HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 01, 2012, 04:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
144 Posts
Discussion
Foam cutter set-up?!?!?! 3xQ's

I figured i would post this in the scratchbuilt thread since most of you have hot wire foam cutters.

1. Do I need a fuse? If so then just an inline fuse with a 10-15a glass fuse?
2. Do I have this hooked up wrong on the wire cutting end?(seems to work but makes a humming noise).
3. Is it ok to cap the black wire in the middle of the yellow ones? Does this wire do anything specific?

Pretty much I want to stay safe and not fry anything.
flynfunny is offline Find More Posts by flynfunny
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
144 Posts
Bumpy Bumperson
flynfunny is offline Find More Posts by flynfunny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 07:31 PM
Registered User
USA, GA, Carrollton
Joined Jan 2008
444 Posts
I'll take a shot at it. I would put the fuse ahead of the dimmer.

Its ok to tape up the middle lead. Its a center tap on the secondary of the transformer.
TFM70 is offline Find More Posts by TFM70
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 09:36 PM
Registered User
The high desert of Southern California
Joined Jul 2002
1,228 Posts
I did not put a fuse in my setup. So far I have not let the magic smoke out of anything.


Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline Find More Posts by blvdbuzzard
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 11:24 PM
Slopeosapien
jonesymj's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
794 Posts
I didn't fuse mine either... Worked just fine wired up the way you've illustrated though... My hot-wire setup will hum when it's set pretty much right so I don't think it's an issue...
jonesymj is offline Find More Posts by jonesymj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 12:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonesymj View Post
I didn't fuse mine either... Worked just fine wired up the way you've illustrated though... My hot-wire setup will hum when it's set pretty much right so I don't think it's an issue...
I'm using a 16 gauge guitar wire. seems pretty slow for cutting but its an 19" cutting space.I love this thing!!!! All I have is 2' thick green foam from Lowe's.
flynfunny is offline Find More Posts by flynfunny
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Trainer with gyro's help with set up jonathan7x70 Electric Plane Talk 6 Dec 14, 2011 12:32 AM
Cool Controlling Gorilla white's foam up! UlteriorModem The Builders Workshop 8 Oct 06, 2011 02:07 PM
Help! Gravity Cutter need help with set-up Mr. Combat Certain Slope 87 Aug 17, 2010 07:57 AM
Wanted Hotwire foam cutter set up Concordefan Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 6 Sep 20, 2008 09:20 AM
Foam Cutter Help...wiring it up FOShowNoClass Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 Feb 23, 2003 11:17 PM