HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 13, 2011, 01:42 PM
Coaxial to CP? *shrugs*
ShaneXman's Avatar
United States, CA, Laguna Niguel
Joined Nov 2011
893 Posts
Discussion
Does Phoenix SIM support the Walkera Devo 8?

How's it going all? Is anyone on here using the Devo 8 successfully with Phoenix flight simulator?

I noticed on their website, it states the following:

Quote:
Phoenix is supplied with its own USB interface which must be connected to the training port of a compatible radio/transmitter in order to successfully control the simulated models. Some makes/models of radio may require an extra adaptor. A full list of compatible radios can be found below:

Walkera 2401, 2601 (Using "MINI-DIN adaptor" supplied with transmitter)

Walkera 2402, 2602 ("Walkera 2801 adaptor" required)

Walkera 2801 ("Walkera 2801 adaptor" required)


Please note that the following transmitters are not supported:

All Walkera except 2401, 2601, 2402, 2602 and 2801 (see above)

It doesn't appear so, but I thought I would post up to see if anybody has found a way (or if Phoenix's site isn't up-to-date). Please let me know, as any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers!


-Shane
ShaneXman is offline Find More Posts by ShaneXman
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 13, 2011, 02:24 PM
2 seconds from crashing
indoorheli's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
7,349 Posts
Not a 100% but after looking at the sim plug on the devo8 it looks the same as the 2801 plug.
indoorheli is offline Find More Posts by indoorheli
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV - DRQ250 and a little speed
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 07:55 PM
Registered User
OnceAFly's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Oct 2011
847 Posts
I got my devo 6 working without problem with phoenix.
OnceAFly is offline Find More Posts by OnceAFly
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 08:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
96 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by indoorheli View Post
Not a 100% but after looking at the sim plug on the devo8 it looks the same as the 2801 plug.
100% for sure, it is same as TX2801 PRO .
hobbyone.com.hk is offline Find More Posts by hobbyone.com.hk
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:25 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
it works, just tested it on my devo 8.. i have a "third party" dongle though.. it works with 4 or 5 different sims.

edit; if anyone wants to share their throttle/pitch curve please post them.. still trying to fiddle around with it.
scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Last edited by scub; Dec 14, 2011 at 05:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 02:28 AM
Perpetually covered in resin
RawmadeCF's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2011
555 Posts
Yeah itll work.
RawmadeCF is offline Find More Posts by RawmadeCF
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 11:20 AM
Coaxial to CP? *shrugs*
ShaneXman's Avatar
United States, CA, Laguna Niguel
Joined Nov 2011
893 Posts
SWEET! I just installed Windows on my Mac, so now all I need is Phoenix and the dongle. Can somebody say Christmas present?

Thank you all for your help and for verifying the compatibility. Cheers, and Happy Holidays.


-Shane
ShaneXman is offline Find More Posts by ShaneXman
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2011, 10:37 PM
Registered User
North Bergen , NJ
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
ok what dongle are you guys using ? do i still need that adapter like the phoenix one they offer ?
jlefty is offline Find More Posts by jlefty
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:35 PM
Coaxial to CP? *shrugs*
ShaneXman's Avatar
United States, CA, Laguna Niguel
Joined Nov 2011
893 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlefty View Post
ok what dongle are you guys using ? do i still need that adapter like the phoenix one they offer ?
Here are a few different ones that have been suggested to me...

4-IN-1 USB 2.0 Flight Simulator Dongle - http://www.helibuy.com/4in1-simulator-cable-p-758.html

12-in-1 USB 2.0 Almighty Flight Simulator Dongle - http://www.dealextreme.com/p/usb-2-0...r-dongle-51480


I don't know anything about these dongles (good, bad or indifferent), I am merely passing along information I have received.


-Shane
ShaneXman is offline Find More Posts by ShaneXman
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:44 PM
Perpetually covered in resin
RawmadeCF's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2011
555 Posts
I assume you just need a dongle because you lost your legit retail one..so PMed =P
RawmadeCF is offline Find More Posts by RawmadeCF
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 05:10 PM
Registered User
North Bergen , NJ
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
yes of course


Quote:
Originally Posted by RawmadeCF View Post
I assume you just need a dongle because you lost your legit retail one..so PMed =P
jlefty is offline Find More Posts by jlefty
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 08:09 PM
Coaxial to CP? *shrugs*
ShaneXman's Avatar
United States, CA, Laguna Niguel
Joined Nov 2011
893 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RawmadeCF View Post
I assume you just need a dongle because you lost your legit retail one..so PMed =P
Nope, I never mentioned I needed a dongle, I was just asking if Phoenix supported the Walkera Devo 8.

My wife purchased Phoenix V3 directly from Horizon Hobby, so I should have the legit retail one in the box. Thanks anyways.


-Shane
ShaneXman is offline Find More Posts by ShaneXman
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 02:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
143 Posts
I'm getting a Devo 10 next week. Is it simply a matter of plugging in the default dongle that comes with Phoenix into the Devo 10's trainer port?
Zoide is offline Find More Posts by Zoide
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 10:40 AM
Perpetually covered in resin
RawmadeCF's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2011
555 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoide View Post
I'm getting a Devo 10 next week. Is it simply a matter of plugging in the default dongle that comes with Phoenix into the Devo 10's trainer port?
Yes, then calibrate all the sticks and switches in Phoenix.
I used my Devo 12S for Phoenix 3 and 4 but switched over to the J6 since ive got 2 and can keep it as a dedicated sim TX.
RawmadeCF is offline Find More Posts by RawmadeCF
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 10:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
143 Posts
Great, thanks
Zoide is offline Find More Posts by Zoide
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Walkera V200D03+DEVO 8 6ch helicopter! one01 Micro Helis 1122 Jul 14, 2014 09:22 AM
For Sale Walkera rtf genius cp with devo 8 nib 200.00 shipped (scam?) Hot_Wheels Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 46 Oct 16, 2011 05:08 AM
Mini-Review My first impression of the walkera Genius with devo 8 USMC0351CPLRICCI Micro Helis 41 Oct 11, 2011 04:34 PM
Sold Walkera rtf genius cp with devo 8 nib 200.00 shipped Lbzracing909 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 30, 2011 08:19 PM
Discussion Walkera V200D03 with DEVO 8 Transmitter, Upgraded 4F200LM oomodel.com Micro Helis 1 Aug 27, 2011 04:26 AM