HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 01, 2012, 05:30 PM
I hate waiting for parts
United States, NC, Garner
Joined Apr 2001
6,869 Posts
Question
FPV newbie... questions about signal strength/quality FatShark 5.8 GHz

Hello FPV pilots, I'm an FPV newbie so please be gentle. I picked up a second-hand FPV system from a friend and fellow club member. He bought it new, flew it a couple of times and decided it wasn't for him, so I purchased the entire system from him. The system is a FatShark 5.8 GHz with the 100 mW transmitter, goggles (not the Dominator), and pan/tilt camera. I have it mounted in an RQ-11 FPV vehicle.

I took it to the field today to try it out. I first flew the plane and trimmed it out to make sure all was well. I then flew the plane with someone else wearing the goggles to see how the view was. The signal was, to be honest, pretty terrible. It looked good on the ground during range checks but quickly became to where it was unflyable. These are the things we tried:
  1. Repositioned the antenna several times
  2. Repositioned the TX several times
  3. Powered the TX with the ESC
  4. Powered the TX with its own power source
  5. Removed the metal landing gear

Nothing really helped... when the plane was coming straight towards you, it was fine but it seemed that whenever a turn was made, the signal would drop off drastically.

So we tried to fly the plane via FPV tied to a buddy box. It was really cool when it worked well (I can see why people love FPV) but it was only in 3-5 seconds burts as my friend kept having to take the plane away due to the signal dropping out.