HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 08, 2012, 11:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
Discussion
bought a kk black board and need some help

so i bought a kk black multicopter control board and it came with the programming cord and two cables that plug into my rx, but the one rx cable has one plug at the one end and three plugs at the other end so where does this cable plug into? this will be my first multicopter build so any help you guys can give my would be great. also do i have to program the board before i can fly my multicopter or is it already programmed? thanks in advance for the help.
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 08, 2012, 11:53 PM
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Where/Who did you buy it from?

The one plug goes on the signal pins only. The other one has all three to uses the power/ground/signal. Once the KK board has those three things (say on throttle), it ONLY need the "signal" on the other channels to work. (pitch/roll/yaw)

Does that make sense? If not, just let me know. Scott
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Last edited by ScooterInVegas; Jan 08, 2012 at 11:58 PM. Reason: added picture
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
so then where does the wire with the three plugs on one end plug into the board at?
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 09:44 AM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
You put the lone connector across three signal pins on say, your receiver and the other three on three different channels on the board. I.e. the cable needs to go to the signal pin on throttle, aileron, elevator and yaw. That's usually the top pin, the one closest to the middle of the board.

That's just one way of using that harness. Oh wait, he said that already, hrm, don't know!
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Belgium, Brussels
Joined Jul 2010
219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman320 View Post
so then where does the wire with the three plugs on one end plug into the board at?
this plug goes from RX to the board.

on the RX you will plug it on the signal only pins... like connecting aileron, rudder and Elevation...and on the KK board you will connect each pin on the corresponding pin. the second wire you'll connect it normally from throttle to throttle... this is done so you only connect once the power...and save wire weight too
Halford is offline Find More Posts by Halford
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 01:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
okay thanks for the help guys I will post up a pic later when I get it connected and you guys can let me know if I have it all hooked up right.
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 02:57 PM
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman320 View Post
so then where does the wire with the three plugs on one end plug into the board at?
See, on my KK board, the channels do NOT line up the same with my Rx. So having the ends spit up as singles works out because I can match up my channels. The single ends can go either on the board or the Rx. They just have to match the channels.
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 03:54 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Seligman
Joined Nov 2011
413 Posts
Hopefully this helps. The signal wires on RX are connected to signal wires on KK board. Just on 1 end you have 3 connectors with 1 wire each. This photo has 1 connector with 3 wires. Connections are the same.
Dave8888 is offline Find More Posts by Dave8888
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
okay guys i think I got it will it work if I make my connections like this. sorry for the blurry pics i should have used my other camera let me know if you need a better pic.
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Last edited by Iceman320; Jan 09, 2012 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 11:30 PM
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Cant see from the blurry pictures, but looks about right.

<<edit>> because I look and dont read.
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Last edited by ScooterInVegas; Jan 10, 2012 at 12:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 11:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
where will the channel 5 wire connect to on the kk board? and also where does the power plug into the kk board?
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 12:25 AM
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman320 View Post
where will the channel 5 wire connect to on the kk board? and also where does the power plug into the kk board?
HA! Ive been looking at my CC boards too much lately! Sorry, my bad. No 5th channel for flight control on the KK.

No, power plug needed. The board gets its power from the ESC. Some run all the BEC's but most unplug all but one or use a separate BEC and unplug all the power leeds from the ESC's.
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
okay thanks for the help guys i'll get some esc's and motors ordered next week and see how it goes. what size battery should I use to power the quadcopter?
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 09:46 AM
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Im gusssing your building an avg size quad?

2200mah 3cell 30C is an avg size. What motors/esc's you getting?
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 01:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
90 Posts
I will probably be running some 1100kv motors with some 30 amp esc's not sure which brand yet though.
Iceman320 is offline Find More Posts by Iceman320
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale KK multicopter black board + Navi board set hemanthtguru Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 5 Nov 11, 2011 10:48 PM
For Sale KK multicopter black board + Navi board set hemanthtguru Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Nov 07, 2011 09:21 AM
Discussion need help with Black KK board Marked Multirotor Talk 19 Oct 25, 2011 06:51 AM
Discussion Iím looking for some help regarding a minsoo Kim kk black board charles 1973 Multirotor Talk 10 Sep 24, 2011 04:04 PM
Discussion I need some help with Minsoo Kim KK board SeismicCWave Multirotor Talk 1 Apr 08, 2011 06:01 AM