HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 25, 2012, 03:18 PM
Registered User
Broken Arrow, Okla
Joined Oct 2010
87 Posts
You will find that the thin Tailwheel pushrods wil disconnect with the flex of the assembly.

I am using push/pull cables now, but still oversteers.

Have the DuBro replacement, just need to install it.
J3 guy is offline Find More Posts by J3 guy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 25, 2012, 08:16 PM
Unregistered User
kmdunnster's Avatar
Long Beach, CA
Joined Mar 2010
1,042 Posts
Tailwheel

Like I posted before, the field where I fly is grass, with lots of bumps and clumps of crabgrass, gopher holes, etc... The stock tailwheel assembly came off around the 10th flight. I think on takeoff(not sure), so I used the DuBro #957 Tailwheel Assembly. It says it's meant for ".90-1.20 sized aircraft." Works like a charm and plows around with no problems like a 4x4.
Kevin
kmdunnster is offline Find More Posts by kmdunnster
Last edited by kmdunnster; Aug 25, 2012 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 08:26 AM
crack Spain
joselu's Avatar
Spain, Madrid, M
Joined Jun 2012
178 Posts
how I can know the Cg?
joselu is offline Find More Posts by joselu
Last edited by joselu; Aug 26, 2012 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 09:30 AM
Unregistered User
kmdunnster's Avatar
Long Beach, CA
Joined Mar 2010
1,042 Posts
The balance point for CG is 120mm from the leading edge of the wing near the root.
Kevin
kmdunnster is offline Find More Posts by kmdunnster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 06:54 AM
crack Spain
joselu's Avatar
Spain, Madrid, M
Joined Jun 2012
178 Posts
with the serie motor and with prop 14*7, you can tell me this plane is posibly slow fly?or is dangerous¡¡
joselu is offline Find More Posts by joselu
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 02:51 PM
Registered User
alex_007's Avatar
France, Pays de la Loire, Nantes
Joined Sep 2010
174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joselu View Post
with the serie motor and with prop 14*7, you can tell me this plane is posibly slow fly?or is dangerous¡¡
I'd say yes but I have still not flown with it, so this is to be confirmed. This plane can do anything!

.
alex_007 is online now Find More Posts by alex_007
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 06:49 PM
Registered User
Broken Arrow, Okla
Joined Oct 2010
87 Posts
Installed the DuBro Tailwheel assembly as shown above, found that the larger servoe mounting screws work for mounting it.
Drilled a hole in the mount to match the blind points on the fuse.
Turning radius is a little wide using the outer holes on the DuBro, will adjust.

Much improvement from the stock unit.
J3 guy is offline Find More Posts by J3 guy
Last edited by J3 guy; Aug 30, 2012 at 08:51 PM. Reason: Phraseology
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 11:46 PM
Dixie Normious
Eastcoast78's Avatar
Can A da....Ehh!!
Joined May 2010
5,387 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joselu View Post
with the serie motor and with prop 14*7, you can tell me this plane is posibly slow fly?or is dangerous¡¡
wellfly fine with a 14x7. Heres mine with a nice turnigy wooden 14x8
best fin prop!!
Hobby King 55'' EPO Sbach (5 min 37 sec)


Sbach Maiden Hobbyking 1400mm (4 min 58 sec)
Eastcoast78 is offline Find More Posts by Eastcoast78
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 01, 2012, 03:08 AM
crack Spain
joselu's Avatar
Spain, Madrid, M
Joined Jun 2012
178 Posts
In some videos I see the landing and approach is very slowly

1º.-aileron as flaps?¿edit:sorry I saw in you first video 3,29",but flaperon to airbrake is up no down, no?
In second video min 4,00, the plane is slow, but is with flaperons ,up or down?and you have a mix with elevator?
In the simulator , real flight (I cant do it)
nice video east, the firt is very good, is great for know that I will buy in my sbach

2º.-the last question, the servos always configured 100%, but in dual rate for 3d configured 120%?

3ºwhich is the difference with prop wood?more power or speed?¡


A lot of question, sorry, jeje
joselu is offline Find More Posts by joselu
Last edited by joselu; Sep 01, 2012 at 08:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2012, 08:24 AM
crack Spain
joselu's Avatar
Spain, Madrid, M
Joined Jun 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmdunnster View Post
The balance point for CG is 120mm from the leading edge of the wing near the root.
Kevin
I think the picture is wrong, why?
120mm=12cm
12cm is more far that I can to see the picture
I think the correct is 1,2cm, no?
joselu is offline Find More Posts by joselu
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2012, 11:20 PM
Registered User
Broken Arrow, Okla
Joined Oct 2010
87 Posts
The picture is showing 120mm, which is correct and it works, but the drawing is not to scale.
J3 guy is offline Find More Posts by J3 guy
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,812 Posts
Hi guys!

Just got this kit and have a couple of questions.

1. I did something stupid and forgot about the plywood pieces for the rudder assembly. Then... Because I felt the rudder was weak, I epoxied the entire assembly on. How dumb of me. So, should I take the effort to undo this error and put the ply pieces on?

2. Is anyone else having trouble getting the elevator to move freely due to binding within the push rods? How did you guys fix it?

3. Anyone modded their kit to have the rudder and elevator servos at the back and not within the fuse?

4. With the turnigy nano tech 3300mah 4s batteries, it is fairly nose heavy at the 120mm cg mark. I could move almost 1-2 cm forward. Anyone tried flying like this?
rayonnair is offline Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2012, 10:25 PM
Registered User
iceaxe's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
844 Posts
On the rudder I would fix it if you are going to do aerobatics with her and as for servos I have my elev and Rudd servos in the standard spot but upgraded to full size savox mg for more precise control and never had any binding so can't help you there
As for lipo pos I have tried many different sizes and find I like the weight as far back as possible
iceaxe is offline Find More Posts by iceaxe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 02:21 AM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
1,812 Posts
Thanks iceaxe. I will probably upgrade those servos and redo the rudder then. And fiddle around with battery position.
rayonnair is offline Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 05:02 AM
Registered User
iceaxe's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
844 Posts
Another friend who has the sbach used the stock elev and rudder servos as his aileron servos and he seems to have had a good run doing that
I stuck with savox on the aileron
As for cog mine is farther back than 120 closer to 130 I think can't remember as she has had 164 flights but almost harriers in for a sweet 3 point landing
Does anyone use flaperons for harriers I'm considering it after reading a model airplane news article about what to do if your model has wing rock just not sure how to set it up in my dx8 want to try it on my fliteworx edge 540 also as it suffers from wing rock
iceaxe is offline Find More Posts by iceaxe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion HobbyKing Sbach 342 1000mm ARF helivsFMX 3D Flying 3 May 11, 2014 11:33 AM
New Product Hobbyking Sbach 342 Trapviper 3D Flying 343 Sep 30, 2013 12:42 PM
New Product NEW Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) HK Jaybee 3D Flying 198 Mar 17, 2013 01:28 PM
Wanted Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) shepster Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Dec 19, 2011 06:59 PM
New Product NEW!!!! Hobbyking 1000mm SBach 342 BALSA ARF Jaybee 3D Flying 7 Jun 04, 2011 01:02 AM