Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 15, 2012, 05:37 PM
Joined May 2011
257 Posts
Build Log
TF 1/8th Scale P-47 Build; Going For Detail

I've learned so much from the build logs on this forum and others, I decided to start my own. Hopefully the thread will give me motivation to keep this project moving along! This is my winter project, and I'm already well in to it. I spent a portion of the Xmas break mentally planning what I wanted to do, and have been assembling the materials. Actually started to cut and glue this weekend. The kit is the TF Gold edition, and will be powered by a Saito 100 4 stroke. I'm relatively new to RC, but am a fairly handy builder w/ a background in scale plastic models. This is my first RC warbird. My goal is a scale flying model w/ as much accurate detail as I can get. Truth be told...I think I'm the builder in the family, and my son is the flier!

Anyway, I've decided to model the P-47D "bubbletop" of 1LT Howard Barton. Barton flew in Italy w/ the 346th FS, and had one victory over a Reggia Aeronautica BF-109, was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross and numerous Air Medals. After the war he went home to Wisconsin and became a dentist. He also attended my Alma Mater, Marquette University.

"Sam" Barton also happens to be the Father of my wife's Uncle. He just celebrated his 90th Birthday over the holidays, and I was lucky enough to discuss his WWII career w/ him. The planes in this squadron had very standardized art work applied that is easier to recreate w/ paint and vinyl stencils, thus keeping the cost down. "Puddin-Head" will require a natural metal finish though, which will take some thought on my part.

Tail taking shape....really impressed w/ this kit. Very well thought out and cut. Very nice quality wood as well.

The tail is often glossed over in these threads, but along w/ the wing/landing gear, it is the most complex area from a scale perspective. Many things not "right" w/ it that will need correcting.