HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 08, 2012, 04:00 PM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,166 Posts
My aileron pot was completely stripped from new but still worked.
I flew it once and then returned it last week for a refund replacement.
Contact them and they will send you a RMA number.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalMatCat View Post
Yeah they will not turn, aileron turned fine but elevator and rudder will not, now it appears both pots are stripped too, I found pointing the AP backwards got the elevator to respond properly but rudder is not, I don't know what to do...
Psionic001 is online now Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Psionic001; Apr 09, 2012 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 08, 2012, 05:07 PM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psionic001 View Post
My aileron pot was completely stripped from new but still worked.
I flew it once and then returned it last week for a refund.
Contact them and they will send you a RMA number.
So are you going to buy another Fy- 31.
Thanks for letting us know about the stripped pots.
I'm going to check out my pots and maybe check up on sourcing some higher quality ones .
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 05:27 PM
Registered User
damoz's Avatar
Australia, VIC, San Remo
Joined May 2010
886 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry baraniuk View Post
For those of you wondering about the last posts acronyms CL and SP.
CL means Clover leaf antenna and SP means Skew Planar wheel antenna.
I'm not that much into 5.8 Ghz stuff so , when you say that your using a
5.8 Ghz , what are you using ? A 5.8 Ghz what ?
Is mac another acronym and I don't understand why you are using an easycap.
Not only am I a terminology nazi but I am also an acronym nazi.
My university communications teacher always stressed that an acronym should always be defined before using it in any articles .
For example I had somebody hop on board my Rogue drone thread starting to
talk about AP and I thought he meant ArduPilot but he meant Aerial Photography.
On this thread the acronym Rx causes confusion because in some cases it means "radio receiver" and in other cases it means "receive data" or "data in".
Anyways , going back to CL and SP antennas , it sounds like your antennas are
directional if you lost signal on the return to home of your plane.
Maybe because the wings or fuselage are blocking the signal.
Did you buy these antennas or are they scratch built.
Again ,I'm not much into 5.8 Ghz stuff but my first impression is that if anybody is scratch building these antennas they should be careful of the type of copper wire being used. Even if you are using the same gauge of wire as others
the "velocity factor" might be a little bit different , and at 5.8 Ghz
that makes a big difference.
Good Point Larry.

The initial purpose of my post was to state I found the Fy31ap and Hornet OSD was plug and play and for me I should have got his prior to the Ardupilot Mega (APM). The APM is an awesome it of kit, but much more DIY and complex for a beginner. The modular nature of this setup has reduced the number of wires in the plane leading to a cleaner installation IMHO. I have found that when researching what to buy people who have issues with a product are much, much more likely to post than satisfied people. This has put me off a few products and then you meet someone who has it and they love it.

I have been using 5.8ghz video transmission which gives superior video quality at the expense of distance without complex directional antennas. I can get double the range with the Cloverleaf and Skew Planer Wheel antenna which I purchased and have gone about 5km (3miles) with a 500mw video transmitter. I am moving to 1.2ghz video to get a bit more range as I don't want to use an antenna tracker.
As a backup I record my flights on a Macintosh (mac) laptop just so I have the GPS coordinates in case I crash and this can help locate the plane.

I hope that clarifies my last post a bit.
damoz is offline Find More Posts by damoz
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Thanks for the clarification.
By the way , I am not really a big fan of DIY Ardupilot mainly because they tend to shrug off those who don't want to keep up to date with there newer products and bla bla bla.
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 08:37 PM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,166 Posts
Oops. Where I said refund I meant replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by larry baraniuk View Post
So are you going to buy another Fy- 31.
Thanks for letting us know about the stripped pots.
I'm going to check out my pots and maybe check up on sourcing some higher quality ones .
Psionic001 is online now Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 11:23 PM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Good to see that you didn't giving up on the FY-31. Not that I'm a big fan of this product.
It really bugs me that you got a unit that probably has a QC sticker on it ( doesn't it) and that you and others ended up with something that is defective.
A big part of my hobby seems to involve putting quality back into low quality products from the other side of the Pacific.
That's alright with me because I'm getting really good at reverse engineering electronic stuff.
I just finished doing a tour through Vietnam , Cambodia and Thailand and got use to seeing cheap and poor quality imitations of all kinds of products (brand product piracy).
Maybe some day it will turn around and North Americans will start reverse engineering cheap specialty products from South East Asia and be able to make a higher quality and more reliable product (at a higher cost of course) .
I certainly am willing to pay more for a higher quality and more reliable product.
I would really love to design and build my own Autopilot system and manufacture it right here in Canada.
100% made in Canada. Ya!
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:50 AM
BNUC-s
biggles uk's Avatar
Joined Feb 2012
300 Posts
I have now got my plane flying with a fully updated fy and heres a few tips for those struggling to update thiers.
If you are struggling with rar files I found this software did the trick for me on win 7.
http://www.jzip.com/index.php?bt=c&r...FQkRfAodpkleXQ

Then use aero's installation instructions on this page http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=433
THEN POWER THE PLANE UP FOR 30 SECS
my fy kept telling me I was on version 1.11 after updating. So after updating I unplugged the usb from the fy and powered it up for 30secs , then followed aero's instructions to check what version I was on and bingo! version 1.20.
It seems the update needs to run before its fully integrated into the fy.

Now the only problem I have is the throttle works fine until I turn it off, it won't work again until I unplug the battery and plug it in again. I have solved this issue for now by bypassing the fy and plugging the throttle directly in to the rx. I just wondered if anyone else has had this problem
biggles uk is offline Find More Posts by biggles uk
Last edited by biggles uk; Apr 09, 2012 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:13 AM
Registered User
damoz's Avatar
Australia, VIC, San Remo
Joined May 2010
886 Posts
A little Video showing fy31ap and Hornet OSD.

Recorded with Easycap which I use just in case I need to find the GPS coordinates if it goes down. It started raining and themn hailing as I was returning so I thought it might give some people the idea of his FC and the OSD.
This camera is very bad but I trashed my last one.
I got pretty wet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UbUq...1&feature=plcp
damoz is offline Find More Posts by damoz
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:19 AM
Friedrichshafen, Germany
autist's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
37 Posts
Hi,

I have tried the versions in this thread concerning upgrade FY31AP.
Specially # 501, #517, #518, #520.
I tried powering the AP with USB or BEC.
Its all the same: the system can not finish.

The steps:

1. connect-success is functioning
2. select firmware is functioning
3. start_upgrade is not functioning.

Here stops the procedure, no blocks uploading are indicated, sorry.

For more information here I have added three sreenshots.

I have two 31AP, they are working well in EasyStar ( more than 80 flights since fevr.2012. Each time the EasyStar came back with RTL and sometimes landed alone)
But unfortunately I can not upgrade.

Sincerly
Otto





autist is offline Find More Posts by autist
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:14 AM
BNUC-s
biggles uk's Avatar
Joined Feb 2012
300 Posts
have you tried deleting the upgrade software and downloading again. I also had to create an administrator account to download the upgrade software to
biggles uk is offline Find More Posts by biggles uk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:28 AM
Friedrichshafen, Germany
autist's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
37 Posts
OK, thats a very good idea, I will try.
autist is offline Find More Posts by autist
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 07:20 AM
Registered User
damoz's Avatar
Australia, VIC, San Remo
Joined May 2010
886 Posts
On the subject of updating firmware. Autist you are step ahead of me.
I have tried everything to get the USB TTL cale to work but it continues to say Devic Won't Start (error 10)???
I have looked everywhere, loaded different drivers, tried XP, Win 7.
Any tips on this. I have followed the instuctions to the letter?
Does anyone know if I could use an FTDI rewired?
I must have issued something or received a dud cable?
damoz is offline Find More Posts by damoz
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 07:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
685 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles uk View Post
Then use Efi's installation instructions on this page http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...575919&page=34
THEN POWER THE PLANE UP FOR 30 SECS
my fy kept telling me I was on version 1.11 after updating. So after updating I unplugged the usb from the fy and powered it up for 30secs , then followed efi's instructions to check what version I was on and bingo! version 1.20.
It seems the update needs to run before its fully integrated into the fy.
And I thought these were my instructions...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=433
aeromodellers is offline Find More Posts by aeromodellers
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by damoz View Post
On the subject of updating firmware. Autist you are step ahead of me.
I have tried everything to get the USB TTL cale to work but it continues to say Devic Won't Start (error 10)???
I have looked everywhere, loaded different drivers, tried XP, Win 7.
Any tips on this. I have followed the instuctions to the letter?
Does anyone know if I could use an FTDI rewired?

I must have issued something or received a dud cable?
Try criss crossing the data in / data out of your FTDI cable.
I had to do that with my FTDI setup . It's strange but the Data Out of my USB to TTL converter goes to the TX data pin of the FY-31 and Data in goes to the Rx pin.
As you probably already know to make sure to disconnect the V+ wire of the TTL out of you FTDI going to the FY-31. Use your receivers power to supply the power to your FY-31.
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 10:06 AM
Registered User
Banff Alberta Canada
Joined Nov 2004
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by damoz View Post
A little Video showing fy31ap and Hornet OSD.

Recorded with Easycap which I use just in case I need to find the GPS coordinates if it goes down. It started raining and themn hailing as I was returning so I thought it might give some people the idea of his FC and the OSD.
This camera is very bad but I trashed my last one.
I got pretty wet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UbUq...1&feature=plcp
I couldn't play this video here in Canada even when I tried it on Youtube because the video has EMI stuff or something like that. I could play the other 20 videos though. So I don't know what's up with that
larry baraniuk is offline Find More Posts by larry baraniuk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product FY thread: FY20A/FY21AP/FY3ZT/FY31AP/FY90Q/FY91Q/FY-Frame/FY-GCS/FY-OSD/FY-Dataradio yiny0730 FPV Talk 316 Sep 19, 2011 01:30 PM
Discussion Question: KK board and FY-20 or FY-90q Hamanu Multirotor Talk 2 Feb 08, 2011 04:10 PM
AXI'fy your CORONA...NIB 2820/10 iflych52 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 26, 2004 08:24 AM
Fy or Die ? a newbie poll Demolisher Foamies (Kits) 29 Mar 08, 2003 02:31 AM