Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:18 PM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohillbilly View Post
I don't have to worry about all the dx this and that mix ups. I fly mine on my Futaba HA HA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOne420 View Post
Me Too! And I love it.
+1!

I fly everything with my Futaba 10CHP. My backup rig is my trusty old Futaba 8UAF from the mid-90s. I use the Spektrum DM8 module for the BNF micros & park-flyer size stuff & switch to my FASST module for the big/fast/dangerous stuff.

Interestingly, my over 15-year-old 8UAF has features that are just now starting to appear on some of the other brands' higher-end rigs.

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:53 PM
I DESIGN QUADCOPTERS
saskya's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
777 Posts
I am stock need help
remote LP5DSM I want to try to fly in the T instead of the X configuration
but need info on the DIP adjustment on the remote at the moment the mqx is unstable I do the wave dance
saskya is offline Find More Posts by saskya
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 10:05 AM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboparker View Post
+1!

I fly everything with my Futaba 10CHP. My backup rig is my trusty old Futaba 8UAF from the mid-90s. I use the Spektrum DM8 module for the BNF micros & park-flyer size stuff & switch to my FASST module for the big/fast/dangerous stuff.

Interestingly, my over 15-year-old 8UAF has features that are just now starting to appear on some of the other brands' higher-end rigs.

Joel
Yep I fly a (9Z - world champ edition) - DM8 for most stuff. My big boys and FPV setups I fly on 72Mhz without issues. Not much worry about others being on your channel anymore. Also I will be stepping up to the Dragon link UHF for FPV soon. All on the same radio!
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 11:41 AM
Registered User
Chow's Avatar
The Netherlands, NH, Nieuw-Vennep
Joined Mar 2011
518 Posts
This is a long thread and I searched but can't find what I need I have my MQX for a few days now. No crashes. After 15-16 flights today suddenly the right front motor behaved odd. It wouldn't start spinning while slowly adding throttle. With fast throttle it started spinning but not fast enough so the MQX was drifting a lot. I checked if the motor wasn't "sticking" somehow and checked cables. Everything seems fine. Weird thing is after disconnecting and connecting the lipo the problem dissapeared. This doesn't sound like a broken motor.Is this specific problem known? Is it the board or still the motor somehow. After this incident I had 3 flights without issues but I don't want to have this issue in mid flight. And since I have the MQX only for a few days it's still under warrantee. Any suggestions?
Chow is offline Find More Posts by Chow
Last edited by Chow; Apr 24, 2012 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 12:09 PM
Cranky old fart
Balr14's Avatar
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,361 Posts
95% of the issues with the MQx have been about the right front motor. The other 5% have have been about the left rear motor. I bought a new one, then called Horizon to complain and they sent me another one.
Balr14 is online now Find More Posts by Balr14
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 12:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
15 Posts
Hello Chow, maybe only a problem with the gyro initialization.

most of the MQX behave like this before take off.

If you tilt the mqx in different directions, you'll see different motors stopping like yours did.
jfgad is offline Find More Posts by jfgad
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Chow's Avatar
The Netherlands, NH, Nieuw-Vennep
Joined Mar 2011
518 Posts
I start to suspect a gyro initialization problem since I am at my 4th flight after this incident and can't seem to reproduce the problem.. I do know a lot of people have motors failing rather quickly but I can't imagine it's my problem since it now flies well again..
Chow is offline Find More Posts by Chow
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 04:43 PM
I Like Deraring
jdog83's Avatar
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jan 2008
1,006 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgestner View Post
I don't think that is anything wrong with or without expo on your radio. I am only using a DX5e at this point and I love the way it flys with EXPO and low rates. As a Quadcopter rotating around centerpoint is not an easy task for the 4 motors too do without some sort of off axis or forward flight. There is nothing that a flat and level Quad can do for faster spinning. Thats where a coaxial or single rotor with tail motor excels. Try to enjoy it as is because it is plenty fun as it is.

John in Merrill
Thanks! I am enjoying it! I don't really care too much about the piro rate.
jdog83 is offline Find More Posts by jdog83
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 06:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
134 Posts
Hello all, I am on my 2nd mQX. The first one flew perfect never had a problem for about a month and a half then I went a little too high and too far on a windy day and it got away from me and crashed in the next neighborhood, never found it. So my new one is really sensitive and I'm using the stock controller from the first one. I barely move the control. And it acts like it wants to flip. Any way to tame this thing down a bit. I even pushed the stick in so the light is blinking and it's still very sensitive.
Warrior0465 is online now Find More Posts by Warrior0465
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:29 PM
Always, against the wind
Thetis's Avatar
United States, IL
Joined Oct 2011
970 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrior0465 View Post
Hello all, I am on my 2nd mQX. The first one flew perfect never had a problem for about a month and a half then I went a little too high and too far on a windy day and it got away from me and crashed in the next neighborhood, never found it. So my new one is really sensitive and I'm using the stock controller from the first one. I barely move the control. And it acts like it wants to flip. Any way to tame this thing down a bit. I even pushed the stick in so the light is blinking and it's still very sensitive.
Re-bind the stock Tx again. Did you bind it in the first place or you just flew her? The stock Tx is very sensitive anyway.
Thetis is online now Find More Posts by Thetis
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:30 PM
Registered User
Cedar Rapids, IA
Joined May 2003
153 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric the Red View Post
Well - I loved it for a while! After 3 or 4 flights, the Rx seems to have 'unbound' itself from the Tx - just get a blue flashing light. YES, I've done all the usual checks, including trying to re-bind. Nothing
Don't say it's buggered on it's first day?
Mine is doing the same thing. It will eventually bind after plugging in the battery a few times. Horizon said to mail it in...but I really don't want to have to wait...and then have them send it back saying there's nothing wrong with it.
mattweisz is offline Find More Posts by mattweisz
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:44 PM
352nd FG Association
Moonbeam's Avatar
United States, GA, Decatur
Joined Mar 2004
4,094 Posts
If you send the whole thing back, they'll either fix it or replace it. And it doesn't take that long.

My very first experience with HH was in 2005, with a brushed motor "Ferocious Frankie" P-51. Had an issue, sent it back on a Monday, they got it Wednesday, and I received a replacement plane on that Friday. Everything in 1 week..... that's good service.
Moonbeam is offline Find More Posts by Moonbeam
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Cedar Rapids, IA
Joined Aug 2010
831 Posts
First real flights outdoors in a big area tonight; perfect conditions!

Wow! The mQX is sure a different kettle of fish from airplanes!

And orientation! OMG! Easy to lose!

I think I'm gonna want LEDs or something to help out.

Still, I'm really pleased with it! Just need to learn all new reflexes. Thank goodness I'm learning on an UM !
MiddleMarc is offline Find More Posts by MiddleMarc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 04:09 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Southend-on-Sea
Joined Jan 2012
52 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattweisz View Post
Mine is doing the same thing. It will eventually bind after plugging in the battery a few times. Horizon said to mail it in...but I really don't want to have to wait...and then have them send it back saying there's nothing wrong with it.
Just got another one from a different source - binds and flies perfectly, so it was a duff board on the original. They should fix it and return - then I'll have 2 MQXs
Blade make some great stuff, but I'd rather thay charged say 20% more and improved the quality of it
Eric the Red is offline Find More Posts by Eric the Red
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 04:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
134 Posts
Yes I had to bind the controller toothed new one. This one is just way more sensitive than the first one. Thanx.
Warrior0465 is online now Find More Posts by Warrior0465
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold BNF PZ J3 Cub, BNF PZ P-51D Mustang, Blade mSR RTF & DX6i nyaaah!! Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Oct 06, 2011 11:21 AM
For Sale New Blade 400 RTF Will sell as BNF papower Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 8 Aug 04, 2011 12:28 PM
Sold ON HOLD....FS/WTT Like New (RTF) Heli-Max AXE CPv3 For Like New (BNF) Blade mCP X ABADGTP Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jul 26, 2011 07:22 PM
Sold Blade MCX2 Like New RTF or BNF tamiyafan1975 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Jul 14, 2011 03:39 PM
Sold Blade mCPX RTF or BNF (factory sealed new in box) PatternFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 5 Mar 28, 2011 03:25 PM