HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 13, 2012, 03:55 AM
Joined Dec 2010
17 Posts
Help!
Few newbie's question on flying wings?

first of all, sorry for bad english, only learned it for 3 years..

I've been flying a slow home-made formie for few months, and decided to have something more exciting. so i bought this wing from somewhere in china, for like 20 bucks. and the quality was relatively pretty..um.. bad, but can't complain for such price instruction was so brief that it took only one A7 page-and half was in Chinese. so i really couldn't get much help out of it.

--------------
first of all, i got a problem with the motor. on the instruction it simply says "Glue plywood motor mount and fix motor"
but how?(picture)
Name: DSCN1834.jpg
Views: 38
Size: 144.5 KB
Description:
i'm not an expert on glues and chemicals, so everything i have is some super glue that you can get 5 tubes of them for 2 dollars, a box of two-pack eproxy and some probably acetate based yellowish "foam glue" from HK.
and i really doubt that just a layer of glue will keep the metal motor and plywood base sticking together after minutes of vibration from flying and possibly occasional crashing.. please point it out if i am wrong

Name: DSCN1835.jpg
Views: 27
Size: 97.9 KB
Description:
I was also thinking about drilling some screws in to fix it 'nicely'. but reality proved me wrong: the size just doesn't look right to me..

--------------
second, i wonder if wings also need to set up the "thrust line" which is pretty important for models with a fuselage? and no my user manual did not mention a word about that

--------------
and last question, there is a humongous logo on the wing. since i dont want to fly a advertising banner in the field, i'm in urge of getting rid of it. but cuz it is durable EPP, therefore i dont think there is a way to polish it like what i would do on glassfiber surface
Name: DSCN1836.jpg
Views: 25
Size: 197.3 KB
Description: