SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 08, 2012, 04:07 PM
Malaysia, Selangor, Kajang
Joined Jun 2009
1,428 Posts
Discussion
Ultra-micro trainer/slow-flyer (with plans)

I've just been doing RC for a little over 2 years now but I've been building model planes for over 20 years. All free-flight, some rubber powered but mostly chuck gliders.

In last 2 years of building RC planes I've had to re-learn a lot about plane design and build techniques because RC planes are typically twice to four times the size of free-flight planes that I used to build. I've seen micro gear in the market but they were all too pricey, underpowered and/or esoteric for me.

Some time in mid-2011 Hobbyking started selling very interesting and affordable sub-micro gear starting with some sub-micro servos, then a fine looking 5g brushless motor, and now they even have what looks like a nice (if a bit buggy) family of sub-micro radio gear.

So about a month ago (that's how long it takes on average for me to receive Hobbyking shipments) I decided to take the plunge and got myself the 5g motor and a pair of very tiny 1.7g servos. This build is mostly to test out the gear I bought. So it's more of a quick prototype. But I loved the result so much I decided to draw up plans for it (after the fact) and post it here.

Here's the main hardware I'm testing:

- Motor: Turnigy 5g 2000kv brushless outrunner : http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6312
- Servos: a pair of HK-5320 Ultra-Micro servos (1.7g) : http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=17540

Everything else is regular non-micro gear:

- Receiver: Hobbyking/Flysky/Eurgle GT-2 3 channel receiver.(Cover and servo connectors removed, antenna shortened)
- ESC: Hobbyking SS 8-10A.(Heat shrink removed)
- Battery: Rhino 2S 360mAh.(yes, it's a 2s system)