HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2012, 06:21 PM
Drifting off the reservation..
JumpySticks's Avatar
USA, LA, Broussard
Joined Jan 2011
2,294 Posts
Still trying to wrap my brain around external power for 2 cameras.
I like the gum pro but not sure about the weight. Also not sure if I can run two cameras off of one gumpro simultaneously? Can the gumpro output simply be spliced using two special cables to the cameras, or would some imbalance between the cameras blow the roof off?

I think a single cell lipo of aroung 1500 ma would be lighter, but is the voltage enough from a single cell lipo to run the two cameras? Also having difficulty finding an inexpensive charger for a single cell lipo like that. The gumpro will charge from a computer via USB.

Flummoxed and bewildered, but really wanting to "set it and forget it" for a normal 2 hour flying session.
JumpySticks is online now Find More Posts by JumpySticks
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2012, 10:33 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2003
17,196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JumpySticks View Post
Still trying to wrap my brain around external power for 2 cameras.
I like the gum pro but not sure about the weight. Also not sure if I can run two cameras off of one gumpro simultaneously? Can the gumpro output simply be spliced using two special cables to the cameras, or would some imbalance between the cameras blow the roof off?

I think a single cell lipo of aroung 1500 ma would be lighter, but is the voltage enough from a single cell lipo to run the two cameras? Also having difficulty finding an inexpensive charger for a single cell lipo like that. The gumpro will charge from a computer via USB.

Flummoxed and bewildered, but really wanting to "set it and forget it" for a normal 2 hour flying session.
You can power two cameras at once by running the wires in parallel, so each camera will see the same voltage from the battery if you keep the wires of equal gage and length. I can't recall if the current draw from a #16 has been measured exactly, but I think it should be about 300mA max. based on the #11 camera. So two of them would draw double that... 600 mA.

A 1500 mAH lipo could power both if you wired directly to the battery connection sockets in parallel, but the duration is a bit of a guess. Two cameras running in parallel for two hours will consume 1200 mAh, but the 1500 mAH lipo rating usually assumes the pack can be drained down to about 3V under heavy load (e.g. 20-25C min. curent for most cells today). But the two cameras would only be drawing about .4C... a mere trickle, so the cells would hold voltage quite well during discharge. If the #16 is similar to the #11, it will shut down when the battery voltage drops to about 3.7V or so. That means you can only extract about 80% of the rated capacity from the lipo to power the cameras. But 80% of a 1500 mAH lipo is..... 1200 mAH! TaDah! Should be pretty close to powering two cameras for two hours. You could rig up a parallel wire harness to plug into the two camera's battery sockets for easy disconnect. That would just leave finding a low cost lipo charger (Hobby King!).

The Gum Pro pack supplying power via the USB port will have losses just in the voltage regulation down to what the camera uses, so some of it's power will be given up to heating the camera! A single lipo might not be lighter if you use a high C-rated cell.... they need more plate area for those 30+ A surge currents they can deliver. But I think HK still sells some lighter, low C-rated cells that would be fine for powering these cameras. They might be lighter as well as more efficient.
Tom Frank is online now Find More Posts by Tom Frank
Last edited by Tom Frank; Jan 31, 2012 at 02:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 12:10 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2003
17,196 Posts
Boosting the #16 colors to look more like the #11

If you like the more vivid "Kodacolor" look of the #11 camera, but aren't "into" editing, this will explain a fairly simple way to boost the #16 video colors to look more like the #11 using the free AviDemux Editor. Just follow the steps in the attached screen shots... it's mostly just mouse clicks and easier than it looks! There's also more info about Avidemux linked in post #3.
If anything is not clear, give a shout and I'll clarify.
Tom Frank is online now Find More Posts by Tom Frank
Last edited by Tom Frank; Jan 31, 2012 at 01:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 05:23 AM
Reap the wild wind
headlessagain's Avatar
Bristol,UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,920 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
That would just leave finding a low cost lipo charger (Hobby King!).
Just like this one with .1 to 5 amp charge range
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...cessories.html
Shame it's on back order
headlessagain is online now Find More Posts by headlessagain
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 08:21 AM
Heli collector
livonia bob's Avatar
United States, MI, Livonia
Joined Apr 2009
16,522 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
If you like the more vivid "Kodacolor" look of the #11 camera, but aren't "into" editing, this will explain a fairly simple way to boost the #16 video colors to look more like the #11 using the free AviDemux Editor. Just follow the steps in the attached screen shots... it's mostly just mouse clicks and easier than it looks! There's also more info about Avidemux linked in post #3.
If anything is not clear, give a shout and I'll clarify.
Thank you Tom for the Avidemux for dummies instructions.. I'll try them as soon as I get my second cup of coffee....

I do like what you were able to do with my video..
livonia bob is offline Find More Posts by livonia bob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:54 AM
Drifting off the reservation..
JumpySticks's Avatar
USA, LA, Broussard
Joined Jan 2011
2,294 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
You can power two cameras at once by running the wires in parallel, so each camera will see the same volatge from the battery if you keep the wires of equal gage and length. I can't recall if the current draw from a #16 has been measured exactly, but I think it should be about 300mA max. based on the #11 camera. So two of them would draw double that... 600 mA.

A 1500 mAH lipo could power both if you wired directly to the battery connection sockets in parallel, but the duration is a bit of a guess. Two cameras running in parallel for two hours will consume 1200 mAh, but the 1500 mAH lipo rating usually assumes the pack can be drained down to about 3V under heavy load (e.g. 20-25C min. curent for most cells today). But the two cameras would only be drawing about .8C... a mere trickle, so the cells would hold voltage quite well during discharge. If the #16 is similar to the #11, it will shut down when the battery voltage drops to about 3.7V or so. That means you can only extract about 80% of the rated capacity from the lipo to power the cameras. But 80% of a 1500 mAH lipo is..... 1200 mAH! TaDah! Should be pretty close to powering two cameras for two hours. You could rig up a parallel wire harness to plug into the two camera's battery sockets for easy disconnect. That would just leave finding a low cost lipo charger (Hobby King!).

The Gum Pro pack supplying power via the USB port will have losses just in the voltage regulation down to what the camera uses, so some of it's power will be given up to heating the camera! A single lipo might not be lighter if you use a high C-rated cell.... they need more plate area for those 30+ A surge currents they can deliver. But I think HK still sells some lighter, low C-rated cells that would be fine for powering these cameras. They might be lighter as well as more efficient.
Thanks very much for the help Tom. Sorry to belabor the issue. As you know, I've been stewing on this for months and couldn't decide. The low c lipo seems the way to go. Will check Hobby King for a charger, and hopefully be done with it. Will post results if successful.
JumpySticks is online now Find More Posts by JumpySticks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 10:38 AM
seahorse41
seahorse41's Avatar
Joined Jan 2012
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
That's an interesting discovery and a bug, I think. Does it also ignore the time setting if toggled to "0"? I'll assume that any setting other than "0" will also set the date correctly.
No it only ignored the date. It was setting the time all along during my attempts.
seahorse41 is offline Find More Posts by seahorse41
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
Deutschland, BY, Kulmbach
Joined May 2011
37 Posts
problems with mp4cam2avi

Hello,
I had recorded a file greater than 2 GB and every time I want to convert it I got the following error messages: - in the middle section under the player I did not got any information of video/length/audio (Error: moov atom not found) - if I try to start conversion (Windows error message: Thread error: Invalid floating point operation.) Has anybody else problems with files bigger than 2 GB or/and a solution? Thank you

Artur
downhill is offline Find More Posts by downhill
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 11:07 AM
Ascended Master
Sparky Paul's Avatar
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,371 Posts
On one camera I tried just spaces in TAG.txt.
No change to the date/time on the video.
Tried just underlines... _____... got 5/5/2005 for the time.
It really wants to see numbers.
Sparky Paul is offline Find More Posts by Sparky Paul
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 31, 2012, 11:19 AM
Registered User
timetec's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2010
71 Posts
New #16 CMOS Module

In the post this morning arrived a sample of the new CMOS camera module for the #16



Using an A3 sheet of graph paper, pencil, ruler, a couple of pins and a protractor, I came up with a FOV of approximately 53 degrees.

The OV9712 CMOS sensor is the same, but the 7mm screw lens is different. The first thing that is apparent is the size difference of the 'primary' or first optical element.
It's exposed diameter appears noticably larger than that of the original. It also lacks a circular 'mask' ? - the thin black plastic ring that sits directly in front of the lens.

The image produced by the new module / lens combination seems to be noticably sharper and brighter, especially so indoors.
Another obvious difference is the user focusing arrangement, or rather lack of it!
The lens's plastic barrel has three recessed segments, which I assume mate with a specialist tool designed for the job - something else to make then...

It's been a terribly overcast day here with snow and hail, so no chance of taking any outdoor like-for-like footage..... yet.

Richard
timetec is offline Find More Posts by timetec
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 11:53 AM
seahorse41
seahorse41's Avatar
Joined Jan 2012
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasuno View Post
You should just do what you said. Take off your helmet put recording on and put your helmet.
That is not really practical if you understood the conditions I am in. Excuse me mr drunk speeder going 50 mph, I'd like you to stop your car for a few seconds while I make sure my camera is started, before you come within 2 feet of wiping me out.
And the faster they are going in the 25 mph residential neighborhood, the less time I have to get the camera started. I'd rather not go into details on this kind of forum.

I've been searching for a one-touch-record cam for 4 years, and this is the closest I have found so far. The low price point is not the only consideration!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasuno View Post
I think it can't be possible with such a small memory to include all the parmeters we want,
No of course not. But I tried to show how this can be a small change, thus possible.
And I know it doesn't use BASIC, but it has been 25 years since I spoke assembly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasuno View Post
Btw, I'm interested in how you attach it to your helmet. I would like to see some photos.
Oops, I'm sorry I didn't see your nice question earlier.
I put a strip of 3M velcro (permanent kind) to the brim, and use the supplied velcro for the bottom of the 808. I also cover the usb port with black electrical tape that folds back for recharging and data download. Also decreases visibility that I have the cam there.
http://seahorseCorral.org/images/tem..._4643-800e.jpg
seahorse41 is offline Find More Posts by seahorse41
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 12:17 PM
808 lover
kasuno's Avatar
Espaņa, CT, Barcelona
Joined Dec 2011
66 Posts
Sadly I can't put it like that on my helmet, it's more like a bike helmet. But I found a really interesting post in spanish I think it could help someone.

http://ciclismo.nuestrodeporte.es/p/...tcam.html#usos

I will use one of the mounts he uses.
kasuno is offline Find More Posts by kasuno
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 12:49 PM
Registered User
gittarpikk's Avatar
United States, TN, Maryville
Joined Jun 2008
619 Posts
Lens

I read the first 4 and have been sort of following over the last month but I did not see if there was a replacement lens available yet...or is the camera /cable assembly to represent that

one more question... I have an XP computer and will probably need to request the AVI version (if its recommended yet) . If not, I will have to convert it with the file on the first four posts...then edit the file.

I have added something I downloaded to XP to allow files to be saved in several HD files forms so I can upload to youtube. Will I get good results?

I have a Sony Bloggie (swivel head)which saves in .mov so I ran it through anyvideo converter to change to avi but have yet to get satisfactory . My user name on youtube is gittarpikk and the last 2 movies I posted were done this way...and you will see its very poor quality.

Will I be running into same issue on this #16?

I did not spot this being addressed in the other pages of the thread..maybe I missed it.
gittarpikk is offline Find More Posts by gittarpikk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
pgoelz's Avatar
United States, MI, Rochester Hills
Joined Oct 2000
916 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gittarpikk View Post
one more question... I have an XP computer and will probably need to request the AVI version (if its recommended yet) . If not, I will have to convert it with the file on the first four posts...then edit the file.
Search for "ffdshow beta". This is a well designed codec pack that includes (among many other things) a good h.264 codec and should be able to play the #16 MOV files on your XP box providing you have the processing horsepower. Quicktime might also be able to play them.

Paul
pgoelz is offline Find More Posts by pgoelz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 01:27 PM
Ascended Master
Sparky Paul's Avatar
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgoelz View Post
Search for "ffdshow beta". This is a well designed codec pack that includes (among many other things) a good h.264 codec and should be able to play the #16 MOV files on your XP box providing you have the processing horsepower. Quicktime might also be able to play them.

Paul
.
Quicktime plays the .mov files I get from the #16.
And I change them to .avi and .mp4 in Studio 15.
Sparky Paul is offline Find More Posts by Sparky Paul
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The REAL (#11) HD Key Cam Thread (PLEASE! READ POSTS #1-#3 BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS!) Tom Frank Aerial Photography 9936 Feb 11, 2014 09:56 AM
Discussion Looking to buy #11 HD Key Cam within US Abolfazl Aerial Photography 1 Feb 14, 2012 01:59 AM
Poll Poll For Current and Future #11 HD Key Cam Users Tom Frank Aerial Photography 0 Sep 25, 2011 11:55 PM
Discussion New HD Key Cam CHAMP? 1080x720p 3 HOUR RECORD TIME! Jaybee Aerial Photography 4 Jun 02, 2011 11:39 AM