HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 15, 2012, 01:07 AM
"RC ADDICT" in Toronto!
Toronto Canada
Joined Aug 2004
1,741 Posts
Discussion
Air compressor advice

Looking to get into airbrushing etc ... so the compressor that I'm looking to get is basically just for that. I've heard people say that I should get the biggest I can afford etc since I may find other uses for it down the road etc ...however just looking to use it for painting.

Here's the thing though ... I'd like to get enough compressor to cover airbrushing AND HVLP painting. I've heard that one needs at least a 1HP compressor to power a HVLP gun but I have no clue.

My question is ... would this compressor be adequate for both?

Colin
wollins is offline Find More Posts by wollins
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2012, 06:35 PM
Joined Feb 2010
101 Posts
I am no expert, but recently gone through the same process.

My thoughts are that your linked compressor would be OK for airbrushing, but no good at all for anything bigger. Even for airbrushing a 1.5 gallon (6 litre) tank would mean that that compressor would run fairly often and they are NOISY, which may be irritating.

I started with a Iwata airbrush and a cheap $80 3cfm, 2HP, 24 litre (6 gallon) tank compressor (obviously any non-oil-free compressor needs a filter/oil & water trap). It worked fine for the airbrush, but as soon as I tried to use a small spray gun, I had problems. Even with the gun gagged back to a small pattern, bare minimum air flow and low pressure, the compressor ran continuously, and very soon started leaking oil from the crankcase cover. Even the small 1.5mm guns generally require around 7-12cfm to perform.