SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 24, 2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
Clinton,CT
Joined Aug 2004
242 Posts
I just downloaded 1.18 version of John's program was using 1.16 on a Tarot ZYX unit without the firmware upgrade. Question is can I use 1.18 to do the firmware upgrade or do i have to download something else also.Thanks Yogi
Yogi1 is offline Find More Posts by Yogi1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2012, 04:55 PM
SoCal
Zr_Flyer's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
550 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi1 View Post
I just downloaded 1.18 version of John's program was using 1.16 on a Tarot ZYX unit without the firmware upgrade. Question is can I use 1.18 to do the firmware upgrade or do i have to download something else also.Thanks Yogi
You'll need to download the firmware update file also.
Zr_Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Zr_Flyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Micro Brushless H Part II
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 05:10 PM
Registered User
mike00top's Avatar
Launceston UK
Joined Mar 2010
33 Posts
Sorry to sound stupid, but i dont understand after we go past version 1.16 does it mean we must have the firmware up grade too ?

or will the latest version v1.18 work with or without the firmware upgrades, zyx or cx3x1000?
mike00top is offline Find More Posts by mike00top
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 05:22 PM
Registered User
New Zealand, Taranaki, New Plymouth
Joined Jan 2012
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike00top View Post
Sorry to sound stupid, but i dont understand after we go past version 1.16 does it mean we must have the firmware up grade too ?

or will the latest version v1.18 work with or without the firmware upgrades, zyx or cx3x1000?
You don't have to upgrade the firmware to use the later versions of the FBL software.
John_NZ is offline Find More Posts by John_NZ
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 06:46 PM
Registered User
keris's Avatar
Malaysia, Perak, Taiping
Joined Jan 2012
241 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
The ZYX is $44 with a buddycode from HobbyKing.
that great price beenflying thank for the info
keris is offline Find More Posts by keris
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 08:03 PM
Registered User
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,773 Posts
OK - weirdness alert.

I have an ALZ unit that is "resting" pending RC711 fessing up to that fact that ALZ can't ship one that doesn't drift - not what this post is about.

I plugged into John's latest software to experiment with some other settings to check a theory. Done with that so I checked "switch condition" for fun and guess what......

Yep It will and I can turn it to and from condition and rate/HH mode using the software. In switch condition, I can indeed switch condition using the aux input.

Hmm.....wonder what else is hidden in there!
teamdavey is offline Find More Posts by teamdavey
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:26 PM
Registered User
buzzme's Avatar
Brewster, Ohio
Joined Feb 2007
195 Posts
Help me understand

My head has been spinning since this condition thing has been introduced.

1. What is the purpose of the different conditions?

2. Can you control BOTH the condition 1 or 2 state AND the head hold or rate mode from your transmitter using a 6 channel receiver?

Thanks
buzzme is offline Find More Posts by buzzme
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:47 PM
Registered User
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,773 Posts
No - you can either switch between two conditions (which will include two different tail settings - but both heading hold) OR you can have one condition and switch between HH and rate - but you will have two conditions stored in the gyro which you can select between using the hand programmer on the ground. Confusing isn't it?
teamdavey is offline Find More Posts by teamdavey
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 10:33 PM
Registered User
United States, OK, Claremore
Joined Nov 2007
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamdavey View Post
No - you can either switch between two conditions (which will include two different tail settings - but both heading hold) OR you can have one condition and switch between HH and rate - but you will have two conditions stored in the gyro which you can select between using the hand programmer on the ground. Confusing isn't it?
Actually, I think this is a fantastic definition of the situation. Well put.
v823515 is offline Find More Posts by v823515
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 12:10 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Taranaki, New Plymouth
Joined Jan 2012
333 Posts
Version 1.19 of FBL is up. Fixed a few small things, see the revision history on the FBL web site for details.
John_NZ is offline Find More Posts by John_NZ
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 05:34 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
I am facing connection issues with my ZYX FBL. I am using the original adapter and it worked quite well with John's Software (1.15). Sometimes I needed 2 or 3 attempts, but now I am unable to connect at all. The blue light on the adapter is flashing and the FBL unit is responding to stick input from the TX, but nothing with the software

What am I doing wrong? Is there any standard procedure to follow? Thats how I did it:

1) Connect usb adapter to PC and FBL unit
2) Launch software and click connect
3) Turn on transmitter
4) Plug in the LiPo on the heli

Could something be broken?
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 05:55 AM
No Longer Active
pitchp's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Aug 2010
6,627 Posts
make sure it's the usb is in between com 1 - 4 and not 5 or higher
pitchp is offline Find More Posts by pitchp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 06:19 AM
Registered User
Clinton,CT
Joined Aug 2004
242 Posts
Hi HolgiB, Here is the procedure.
(1) Have USB dongle plugged into pc start pc.
(2) Turn on transmitter then reciever/heli.
(3) Open FBL John NZ's program.
(4) Plug dongle into ZYX unit
(5) Click on connect button three dots should go green.
(6) When finnished with program unplug ZYX before shutting down program.
Another good idea is to click force update just before disconnecting ZYX unit.
Good Luck Yogi
Yogi1 is offline Find More Posts by Yogi1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 06:43 AM
Team Mulikow 3D
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jan 2007
4,098 Posts
Make sure that you have the cable the right way up in the dongle
MikeHRC is online now Find More Posts by MikeHRC
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 07:01 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
Thanks you guys, I am connected again. Changed to port to COM2 as well. But I think it was kind of a system hickup or something like that.

Updated John's Software to 1.18 and with the dongle on COM2, the Tarot software works as well.

How about the firmware update for the unit itself? Is this recommended? Or are the latest devices already with the latest FW?
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Darthdrk Drone CX Body for coax helis like the Blade CX etc. Twmaster Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 08, 2011 07:31 PM
Multiplex mc V2 servo programming PC software Thomas B Radios 3 Jul 23, 2006 09:49 AM