Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
This thread is privately moderated by Dave O, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 07, 2012, 05:19 PM
United States, NJ, Evesham Township
Joined Oct 2011
201 Posts
Discussion
Taking off the training gear

Given my novice propensity for crashing, I've been using a set of training gear to facilitate takeoffs and soften the uh "landings". After a few weeks and a dozen packs with moderately controlled takeoff and landing, I decided to remove the gear and see if I could still maintain control.

What a difference!

I had assumed that while seemingly small, the additional mass low on the heli would affect the flight dynamics. I had not idea how significant the affect was. I was still able to maintain control (barely), but was very surprised at how much faster the control responses were.

I'm a novice, and will be for a while, but I can definitely recommend using the training gear.

1 Helps stabilize the heli during spin up and takeoff
2 Reduces damage of not so soft landings
3 Slows down the heli so novice response times can still maintain control
Dave O is offline Find More Posts by Dave O
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 07, 2012, 05:44 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Honestly, I would say do not use training gear, and I will explain.