HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:54 PM
Summer... is my time of year
United States, CA, San Juan Capistrano
Joined May 2011
6,664 Posts
Build Log
Gulp SR

Well here we go. This build log is by the man they call Rubio. There are not a lot of build logs of a Gulp that I could find. This will chronicle one mans struggle to make that happen. I'm not an expert builder. In fact i haven"t built much but an Old Econoline. That never stopped me before. you learn by doing and that's what I'll do here. I have my build Project Leader (my cat The Mighty Dylan) and Build Security(my other Cat The Sultan). Together we will tackle the Gulp SR.
I have been flying less than a year, and the SLOPE BUG... has bitten me. Thus this build is a result of that Bug. If you slope i have found build skill is a must!! I have a project already going. but why not start another!!!
I picked up the Kit from Steve Drake. It was great to meet him and talk over the build.(I just wish I remember more of the great advice he gave me!!) He is really a great guy and very well informed. The kit instructions are straight forward and I going to do my best to follow his advice and build light. Or will it turn into a flying brick??? Only time will tell. Feel free to chime any advice you might have. Its always welcome. I hope to learn a lot along the way and maybe you could be the one to lead me down the runway to good flying...
The only bummer is my Build Security is already asleep
67econoline is online now Find More Posts by 67econoline
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:56 PM
Joined May 2011
6,664 Posts
Good thing I'm not paying for this "SECURITY"!!
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:09 PM
Joined May 2011
6,664 Posts
Now for the kit.
The wings are cut into four pieces.
( actually 6 pcs)
Steve glued one spar and two pcs for you already.
One tail
Two elevons
Four wing spars
Some carbon to join the spars.
The body with a spar inside.
Here are a few pics of the kit