that somebody replaced the pots with something else and ending up with good results.
This was related to the Turnigy TX9 transmitter to control the FY-31AP.
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 04:14 AM
voyager4
The Netherlands, NH, Den Helder
Joined Sep 2005
35 Posts
I have used the FY-21 and this works great. I liked the function alt hold, but now I have the FY-31 and this function seems to be changed to nav, for waypoints. I have installed the newest firmware 1.20 This is what FY say about it:

Dear User,
Feiyu product FY-31AP firmware has been upgraded to version 1.20.
The updatings are following:
1.under some special circumstance ,the aircraft may be shut down. This firmware will solve this problem;
2.Increase Fixed–Altitude Flight Mode and Fixed-Heading Flight Mode;
etc...

now as I read this it seems the function alt hold is on the FY-31, am I right? I don't understand how it can be used, will this function work if I don't set any waypoint into the FY-31?
voyager4 is offline Find More Posts by voyager4
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 08:54 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
I haven't found alt hold on the FY-31AP. Nav mode is scary but a lot of fun, crossing all legs arms hoping it comes back... and when you see it come back like clock work over the trees, its a great feeling and then watch the video to see what the plane has been up to for the last 15 minutes.
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 09:04 AM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrnk View Post
I haven't found alt hold on the FY-31AP. Nav mode is scary but a lot of fun, crossing all legs arms hoping it comes back... and when you see it come back like clock work over the trees, its a great feeling and then watch the video to see what the plane has been up to for the last 15 minutes.
are you using the data radio? I wanted to try the waypoint mode but feiyu told me that it wasnt a good idea without the data radio.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 09:08 AM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
No data radio, I wouldn't trust the GCS for 2 min in live mode, I had to reboot my laptop every 5 min nearly just to program the way points as it would grind to halt using the GCS. Just set and forget so to speak.

AXN FPV - long range FY-31AP Auto Pilot (12 min 21 sec)
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrnk View Post
No data radio, I wouldn't trust the GCS for 2 min in live mode, I had to reboot my laptop every 5 min nearly just to program the way points as it would grind to halt using the GCS. Just set and forget so to speak.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRHEncG3_CU
cool... I wanted to try it but they scared me off of using it without the data radio. Maybe I will five it a shot.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 12:02 PM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,350 Posts
IMO its safer without the data radios. If you save your waypoints correctly and not to far that it runs out of battery you should be fine. Just remember the Alt is in meters.

Do a local test first around the flying field / within radio range to get a feel for it, then go beyond radio range. Just remember to leave your throttle on cruising speed as the throttle position will override the AP when it comes back into range. Don't ask how I know.

You can actually turn the radio off once its in Nav mode.
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 12:43 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrnk View Post
IMO its safer without the data radios. If you save your waypoints correctly and not to far that it runs out of battery you should be fine. Just remember the Alt is in meters.

Do a local test first around the flying field / within radio range to get a feel for it, then go beyond radio range. Just remember to leave your throttle on cruising speed as the throttle position will override the AP when it comes back into range. Don't ask how I know.

You can actually turn the radio off once its in Nav mode.
When my rx goes into failsafe it sets the fy31ap to RTL. Does waypoint mode overide this?
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 04:48 PM
Friedrichshafen, Germany
autist's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
39 Posts
Hi,
after discussing the pros and contras of FY31AP here I have a few examples of fun with FY31AP.
1) Jpg of the waypoints in google
2) Movie automatic flying around this 4 waypoints ( I take 2 waypoints each corner-the turns are smoother). A very gusty day.
3) Movie automatic landing RTH ( model comes to launch point, than circles and glides in grass without my help).
Model is EasyStar.

This is pleasure enough, isn't it?
happpy regards
Otto

Waypoints in Google



Movie waypoints

Mein Film Waypoints (1 min 50 sec)


Movie landing RTH

automaticlanding (1 min 49 sec)
autist is offline Find More Posts by autist
Last edited by autist; Aug 10, 2012 at 02:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 02:27 PM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
ok this is a REAL problem here guys!!! sending this to FY right now..

the coating is for thermal shock protection and also shorts from moisutre... they have to change the way it is applied.

Steve
I'm wondering if that coating has penetrated into the Potentiometers themselves which could cause stability problems.
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 03:56 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,125 Posts
mmmm... possibly... you never know....

Steve
saabguyspg is online now Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2012, 08:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
310 Posts
Hello everybody,

From this weekend I took a conclusion:
I have a problem!
Done the reset in the bench several times and also the memory for the stabilization, but the red led keeps flashing, let me explain:
I have done on the bench the procedure to memorize the plane ABM, and notice before and after that, that the red LED was flashing, so I ignore the memory for the ABM and deal only with the red LED.
I lost the count for how many times I did the gyro reset, I followed the manual waited for the rapid flash in the blue and red LED's and always with a total of 20 seconds or more disconnected the power and removed the jumper. When I connected the power again I had the solid blue and the flashing red...
Because I didn't want to loose the best of the day, I did another time, the procedure to memorize the ABM in the bench and the gyro reset, and I did take off in RC mode.
3 mistakes up in the sky I switched the plane to ABM and surprise a nose dive at an amazing speed, between the "expensive words" that I said and switch back to RC, my bixler with 4,40 Lbs was at 5 feet off the ground, but I was able to gain control and up he went in a vertical path!
Initially I was thinking that this was because the way that I take off,
Heavy Bixler takeoff 4,40Lbs or 2Kg! (0 min 28 sec)
that was possible to be affecting the gyros for the rest of the flight, but I always take off in RC mode and the plane flies great with minimal input!
So, last week I had the same configuration banking to the right, now I have in a strait dive... the red keeps flashing, why?

All the best,

Geotete
geotete is offline Find More Posts by geotete
Last edited by geotete; Jul 16, 2012 at 08:15 AM. Reason: Add the take off video
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2012, 12:14 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,125 Posts
Do you have the ability to check your error count in the air per chance? Like with the OSd or on the gcs?

I wonder if it's vibration related

Maybe some photos of the install?
saabguyspg is online now Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product FY thread: FY20A/FY21AP/FY3ZT/FY31AP/FY90Q/FY91Q/FY-Frame/FY-GCS/FY-OSD/FY-Dataradio yiny0730 FPV Talk 316 Sep 19, 2011 02:30 PM
Discussion Question: KK board and FY-20 or FY-90q Hamanu Multirotor Talk 2 Feb 08, 2011 05:10 PM
AXI'fy your CORONA...NIB 2820/10 iflych52 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 26, 2004 09:24 AM
Fy or Die ? a newbie poll Demolisher Foamies (Kits) 29 Mar 08, 2003 03:31 AM