HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 06, 2012, 10:04 AM
Aj Creations
India, KA, Bangalore
Joined Dec 2011
120 Posts
Discussion
Help with 2-channel glider construction?

I'm a newbie to rc aircrafts and I'm scratch building a 2 channel glider (rudder and elevator controls). I have a few questions and doubts:
1) how do I determine the distance between the wing and tail end? I did come across 'tail volume coefficient' & things like that, but its kinda too complicated for me. Any easy explaination?
2) where should the CG lie for best (easy) handling and performance? I was told that CG usually lies at 30% from the leading edge of the fuselage, true?
3) I built the fuselage out of 2mm foam board, weighs 20grams and its pretty stiff. Is it light enough?
Anjan Babu is offline Find More Posts by Anjan Babu
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:56 AM
United States, VA, Alexandria
Joined Sep 2008
993 Posts
What are the dimensions, wingspan, length, weight? CG depends on airfoils, wing planform, fuse length, size of tail and horizontal stab, swept wing or straight, etc. Need more info.
1967250s is offline Find More Posts by 1967250s
Old Jan 06, 2012, 08:15 PM
Aj Creations
India, KA, Bangalore
Joined Dec 2011
120 Posts
I haven't constructed the wing yet, but I've planned for a wingspan of 58 inches and chord length of 7.1 cm, airfoil is a Clark 'y'. Its going to be a straight wing. Weight, I'm not sure yet, but my prototype fuselage with all RC stuff mounted on, will weigh around 150 grams (I think I can make it lighter).
And I don't know how to determine the size of the tail.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 09:01 PM
United States, VA, Alexandria
Joined Sep 2008
993 Posts
I'm not a designer by any long shot, but I think it should have some dihedral, especially if you are new at this, about 3 inches each side. Clark Y is good simple foil. Will be slow floater. I would suggest tail at about 10 inches by 5 wide.