Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
This thread is privately moderated by brianshell, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 04, 2012, 02:34 PM
United States, UT, Ogden
Joined Nov 2011
190 Posts
Discussion
Top 10 things I wish I'd paid attention to when getting started in FPV.

As a thank you to all who helped me through the first few weeks / months of my adventures into FPV, I wanted to write up a short list of important things I learned that I FAILED to pay attention to when I was getting things going.

Background: I'm a network engineer and a ham radio operator of 15+ years, and I came into this with plenty of experience flying "Park Flyers". I got into RC planes SPECIFICALLY to do FPV, but figured I'd better learn to fly first. =)

So here we go....

----------------------
Lesson 1) Start simple. I initially did a ton of research and bought every component I thought I wanted. (OSD, Autopilot, TX, RX, goggles, diversity, antenna tracking, head-tracking, etc.). I spent countless hours trying to get it all working together before I even attempted my first flight. I figured my technical prowess made me somehow immune to the KISS rule and I'd be fine diving in head first. All I accomplished was making myself frustrated.

Eventually, I stripped the system down to the bare minimum (Camera, transmitter, receiver, and LCD screen) and just FLEW (with a spotter, of course). It was AWESOME! I landed the plane, took it home, and added the pan-tilt system, then flew again. Then I added the goggles, and flew again. I learned that each component made the experience completely new again, and even more complex. The downside? It takes a LOT of time. Like most of you, I have a day-job and a family, which means LIMITED time to work on this stuff.