HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 19, 2012, 05:52 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
The first lock will take a long time to get... after that it will be faster...

your plane will show up in a strange place if it gets a poor lock but will get closer as you get more sats

i wait for at least 5-6 sats but usually get 7-9 sats when flying.

you can clear the track with the push of a button too.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2012, 05:52 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
one thing I can't seem to find is the flight loggin information... I see the folder it creates but there is nothing in it.

I will be notifying them of this unless someone else can see something I am missing???

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
tupelo's Avatar
Helsinki, Finland
Joined Feb 2008
293 Posts
Hi Steve

Thanks for the GCS instructional video. It was a humongous help!
Two things about the Xbees you linked, here:

https://store.diydrones.com/Xbee_Tel...metry-xbee.htm

Does the kit include absolutely everything you need to connect it to a laptop and the plane itself?

And do they come also in 2.4GHz? I think 900MHz is illegal in Finland. The range will be worse off course. And if they come in 2.4GHz it probably is impossible to use them with a 2.4GHz video transmitter due to interference?

Tuukka
tupelo is offline Find More Posts by tupelo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:01 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
Hi there, I am glad it helped you.

the kit in the link gets you everything you need! it's an awesome kit for the price. however they are out of stock for a while now... keep watching they will come back

yes you can buy all these components in 2.4 ghz but then you will have to pair the modems yourself and this can be confusing if you are not familiar with them

if you want 2.4 maybe they guys at diy drones will pair some for you.

yes you are correct I would not fly 2.4 RC transmitter with a 2.4 modem... however that being said your best chance at doing this is the futaba FASST system.

there is also the FY modems that come in 2.4, 900 and 433 mhz.

they are reported to be excellent modems.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by tupelo View Post
Hi Steve

Thanks for the GCS instructional video. It was a humongous help!
Two things about the Xbees you linked, here:

https://store.diydrones.com/Xbee_Tel...metry-xbee.htm

Does the kit include absolutely everything you need to connect it to a laptop and the plane itself?

And do they come also in 2.4GHz? I think 900MHz is illegal in Finland. The range will be worse off course. And if they come in 2.4GHz it probably is impossible to use them with a 2.4GHz video transmitter due to interference?

Tuukka
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 03:30 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
678 Posts
Hi Folks,

Check out my Ground Station.









aeromodellers is offline Find More Posts by aeromodellers
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 03:46 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2011
1,289 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunol View Post
In my case I had no issues using my FY31AP. I simply wanted the latest firmware version, which is supposedly better.

Nuno
cool, thanks mate
cheers
p
PMRfly is offline Find More Posts by PMRfly
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 20, 2012, 03:48 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2011
1,289 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Steve View Post
Dude, do you understand the concept of reading the thread to find out?
dude, i did and didn't see it... so shoot me sa...
PMRfly is offline Find More Posts by PMRfly
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 20, 2012, 03:54 AM
Psionic001's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Apr 2006
2,162 Posts
Steve, thanks for the tutorial video on the ground station and waypoints.
matt
Psionic001 is offline Find More Posts by Psionic001
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 07:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
678 Posts
Has anyone tried any other gcs with 31AP?
aeromodellers is offline Find More Posts by aeromodellers
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 11:00 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
There was an effort to get the happy Kilmore gcs working but it never ended up working 100%

Fy is sending me a offline simple gcs for testing before release stay tuned
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeromodellers View Post
Hi Folks,

Check out my Ground Station.
Nice setup. However, I always heard that patch antennas worked better on the ground than up high.
daronj is offline Find More Posts by daronj
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:38 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
Great job aero!
Any ant usually works better with elevation compared to on the ground especially if he is flying mostly in one direction and needs to aim the ant

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 01:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
678 Posts
Thanks Steve. The 31AP is a good system and the GCS is working fine. I am lucky to have internet connection at my field. I have a usb data card dongle for the internet. I have tried using the gcs in offline mode... The maps do not cache for me.

I did exactly what you said Steve... But cache does not work for me... Few questions... If anyone can help...

1. I checked with Feiyutech for gcs for their panda system, i was informed that it is the same gcs as 31AP. However the brochure for panda says that you can integrate digital maps... Is that possible? How?

2. What offline gcs are feiyutech guys sending you? Can u share.. Even i wud like to try n test.

3. Can you deactivate the RTH function in the gcs under the parameters menu?. Mine doesnt allow. This setting will allow you to fly the mission and continue even if the data connection and rc connection is lost. The plane will still fly the mission fully autonomously.
Whereas the default setting is to switch into RTL if the data connection is lost for more than 20 seconds.


Thanks.
aeromodellers is offline Find More Posts by aeromodellers
Last edited by aeromodellers; Mar 21, 2012 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 02:13 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,970 Posts
Hi Aero, all good questions, sorry I don't have answers.

you seem to know what you are doing so I will ask if you can test the offline simple GCS as well. They are calling it the 2D gcs.

I don't have it yet but if I send it to you then you must understand if anything goes wrong... we can't blame them... that's the bad part about testing stuff. I have destroyed a fair bit of kit testing things for people. If you are willing to take that risk PM me and we can communicate via Skype and email.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 07:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
678 Posts
Yes Steve.

I do understand your disclaimer...

I would like to try out the new GCS. I can surely provide some feedback in terms of features / bugs etc.

Here is my email ID. Please be kind enough to mail me.

aeromodeller@live.com
aeromodellers is offline Find More Posts by aeromodellers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product FY thread: FY20A/FY21AP/FY3ZT/FY31AP/FY90Q/FY91Q/FY-Frame/FY-GCS/FY-OSD/FY-Dataradio yiny0730 FPV Talk 316 Sep 19, 2011 01:30 PM
Discussion Question: KK board and FY-20 or FY-90q Hamanu Multirotor Talk 2 Feb 08, 2011 04:10 PM
AXI'fy your CORONA...NIB 2820/10 iflych52 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 26, 2004 08:24 AM
Fy or Die ? a newbie poll Demolisher Foamies (Kits) 29 Mar 08, 2003 02:31 AM