HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2012, 08:38 PM
Hooked on 3DHS
lammbn's Avatar
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Nov 2009
908 Posts
i do suggest checking for your self and trying to mount that motor as far out as your cowl will allow. you will like the packs sitting a little farther back with how deep and narrow the battery tray is.
lammbn is online now Find More Posts by lammbn
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:24 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
Can you guys help, I'm new to electrics. I got the Edge together with a GR60, Ice 75 and Gens Ace 4s 4000's. I got a watt meter today and here's what it reads.. 860 watts and 65-70 amps with a 15 x 8 prop. Does this sound right? Will the Ice 75 handle it? Also, I put the Castle link on and turned off data logging, put the LVC at the lowest setting. Do I need to do anything else. I just want to be able to fly this thing more than once.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:29 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
Can you guys help, I'm new to electrics. I got the Edge together with a GR60, Ice 75 and Gens Ace 4s 4000's. I got a watt meter today and here's what it reads.. 860 watts and 65-70 amps with a 15 x 8 prop. Does this sound right? Will the Ice 75 handle it? Also, I put the Castle link on and turned off data logging, put the LVC at the lowest setting. Do I need to do anything else. I just want to be able to fly this thing more than once.
You should be fine with this....Wattage seems a bit low, but fly it and see how you like it.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:32 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
I searched the 59" Slick thread and saw that some people are pulling over 1000 watts and over 80 amps with the GR60 on 4s. That's why I ask.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:56 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
I searched the 59" Slick thread and saw that some people are pulling over 1000 watts and over 80 amps with the GR60 on 4s. That's why I ask.
Are you sure you have a Reaper GR60 and not a GR60-A? That is a lower KV motor that is designed for 5S. If it is a GR60-A you will need to prop up to get the wattage, or go to 5S. I have four GR60s and one GR60-A (in a 55" Edge), and I had to prop it up to get the performance I wanted with the 60-A on 4S.

Also, as I said in answer to your PM, I was not sure of the amps/watts of mine as I haven't checked the amps/watts since I initially built the planes and that was over a year ago...so, 1000 watts and 80 amps is probably more correct than what I had said... But as I also said, I am running an ICE 100 ESC, not an ICE 75.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:09 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
It just says GR60 on it, I bought it used.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:13 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Mar 2011
57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
Can you guys help, I'm new to electrics. I got the Edge together with a GR60, Ice 75 and Gens Ace 4s 4000's. I got a watt meter today and here's what it reads.. 860 watts and 65-70 amps with a 15 x 8 prop. Does this sound right? Will the Ice 75 handle it? Also, I put the Castle link on and turned off data logging, put the LVC at the lowest setting. Do I need to do anything else. I just want to be able to fly this thing more than once.
What size prop do you have on here?
The numbers don't add up. Also, on your watt meter what is the voltage drop at full throttle?
Capt. Rex A Lott is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Rex A Lott
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:18 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
It's a 15 x 8. Could you please explain voltage drop? The weird thing is, I can hear the rpm drop significantly after about a minute of running it. Sounds like I need to do some reading on this stuff, just thought I would ask here first.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:18 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,030 Posts
You should be getting more than 860 watts, but perhaps your ESC is limiting the power. I am running a Xoar 14X7 on my GR60 and a Xoar 15X7 on my GR60-A

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Feb 13, 2012 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:24 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Mar 2011
57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
It's a 15 x 8. Could you please explain voltage drop? The weird thing is, I can hear the rpm drop significantly after about a minute of running it. Sounds like I need to do some reading on this stuff, just thought I would ask here first.
Your watt meter should show AMPs/WATTs and Volts.
What is the volt reading at full throttle?
I am trying to get an idea of the actual draw at full throttle.
I agree with Steve, 860 sounds low.

I have a power 46 pulling 1200 with a 16x8.
Capt. Rex A Lott is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Rex A Lott
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 09:28 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
It's a 15 x 8. Could you please explain voltage drop? The weird thing is, I can hear the rpm drop significantly after about a minute of running it. Sounds like I need to do some reading on this stuff, just thought I would ask here first.
If you rpm is dropping (or at least not increasing) then either your ESC is set incorrectly, or your batteries are not holding their voltage...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
At full throttle I get around 800 watts 11.6 volts.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:20 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
At full throttle I get around 800 watts 11.6 volts.
That only 3S voltage..... Minimum voltage on a 4S pack would be 4X 3.3 volts= 13.2 volts...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:25 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Mar 2011
57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveTtoooo View Post
That only 3S voltage..... Minimum voltage on a 4S pack would be 4X 3.3 volts= 13.2 volts...

SteveT
I agree with Steve, mystery of the numbers not adding up solved.
Are you sure this is a 4S pack?
Capt. Rex A Lott is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Rex A Lott
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:27 PM
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
United States, MN, Cottage Grove
Joined Jul 2010
260 Posts
Yes it is a 4s pack, it says 16.63 volts before I give it throttle.
UDO999 is offline Find More Posts by UDO999
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 03:45 PM
Sold 3DHS Omega 130g NIB 58.00 Shipped boatdoc Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 9 Aug 28, 2011 10:16 AM
Discussion 3dhs edge 41" edge as second ish) plane? Mr Bloppy 3D Flying 19 Aug 25, 2010 10:43 AM
Wanted Wanted - 47" - 58" 3DHS, EF or Sebart plane paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 03, 2010 12:12 AM
Wanted 47"-58" size 3DHS, Sebart or Extreme Flight paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Jan 02, 2010 01:52 AM