HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimTMich View Post
I was thinking of getting into my first 58" class plane.

I have lots of 3s2200 3d planes, so I'm tempted to go with a motrofly 4315 6s motor. Would it be smarter to go 4s?

I have a spare castle Ice 50. The 6s motrofly setup draws 50-55 A. I've pushed the old Phoenix 25 adn 35A esc's well beyond their capacity with no issues doing 3D for years. Any known differences in the Ice line up that woudl drive me to buy a new 75A vs using my existing 50A?

I'm used to using HS-65MG on the 4' planes. Will HS-225MG feel about the same or would they feel slower?

Thanks for the input and helping me get into the next class of airframe.
Hs225 will feel slower I think.

I use a Castle ICE 75A in a 100amp pulling yak. Had a 100 flights and no problems. The non lite ICE ESCs are well underrated power wise IMO as they are designed to work in heli's where they don't always get the same airflow.
cookci is offline Find More Posts by cookci
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:12 PM
Team 3DHS
wamsy55's Avatar
Nashville , Tennessee
Joined Jan 2009
5,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookci View Post
WOW... what prop are you running?
15 by 7 APC

Serious power, a Xoar 15 by 7 is what I may try next.
wamsy55 is online now Find More Posts by wamsy55
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:44 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimTMich View Post
I was thinking of getting into my first 58" class plane.

I have lots of 3s2200 3d planes, so I'm tempted to go with a motrofly 4315 6s motor. Would it be smarter to go 4s?

I have a spare castle Ice 50. The 6s motrofly setup draws 50-55 A. I've pushed the old Phoenix 25 adn 35A esc's well beyond their capacity with no issues doing 3D for years. Any known differences in the Ice line up that woudl drive me to buy a new 75A vs using my existing 50A?

I'm used to using HS-65MG on the 4' planes. Will HS-225MG feel about the same or would they feel slower?

Thanks for the input and helping me get into the next class of airframe.
I wouldn't use the Ice 50 esc. My 4315-480kv on 6s w/ a xoar 15x8 prop pulled about 68a!


Also, I'll be selling some hs-225mg servos soon if you'd be interested in them.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 03:24 PM
Registered User
edf_rookie's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Mar 2011
327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamsy55 View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KnZtIuIbBo

Video of my 58" Edge.

Motrofly 4315-714 on 4s.
Nice flying Wamsy

Are you using the standard motrofly or the lightened version in this one?
edf_rookie is offline Find More Posts by edf_rookie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 03:29 PM
Team 3DHS
wamsy55's Avatar
Nashville , Tennessee
Joined Jan 2009
5,468 Posts
I have the lightened xmount (fiberglass).
wamsy55 is online now Find More Posts by wamsy55
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 06:32 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
25,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimTMich View Post
I was thinking of getting into my first 58" class plane.

I have lots of 3s2200 3d planes, so I'm tempted to go with a motrofly 4315 6s motor. Would it be smarter to go 4s?

I have a spare castle Ice 50. The 6s motrofly setup draws 50-55 A. I've pushed the old Phoenix 25 adn 35A esc's well beyond their capacity with no issues doing 3D for years. Any known differences in the Ice line up that woudl drive me to buy a new 75A vs using my existing 50A?

I'm used to using HS-65MG on the 4' planes. Will HS-225MG feel about the same or would they feel slower?

Thanks for the input and helping me get into the next class of airframe.
Putting two 3S 2200mAH packs in series for 6S would only give you the equivalent of a 6S 2200mAH pack which would give you about three minutes flying time....

You would be better off with at least a 75 amp, ESC, but for this size plane, most people prefer a 100 amp, for the added headroom. HS-225 servos are just as fast or faster...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Dec 17, 2012 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:14 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,989 Posts
When I was using two 3s 2200mah packs in series, I was getting about 4:30 to 5 minutes.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:38 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
25,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
When I was using two 3s 2200mah packs in series, I was getting about 4:30 to 5 minutes.
Good throttle management... I'm not that good at it...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:44 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,989 Posts
Trust me, I like a lot of throttle too! I was starting to wear my batteries out though. Eventually they started setting off the low voltage alarm like 3:30 into the flight. So then I got some gens ace 6s 2600mah batteries. So far so good with them.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:36 AM
Registered User
edf_rookie's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Mar 2011
327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamsy55 View Post
I have the lightened xmount (fiberglass).
Thanks Wamsy, and did it balance ok with that one. I know the guys that were using the Hackers on 4S needed to add some weight up front.

After seeing that flight I might just have to pull the box out from under the workbench and get started on the build
edf_rookie is offline Find More Posts by edf_rookie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:48 AM
Team 3DHS
wamsy55's Avatar
Nashville , Tennessee
Joined Jan 2009
5,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by edf_rookie View Post
Thanks Wamsy, and did it balance ok with that one. I know the guys that were using the Hackers on 4S needed to add some weight up front.

After seeing that flight I might just have to pull the box out from under the workbench and get started on the build
Balance is right on the money.

It weights much more than the A40, middle of the tray is where I am.
wamsy55 is online now Find More Posts by wamsy55
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:51 AM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,349 Posts
Nice vids wamsy....
Bivens is online now Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:03 AM
Registered User
edf_rookie's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Mar 2011
327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamsy55 View Post
Balance is right on the money.

It weights much more than the A40, middle of the tray is where I am.
Excellent, thanks for the response that is great to hear.

Keep up the great flying
edf_rookie is offline Find More Posts by edf_rookie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:16 AM
Registered User
United States, WI, Milwaukee
Joined Sep 2008
768 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamsy55 View Post
Balance is right on the money.

It weights much more than the A40, middle of the tray is where I am.
Good to hear. What size spacers are you using?

Mike
Brownie433 is online now Find More Posts by Brownie433
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamsy55 View Post
15 by 7 APC

Serious power, a Xoar 15 by 7 is what I may try next.
I must admit I was failing to see why I purchased this airframe over a ef extra 60" but watching your video really shows the difference.

3dhs should post a video of your flying on their website.

Do you every worry about breaking the frame as I see your giving it full lock at full speed lol?
cookci is offline Find More Posts by cookci
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 02:45 PM
Sold 3DHS Omega 130g NIB 58.00 Shipped boatdoc Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 9 Aug 28, 2011 09:16 AM
Discussion 3dhs edge 41" edge as second ish) plane? Mr Bloppy 3D Flying 19 Aug 25, 2010 09:43 AM
Wanted Wanted - 47" - 58" 3DHS, EF or Sebart plane paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 02, 2010 11:12 PM
Wanted 47"-58" size 3DHS, Sebart or Extreme Flight paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Jan 02, 2010 12:52 AM