HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:07 AM
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2011
368 Posts
Question
Is Syma S107 a toy? Vs Serious/Hobby Level helis?

I'm new to the RC Heli world... bought a mini (3-channel) from Sams club last week, had no idea how much fun they could be. Ended up returning that one when it started losing communication with transmitter. By that time I had already started investigating other alternatives. Have read a lot of good stuff regarding the Syma S107 and there appears to be lots of mods and parts available. I've also spent a bunch of time at my local Fry's where they have about 20 different RC models from $20 to up near $200.
I did pick up a Swann Air Cruiser (3 channel).
Anyway, I stopped into a hobby shop yesterday and they have the Blade line of RCs... the guy behind the counter referred to all the other birds from Frys, etc. as toys and not hobby/serious units. Not sure if he was just being a hard butt or if there really is a flight/quality difference between say a Blade mCX2 and the Syma S107 type heli?
Are they saying all 3-channel copters are toys and not for the serious flyer?
Thanks in advance.
Oh, my Syma S107 should be here later today.
Ken
cpuken is offline Find More Posts by cpuken
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:40 AM
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum!
PRC (People's Republic of Commiefornia)
Joined Jul 2005
9,602 Posts
Don't worry about it, the Syma S107 is a great little toy heli and at a reasonable price also. All RC/IR helis are toys! regardless of the price, and all of them are manufactured in China irregardless the name label or price, so don't let yourself get sucked into the self serving sales/marketing BS, just buy what you like and what you can afford and have fun!
Doubletap is offline Find More Posts by Doubletap
Old Dec 20, 2011, 10:00 AM
Vroooom putta putta putta
Joined Feb 2011
1,092 Posts
I agree. Don't worry about comments from those belittling these "toys."