HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 18, 2012, 08:10 AM
Should've, Would've, Could've
v8truckin's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxthrottle View Post
V8 do you have a watt meter to actually tell us the numbers that are actually passing through yours? Though you have changed some wiring and connectors.
I have this 1

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10080
v8truckin is offline Find More Posts by v8truckin
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2012, 09:12 AM
You are a "go" for reentry
Maxthrottle's Avatar
High Orbit.....
Joined Jun 2009
6,219 Posts
Yes ... Yes V8.... That is what a watt meter looks like Not shopping for any as I have several.

I was more on the, "have you put your investment to use and read the numbers that are passing through this setup". If you did could you share? With the larger battery I would have used it to figure out. Your amp/hrs to confirm reasonable flight time.

When anyone gets theirs and does a test run up could they post what numbers they are getting from their setup.

Sustained (peak isn't useful):
Motor/Fan
Connectors and wire used
Battery (brand, mAh, C, Weight),
Volts, Amps, Watts
Maxthrottle is online now Find More Posts by Maxthrottle
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 18, 2012, 10:10 AM
Registered User
USA, AZ, Buckeye
Joined Feb 2010
530 Posts
I have an eagletree and will do some testing over the next few days....it will be with the purple can motors of course.
mray is offline Find More Posts by mray
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 10:50 AM
Should've, Would've, Could've
v8truckin's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxthrottle View Post
Yes ... Yes V8.... That is what a watt meter looks like Not shopping for any as I have several.

I was more on the, "have you put your investment to use and read the numbers that are passing through this setup". If you did could you share? With the larger battery I would have used it to figure out. Your amp/hrs to confirm reasonable flight time.

When anyone gets theirs and does a test run up could they post what numbers they are getting from their setup.

Sustained (peak isn't useful):
Motor/Fan
Connectors and wire used
Battery (brand, mAh, C, Weight),
Volts, Amps, Watts
Just making sure you knew what 1 looked like, since I posted those #'s earlier in the thread, with you guessed it a WATT Meter. Lol! Did not post sustained, posted peak.

2849 2200kv
4000mah gens ace 25c 6s
10awg (battery to esc)
13awg (esc to motor)

93a
2200w
21.34v

Will test the 5000mah flightmax 50c when I get home.
v8truckin is offline Find More Posts by v8truckin
Last edited by v8truckin; Jan 18, 2012 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 01:12 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8truckin View Post
I think he does n i was just gonna ask him the same to confirm his motors.

WARGASSM
black not sure ill look tonight.
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 01:13 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mray View Post
Thanks V8....sorry to make you summarize but the reason I asked is because I purchased an SU-35 from BH at the AMA show. I specifically looked to make sure the one I purchase was a "3D" version and not the standard version. It appears the difference is the standard is a 4S vs the 3D being the 6S. Is it possible those who thought they purchased the 6s actually got the standard 4S model?

I will try and pull the plane in my kit and take pics of the motor and ESC's. Box label shows this unit coming with a 2200kv motor.
no issues this IS the PNP 2200KV motors, not 4S setup.
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 01:48 PM
Flying Hazard
SU-4ever's Avatar
Spain
Joined May 2006
2,566 Posts
Can anyone tell the weight of stock 55A ESC's ?

It actually is very important and no one has given this information yet.

Thanks in advance!
SU-4ever is online now Find More Posts by SU-4ever
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 02:04 PM
Should've, Would've, Could've
v8truckin's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,515 Posts
I'll weight em when I get home, if someone hasn't done it by then.
v8truckin is offline Find More Posts by v8truckin
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 02:55 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mmarshall View Post
Well fired mine up tonight... all worked for a few mins then one of the elevator servos died...Guess I will replace both just in case.

Bummer....

Working with a 7 channel receiver and trying to figure out how best to hook it all up.

I am thinking of Y cabling the Rudder with the side to side TV and running the the up/down TV on Aux1 and Aux2 which would give me roll TV.

If I do not go this route I could just Y cable the up/down TV that put side to side on Aux1 and Up/Down Y cable on Aux2.

I am not looking to be able to disable TV I want it on all the time.

OR I could just go but an 8 channel receiver.

How do you guys have them hooked up?
TV Y-harness into Rudder / nose wheel steering.
Elevator on position #2sw, elevator and alieron on pos #3. So i can turn it off, elevator only or go full aileron and elevator.
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 03:12 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxthrottle View Post
So we are adding more battery than needed to balance. Especially if Wars Rhino 4900mAh 6S is 730g pushed way back? War, what your battery weight?

This helps. The CG has a 10mm range and its near neutral. The further out, say forward 250mm forward in the battery tray, the more the weight has an effect to counter balance. Moving it 1/2" or 13mm could mean you could use lighter batteries or stay with these batteries and not worry about heavier motors; to some degree.
My Rhino is 792 grams. 6s 4900ma. The Genace i will fly it on next weight 752grams.
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 03:14 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8truckin View Post
Seems his Rhino 4900mah is longer than the 5000mah Flightmax im using
ill measure it out tonight and upload pics.
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 04:11 PM
You are a "go" for reentry
Maxthrottle's Avatar
High Orbit.....
Joined Jun 2009
6,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SU-4ever View Post
Can anyone tell the weight of stock 55A ESC's ?

It actually is very important and no one has given this information yet.

Thanks in advance!
Shouldn't matter much since one end sits at CG. I'm guessing 70-81g.

If you descide to position them aft of the wing bar in the center channel the mean location is 100mm aft of CG-155mm so going to a 80amp ~120g ESC X 2 will go to her AUWaist line.
Maxthrottle is online now Find More Posts by Maxthrottle
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 18, 2012, 04:27 PM
You are a "go" for reentry
Maxthrottle's Avatar
High Orbit.....
Joined Jun 2009
6,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargassm View Post
My Rhino is 792 grams. 6s 4900ma. The Genace i will fly it on next weight 752grams.
Wow they're not as light as advertised (HK says 730g) but the extra 60g can help but adds less force than V8, especially if you mounted it, "way back in the tray".
The length of the battery just prevents it from moving it further forward if you had to, but you moved it back.
What's more important is where you positioned the center of the battery in the tray; distance from CG.

Are you on purple power or gold there may be a weight difference between the Fan/Motor combo's. I could see purple power being lighter needing less battery up front or same battery moved back.

V8 has a RX battery and he never said where he mounted it or how much it weighed. That could be a reason for the differences.

I just mounted the BEC/RX batt and Satellite in the nose gear bacy all nice and snug and it really counter balances. So I may be putting mine way back in the tray also.
Maxthrottle is online now Find More Posts by Maxthrottle
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 18, 2012, 04:38 PM
Registered User
Wargassm's Avatar
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Nov 2010
565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8truckin View Post
I'll weight em when I get home, if someone hasn't done it by then.
V8, are you using the same battery manufacture to fly with?

I'm going to resolder some connectors to work with 3s deans bats. i hope it will work ( pics tomorrow )

Has anyone picked up one of the Genesis batteries from Banana hobby? tested them in this plane? or in another plane?

if it doesn't rain this weekend and i get my replacement wheel, ill fly it on a Rhino ( 25c ), the genace ( 30C ) then Genesis ( 55C ) and Thunderpower ( 45C and 65C ) to compare.

Odd, BH is saying use a 25C bat, what C raiting are you using?
Wargassm is offline Find More Posts by Wargassm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2012, 05:34 PM
Should've, Would've, Could've
v8truckin's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,515 Posts
No I'm using 5000mah 50c flightmax
v8truckin is offline Find More Posts by v8truckin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion LX F-35 Vs Freewing F-35 Mmarshall Foamy EDFs 17 Yesterday 06:49 AM
Found SU-34 Freewing lw777pilot Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 1 Dec 15, 2013 01:25 PM
New Product Brand New SU-35! 70x2,TV and made by Freewing!Update:Worldwide Availability neversommer Foamy EDFs 593 Jan 09, 2012 09:02 PM
For Sale Freewing SU-34 stock battery - Brand New JGuilty13 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Nov 29, 2011 02:01 PM
For Sale Freewing SU-34 stock battery JGuilty13 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 29, 2011 10:29 AM