HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:21 PM
Joined Jan 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Super Cub LP or Fun Cub

I am a complete newcomer I have been looking at getting a 2nd plane ( I have been practicing and using a Cox SkyCruiser for several months) and I'm ready to step up to something bigger. I really like the Super Cub LP and I want to be able to fly in the winter (ski or float option) and now I have been looking at the Fun Cub which looks great too. I primarily do NOT have any runway to use around where I live so I love the big tundra wheels on the Fun Cub. Both seem docile enough for a beginner like myself but with room to grow on each. The Super Cub can be modified for ailerons and the Fun Cub already has them. Any thoughts which is better for a newbie like myself?

Thanks.
qakeith is offline Find More Posts by qakeith
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2012, 03:13 PM
United States, NC, Goldsboro
Joined Mar 2011
393 Posts
No experience with this, but maybe Super Cub with modded ailerons?
MyPonyRocks is offline Find More Posts by MyPonyRocks
Old Jan 12, 2012, 03:19 PM
fmw
Joined Jul 2009
1,955 Posts
I do own a Fun Cub. I've never even seen the HZ super cub so I can't speak from experience there. My thoughts are these. The Fun Cub is not a great flyer. It is hard to balance and seems to want to fight the person controlling it. It is competent at best and, yes, it has big wheels. You can put big wheels on anything.

The HZ super cub is RTF and, like most RTF's is loaded with cheap equipment. I have no idea how it flies but a lot people on this forum seem happy with them. I don't buy RTF's as a matter of choice and the Super Cub was never an option for me when I started.