SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:39 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,860 Posts
I believe I have corona 939s in the ailerons, and a HK servo of some sort for the rudder/elevator. I need to check later when I get back home. I think I've posted them up before but for the life of me I can't find them on this thread. They're all digital MG servos. I also have a separate SBEC from HK.

I only got ~40ish flights on it before the motor crapped out so I don't know how they will hold up over time. That said I suspect I will total my plane before the servos reach their end of life.
rayonnair is online now Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:47 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,860 Posts
Found it:

D26012MG servos. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10969.

+ point: servo horns that come with the SBach fit directly on these. Size of the servo is also identical.
rayonnair is online now Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
ryanbe15's Avatar
United States, MD, Bethesda
Joined Sep 2012
267 Posts
the HK Servo's in the rudder/elevator work just fine?
ryanbe15 is offline Find More Posts by ryanbe15
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:07 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,860 Posts
They work fine for me. Ymmv ofc!
rayonnair is online now Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:15 PM
Registered User
United States, IA, Fort Madison
Joined Jan 2009
65 Posts
how would you change the aileron servo with that long wire inside the wings?
pasantia is offline Find More Posts by pasantia
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:03 PM
DONT PANIC! :)
out of stock's Avatar
United States, FL, Lehigh Acres
Joined Jan 2012
1,902 Posts
i think i'll stick to the stock motor. 14x7
upgrade esc.
2650 4c 40c
and i'm thinking twice about them servos. your right. i'm not doubting the towerpro's or Hd's. maybe i'll get the hd's for rudder?

ohh important, i'm not adding a bec. i'm supplying through a LiFe pack (1000mah) yeaa a bec is lighter but this will be fine for my type of flying. no super 3d. i actually would be interested in a bit more speed and mild aerobatics. this foamie has great potential i believe.
out of stock is offline Find More Posts by out of stock
Last edited by out of stock; Nov 18, 2012 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:23 PM
Registered User
United States, IA, Fort Madison
Joined Jan 2009
65 Posts
Spinner for 14 -7?

What spinner to use if you change a 14-7 prop? Can you use the stock spinner?
pasantia is offline Find More Posts by pasantia
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:52 PM
DONT PANIC! :)
out of stock's Avatar
United States, FL, Lehigh Acres
Joined Jan 2012
1,902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasantia View Post
What spinner to use if you change a 14-7 prop? Can you use the stock spinner?
very good question. i'm picky about spinners. the could make or break the looks of sbach. The sbach (in my opinion) need that somewhat lengthy spinner.

i think just trimming the stock spinner would work.
out of stock is offline Find More Posts by out of stock
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:14 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,860 Posts
Spinner: trim it with a dremel and file. The bigger problem is if your motor bites it because the spinner is a specific fit for the motor.

Aileron servos: cut the wires on the old servos. Cut wires on new servos. Splice them together and solder. Electrical tape to cover. Entire process happens with the long aileron servo wire still in.
rayonnair is online now Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:29 PM
An Aussie in Chicago
Joined Apr 2012
1,305 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayonnair View Post
Spinner: trim it with a dremel and file. The bigger problem is if your motor bites it because the spinner is a specific fit for the motor.

Aileron servos: cut the wires on the old servos. Cut wires on new servos. Splice them together and solder. Electrical tape to cover. Entire process happens with the long aileron servo wire still in.
That's what I did, but I used heat shrink instead of tape.
hendrnk is online now Find More Posts by hendrnk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:31 PM
DONT PANIC! :)
out of stock's Avatar
United States, FL, Lehigh Acres
Joined Jan 2012
1,902 Posts
haha my buddy is doing that cutting/splicing/soldering job on a pusher glider hes got. theres no issue doing that. its fine.

wait a sec, is this what everyone is doing when upgrading the aileron servos? is it like a "no other option" type of deal?
out of stock is offline Find More Posts by out of stock
Last edited by out of stock; Nov 18, 2012 at 11:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 12:24 AM
I'm not lost, they are
pullup!'s Avatar
Co.
Joined Jan 2005
1,401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by out of stock View Post
haha my buddy is doing that cutting/splicing/soldering job on a pusher glider hes got. theres no issue doing that. its fine.

wait a sec, is this what everyone is doing when upgrading the aileron servos? is it like a "no other option" type of deal?
You can use servo extensions if you don't want to solder, that is the route I'm going.
pullup! is online now Find More Posts by pullup!
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 03:46 AM
Scott
Australia, SA, Two Wells
Joined Feb 2012
211 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pullup! View Post
You can use servo extensions if you don't want to solder, that is the route I'm going.
Yeah servo extension is the easiest way to go. Just tape the extension to the end plug of the stock servo to pull it though the wing otherwise you'll have a very hard task getting it through without damaging the wing.
wigsw001 is offline Find More Posts by wigsw001
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 08:40 AM
DONT PANIC! :)
out of stock's Avatar
United States, FL, Lehigh Acres
Joined Jan 2012
1,902 Posts
Good deal. Extensions it is.
out of stock is offline Find More Posts by out of stock
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
United States, IA, Fort Madison
Joined Jan 2009
65 Posts
how long extension cord? thanks
pasantia is offline Find More Posts by pasantia
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion HobbyKing Sbach 342 1000mm ARF helivsFMX 3D Flying 3 May 11, 2014 11:33 AM
New Product Hobbyking Sbach 342 Trapviper 3D Flying 343 Sep 30, 2013 12:42 PM
New Product NEW Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) HK Jaybee 3D Flying 198 Mar 17, 2013 01:28 PM
Wanted Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) shepster Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Dec 19, 2011 06:59 PM
New Product NEW!!!! Hobbyking 1000mm SBach 342 BALSA ARF Jaybee 3D Flying 7 Jun 04, 2011 01:02 AM