HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2012, 12:49 AM
I need a bigger garage...
USA, CA, San Diego
Joined Mar 2005
1,292 Posts
Discussion
Sapac/Global Fly foam L-39

Looks like I'm a bit late to the game as I've just picked up my first Sapac planea, a Sapac/Global Fly L-39 from Cermark at the AMA show. It looks nice, with the 70mm fan, motor, ESC, servos and includes retracts and flaps. I've read good things about Sapac, so I hope this model lives up to the name. I've been flying for several years, but this is only my second EDF (first was a GWS A-4 which I went overboard with and came out way too heavy, but was still fun), so I was hoping to ask a few EDF noob questions. I posted these in the foamy EDF forum, but haven't received any response at all. I've found a few videos online about the L-39, but no threads anywhere. This one has a 35" wingspan and 44.8" length (http://www.cermark.com/products/Sapa...rsion-EDF.html) I have come across a thread for a different Sapac foam L-39, but it looks like it was slightly smaller and some of the details are different.

Has anyone else had this plane? Anyone know of any threads on this? Any thoughts or tips?

A couple of questions I have just from looking through the kit are about the fan. Are the fans in these kits balanced, or should I try to get it out of the fuselage to balance it? I can't figure out how to get the fan out without cutting the foam. It's got a tailcone on it, which my A-4 didn't have. They must have put the fan in place and then stuck the tailcone on through the exhaust. Does the tailcone usually just pull off? If so, I'll have to figure out how to get in there to get a grip if I want to take the fan out.

Also, on my A-4 the fan had tabs on the side for mounting to the fuselage. This fan doesn't have tabs. Will I need to glue it into the fuselage or just let it float free and rely on the part that goes over it to hold it in place?

Thanks,

Andy