HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2012, 12:17 PM
Registered User
brifa's Avatar
ITALY
Joined Aug 2006
418 Posts
could you post a picture of your prop stopper (better a picture with the prop mounted on the motor).. thank you...
Quote:
Originally Posted by xviper View Post
That's not good. My second flight ended prematurely as the motor ripped out and I had to rush the landing. Made a prop stopper from an old credit card. Don't let each blade fold more than straight back.
brifa is offline Find More Posts by brifa
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2012, 12:26 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,470 Posts
http://www.espritmodel.com/aeronaut-...ack-turbo.aspx
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 08, 2012, 12:57 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
6,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brifa View Post
could you post a picture of your prop stopper (better a picture with the prop mounted on the motor).. thank you...
The first picture shows my prop stopper made from 2 layers of an old credit card (spinner off). The second picture shows as far as the blades will fold.
The Espritmodel prop stoppers are great but they come in "one size fits all" and the one I got didn't work on mine. It was too short and didn't reach far enough to touch the base of the blade and did nothing. If you have the Espritmodel yoke and spinner, it'll work but if you have a different kind like I do, it may not. I use their stopper on my 3-blade but that yoke & spinner are from Esprit.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 01:06 PM
Wats the worst that can happen
TheCure's Avatar
Canada, BC, Surrey
Joined Jan 2009
513 Posts
That's what I was afraid of as well.
I'll make mine from a credit card. Good idea.
I'll have to put it back on the balancer again. {sigh}
TheCure is online now Find More Posts by TheCure
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Mods to My RC Electronics
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 01:21 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
6,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCure View Post
That's what I was afraid of as well.
I'll make mine from a credit card. Good idea.
I'll have to put it back on the balancer again. {sigh}
The small mass of the prop stopper is concentrated at or near the center of the prop. It won't affect balance enough to worry about. Besides, most X8's have a relatively low kv motor, so the max rpm isn't that high.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 04:56 PM
Registered User
brifa's Avatar
ITALY
Joined Aug 2006
418 Posts
Thanks
about esc setting... should i set up it with brake?? or not??
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by xviper View Post
The first picture shows my prop stopper made from 2 layers of an old credit card (spinner off). The second picture shows as far as the blades will fold.
The Espritmodel prop stoppers are great but they come in "one size fits all" and the one I got didn't work on mine. It was too short and didn't reach far enough to touch the base of the blade and did nothing. If you have the Espritmodel yoke and spinner, it'll work but if you have a different kind like I do, it may not. I use their stopper on my 3-blade but that yoke & spinner are from Esprit.
brifa is offline Find More Posts by brifa
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,470 Posts
Yes, always set the brake. A freewheeling prop exerts almost as much drag
as a solid disk of the same diameter.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 08, 2012, 05:32 PM
Registered User
brifa's Avatar
ITALY
Joined Aug 2006
418 Posts
a little off topic... also on the skywalker??
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Yes, always set the brake. A freewheeling prop exerts almost as much drag
as a solid disk of the same diameter.

ian
brifa is offline Find More Posts by brifa
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 05:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
202 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brifa View Post
a little off topic... also on the skywalker??
I had no idea Ian - how loose should the blades be - just a tad resistance when folding forward and back?

Cheers
VizBizTas is offline Find More Posts by VizBizTas
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 05:55 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,470 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brifa View Post
a little off topic... also on the skywalker??
Yes always. The only time you don't set the ESC brake on an electric is if you really
want the extra drag to slow down, or on any rotor-craft.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizBizTas View Post
I had no idea Ian - how loose should the blades be - just a tad resistance when folding forward and back?
Either totally free, or *tiny* bit of resistance. It needs to fold back with the wind easily.
And any stiction can cause one rather violent shake as you throttle up.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 08, 2012, 06:01 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
6,435 Posts
About the only time you want the brake OFF is with an RC helicopter (so it can auto-rotate with least resistance) or if you want a bit of "air braking" effect on a fixed prop airplane. Don't know about RC boats or cars.
I had the brake OFF on one of my other sailplanes recently and even with a folding prop, it just kept spinning when the motor was shut down, blades did not fold from wind pressure. Looks kinda weird.
There should be just enough pressure to hold the blades of a folding prop on so that when you bench test and hold the airplane vertical, gravity should be able to fold the blades.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 09:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
202 Posts
Hi all - I have added my Skew Plain antenna and a few new pictures.

Not sure if the antenna is to high... Thoughts...?

http://www.facebook.com/groups/projectbigbird
VizBizTas is offline Find More Posts by VizBizTas
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 10:02 PM
dave2525
dave2046's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Caringbah South
Joined Dec 2011
75 Posts
X8 wing model for Clearview flight simulator... can anyone make this??? I would love to have my bird on a flight SIM
dave2046 is offline Find More Posts by dave2046
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 10:06 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
6,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizBizTas View Post
Hi all - I have added my Skew Plain antenna and a few new pictures.

Not sure if the antenna is to high... Thoughts...?

http://www.facebook.com/groups/projectbigbird
You should just attach your pictures to your post. Going to that Facebook link doesn't show any pictures unless I "join the group". Sorry, but too much crap shows up when you join groups on Facefook.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 12:03 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,470 Posts
Agreed. Not everyone is a member, nor wants to be a member of the Facebook collective.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product X8---new 2.4GHz Radio System ASSAN Radios 5708 Jun 25, 2014 01:20 PM
For Sale Assan 2.4 ghz X8 6ch receiver Brand New Scooter33 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Oct 12, 2011 09:34 AM
Discussion Any info regarding this x8 setup?Better than coax x8? sjak Multirotor Talk 11 Aug 14, 2011 08:33 AM
Sold New Assan Module X8 2.4 for JR Tx norstaroption Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Nov 21, 2009 05:42 AM
Sold New - 4 (Four) ASSAN X8 R6 6Ch 2.4GHz Receivers - $105 EyeFlyPlanes Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 20, 2008 02:39 AM