HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 22, 2012, 02:32 PM
Registered User
superglued's Avatar
United States, CA, Cerritos
Joined Jan 2012
75 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mescalinedream View Post
My mini scale reads 7.44 grams for the stock 240mah 25c
My 350mah 20c weighs 9.71 grams
I get 8 minutes with the 350mah on a genius motor with minicp main gear
Thanks! I am considering some 400mah linear current batteries from WOW since I can pick them up this weekend. But those 350s from recho look like a good deal.
superglued is offline Find More Posts by superglued
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2012, 02:35 PM
Registered User
KrisS's Avatar
Zurich, Switzerland
Joined Oct 2002
899 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWKN View Post
Hi Sonicg,

Thanks again for your advice. I did that last night in the model shop for increasing the gyro gain even to 100% but no improvement. Actually I emailed 9imod in China today for the problem and they suggested me to reload the software configuration for MCP using Genius CP from Walkera's site. I will try that tonight to see if it helps.
I had the same problem, the LED kept flashing green-red and the heli was just spinning no matter how the gyro gain was set.
I have a Devo 6 TX, after setting the Gear switch to position 1 everything is fine. According to the manual it's supposed the be the Mix switch that is obviously not the case here. I got my Mini CP from 9imod as well.
KrisS is offline Find More Posts by KrisS
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 03:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
775 Posts
I am currently charging 3 of my 350mah batteries in this thing http://www.ebay.com/itm/3S-Serial-Ch...item3371d9f8d9

I have my amperage set at 11.1v 350mah .35AMPS Is this how I should be charging them? It takes forever. I dont want to ruin the batteries with too high amps. I am using a hyperion eos0606i . Can you tell me how many amps when charging 2 batteries with the same cable? I made a loop cable to plug in when charging 2 batteries. I charge 2 batteries at 7.4V 350mah .35AMPS also.
The batteries are 20C 350mah with 25C burst.
mescalinedream is offline Find More Posts by mescalinedream
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 03:24 PM
Registered User
United States, TN, Memphis
Joined Dec 2011
860 Posts
I got this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/280806437902...#ht_3202wt_952 as I prefer to charge these smaller lipos in parallel. Voltage stays the same at 3.7 and I just add the batteries capacities and divide by 10 for a 1C charge (5x 350/10 = 1.7A). Here's some good reading: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1086555

I haven't charged up the 350's yet ( no mini, no need) but can charge 6 Hyperion 240's in under 30 minutes at 1C. I also have some 2S 450's and can balance charge them in only 40 minutes.
itsmillertime is offline Find More Posts by itsmillertime
Last edited by itsmillertime; Feb 22, 2012 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 04:39 PM
Micro Helicopter Electrician
1Hammer's Avatar
Central California Coast
Joined May 2008
2,667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmillertime View Post
I prefer to charge these smaller lipos in parallel. Voltage stays the same at 3.7 and I just add the batteries capacities and divide by 10 for a 1C charge (5x 350/10 = 1.7A).
It's better to keep your calculations in only one unit if possible, in this case amps. It really helps to understand units for more complex situations & equations...350mAh equals .350 amps, therefore .350 amps x 5 = 1.75 amps. Same result but with better understanding.

Regards,
John
1Hammer is offline Find More Posts by 1Hammer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 05:15 PM
Registered User
United States, TN, Memphis
Joined Dec 2011
860 Posts
Yeah my math is off in my example. It should actually be "divide by 1000" but your way is easier.
itsmillertime is offline Find More Posts by itsmillertime
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 05:54 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
is it me or is this whole telemetry useless?
voltage only shows 2 digits.. 3.7, 3.8, etc.. screen shows 3.9v but actual battery is 3.85, rounding up? pretty vague. so basically when tx shows 3.7 actual battery voltage is from 3.65 to 3.75? doesn't seem very useful.

also when you throttle up voltage takes a dive... from 3.9 to 3.5, once throttle down the voltage goes back up.

the alarm voltage doesn't seem to function well either.

overall pretty useless, and inaccurate telemetry.
scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 06:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2002
663 Posts
Will the main blades from the Mini CP work in the MCPX?

Thanks,
Tanasit
tanasit is offline Find More Posts by tanasit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 06:02 PM
2 seconds from crashing
indoorheli's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
7,349 Posts
I set it to 3.6 when my alarm goes off i land within 30 seconds.
All rc models take voltage dives all throughout flight and is why I hope for a gas tank type mAh gauge in future releases. I now use the timer to time my flights and not tell me when to land- love it
indoorheli is offline Find More Posts by indoorheli
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV - DRQ250 and a little speed
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 06:22 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by indoorheli View Post
I set it to 3.6 when my alarm goes off i land within 30 seconds.
All rc models take voltage dives all throughout flight and is why I hope for a gas tank type mAh gauge in future releases. I now use the timer to time my flights and not tell me when to land- love it
i just don't get why it dives from 3.9 to 3.5v and stays there until i cut throttle.. basically while in the air it's impossible to know the voltage until you land. at least from my observations..
scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 06:23 PM
Registered User
Tokyo
Joined Jan 2010
700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scub View Post
is it me or is this whole telemetry useless?
I agree resolution could be better, at least one more decimal point.

However, I do find it useful in the sense that if something is off with my heli I can quickly check the voltage and rule out the battery as the cause.

I usually land when the heli forces me to land. I think there is an internal voltage cutoff and when it reaches that threshold there is an audible powering down kind of sound, like the throttle is suddenly cut to 30-40%. It happens quickly so I can see where a timer would be useful for 3d flyers.

On the mini it seems the cutoff is around 3.85ish (on my rx firmware version at least) and on my genius it's around 3.75ish. I wish we could adjust this value.
bytemuncher is offline Find More Posts by bytemuncher
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 06:40 PM
2 seconds from crashing
indoorheli's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
7,349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scub View Post
i just don't get why it dives from 3.9 to 3.5v and stays there until i cut throttle.. basically while in the air it's impossible to know the voltage until you land. at least from my observations..
I set it for 3.6 so when i am done flying it is 3.8 standing
Also when set at 3.6 it doesnt alarm until it hits below 3.59
indoorheli is offline Find More Posts by indoorheli
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV - DRQ250 and a little speed
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 07:07 PM
El Dorado de Helicópteros
Proud Polac's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
168 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scub View Post
i just don't get why it dives from 3.9 to 3.5v and stays there until i cut throttle.. basically while in the air it's impossible to know the voltage until you land. at least from my observations..
Voltage in batteries drops under load. That's why it goes from 3.9v to 3.5v.
Proud Polac is offline Find More Posts by Proud Polac
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 07:35 PM
Registered User
superglued's Avatar
United States, CA, Cerritos
Joined Jan 2012
75 Posts
WOW installed the genius gear on my mcp, claiming it gives better flight times. Is there any real difference between the genius and mcp gear?

Also, what's the best way to remove the gear? It's stuck on there pretty well.
superglued is offline Find More Posts by superglued
Last edited by superglued; Feb 22, 2012 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 07:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mescalinedream View Post
I am currently charging 3 of my 350mah batteries in this thing http://www.ebay.com/itm/3S-Serial-Ch...item3371d9f8d9

I have my amperage set at 11.1v 350mah .35AMPS Is this how I should be charging them? It takes forever. I dont want to ruin the batteries with too high amps. I am using a hyperion eos0606i . Can you tell me how many amps when charging 2 batteries with the same cable? I made a loop cable to plug in when charging 2 batteries. I charge 2 batteries at 7.4V 350mah .35AMPS also.
The batteries are 20C 350mah with 25C burst.
So what do I charge 3 batteries at in series? In amps. 3 350mah 20c batteries.
mescalinedream is offline Find More Posts by mescalinedream
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool World Smallest Lightest Indestructible 3D helicopter :Genius CP!! DLY Micro Helis 9799 Jul 11, 2014 12:28 PM
Discussion Walkera Genius CP-the smallest 3d flybarless heli in the world! @ oomodel oomodel.com Hot Online Deals 14 Apr 15, 2014 12:24 PM
Careful! World Smallest Lightest Indestructible 3D helicopter Genius CP "More Junk" Iceblade1A Micro Helis 91 Sep 25, 2011 11:38 AM
For Sale Walkera 52 CP 3S MICRO heli(smaller than a Gaui)$75 DELIVERED Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Aug 16, 2009 07:38 PM
Question What’s Better than a Blade CP and Smaller than a Trex? HavingFun2002 Micro Helis 74 Mar 05, 2006 05:07 PM