HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 06, 2001, 02:22 PM
E-flyer since 1981
Joined Oct 2000
1,501 Posts
How long have you been flying electric?

I've been flying electric since 1982 (way before brushless motors, cobalt motors, etc).
My first plane was a styrofoam 2-channel only Chipmunk on a direct drive 540-type motor. I couldn't fly it. The first plane I built and had some success with was a CG Gentle Lady (this was pre Electra kit days) with the same motor from the previous plane. After a few more unsuccessful tries, I built a Leisure Playboy (cabin style) model with a geared motor. I built heavy and used a heavy and large RC boat speed control, but it flew great! After that a Kyosho Etude with ailerons, and so on. What about you.
Michael in Toronto is offline Find More Posts by Michael in Toronto
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2001, 02:42 PM
Wilmington Oh 45177
Joined Nov 1999
885 Posts
I started electric/ sailplane in 1997
shelby is offline Find More Posts by shelby
Old Jul 06, 2001, 03:07 PM
Topeka, Ks
Joined Nov 2000
25 Posts
Just started building in december and flew in may. one of the greatest things i can do with my free time! my first ship is the "BulletProof" T-52. I'm so glad i came across this web site as it answered so many questions i had about e-flight. There is a soccer field across the street from my house that is a perfect size for the 52. It has a fence that runs around three sides but is open facing the parking lot of a elementary school. It also has a 5 lane "sprint" track that is painted on the blacktop that would make for a perfect runway once i get some gear made up for my plane. The only problem is i need MORE free time to spend over there.

Scott
s_sanders is offline Find More Posts by s_sanders
Old Jul 06, 2001, 03:11 PM
oakdale, ny, usa
Joined Aug 2000
3,985 Posts
A Sureflite foam J-3 cub with a kyosho mad science 17 turn motor a 3 to 1 gear and 1700 sub C cells.

I think I did this about 2 years ago.