Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 01, 2012, 07:02 PM
United States, UT, Ogden
Joined Nov 2011
190 Posts
Discussion
DJI Naza / Flame Wheel 450 RTF Kit -- Engines Won't Start

First, I'm brand new to quads.. so be gentle. (Hopefully I'm just doing something stupid)...

Brand new RTF kit from DJI showed up yesterday. I've run into a road-block and need some assistance.

I'm unable to get the throttle to power up the motors.

1) When I power everything up, I hear the satisfying "1234567" song from each of the ESCs.

2) When I turn on the throttle on my radio, the unit just sits there like I've done nothing. I've tried all three flight modes (the flight-mode switch does seem to be working on the TX, since moving it does change the blinking on the Naza LED thing).

3) I know the RX is connected properly to the Naza unit because I can hook the Naza unit to my computer and see the throttle move when I move the control on the TX. This is an indicator that all sorts of things are properly connected and functioning.

4) If I disconnect the ESC and plug is straight into another RX (like it's for an airplane), it seems to work great. So I know the ESCs and motors are functioning properly.

The only conclusion I can draw is that the Naza unit is preventing the throttle from engaging the motors for some reason.

Any ideas would be very welcome!!
brianshell is offline Find More Posts by brianshell
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2012, 07:20 PM
Copperopolis, CA
Joined Sep 2003
1,008 Posts
Are you following the one of the CSC combinations listed under STEP2: Cut Off Type? Took me a bit to figure that out.

Jack
jforkner is offline Find More Posts by jforkner
Old Jan 01, 2012, 07:29 PM
United States, UT, Ogden
Joined Nov 2011
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jforkner View Post
Are you following the one of the CSC combinations listed under STEP2: Cut Off Type? Took me a bit to figure that out.

Jack