HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 16, 2012, 10:04 PM
Registered User
danpos's Avatar
Canada, NB, Fredericton
Joined Dec 2011
680 Posts
"Tried flaps, but didn't notice huge drop in speed. Maybe you know since you did the mod Merlin, standard flaps at 125%( max throw on Spektrum DX6i) only go down about 30+ degrees. Is that normal for these? How can I get more out of them?"

I found that the servo arms were not aligned right from the factory.
After I moved the arms and adjusted the rods for maximum throw
I achieved full flaps.

I set the arms at the direction limit back to begin with.
Meaning that I started at full non flaps, leaving full direction forward.


And I agree that the flaps aren't very effective until they are at full throw.
Once you get full flaps it will float right in for a nice slow landing.

I didn't do the flap mod but did you have full flaps before the mod?
There wasn't any way I could until I moved the servo arms.
danpos is online now Find More Posts by danpos
Last edited by danpos; Aug 16, 2012 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 17, 2012, 06:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
97 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griphin View Post
As promised Smooth enough in and out even with gravity against it. The other retract isn't so perfect but fine when the right way up and it does have gravity to help a bit. Axles are the main extra weight. Prob can't see it but this way the wheels rake more forward too.
I hope this works on grass.
Griphin

Mate, that looks really neat and tidy. Please keep us posted on how they go once you get it back up in the air. Thanks for posting the photos.

Darren
013531 is offline Find More Posts by 013531
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 10:47 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danpos View Post
"Tried flaps, but didn't notice huge drop in speed. Maybe you know since you did the mod Merlin, standard flaps at 125%( max throw on Spektrum DX6i) only go down about 30+ degrees. Is that normal for these? How can I get more out of them?"

I found that the servo arms were not aligned right from the factory.
After I moved the arms and adjusted the rods for maximum throw
I achieved full flaps.

I set the arms at the direction limit back to begin with.
Meaning that I started at full non flaps, leaving full direction forward.


And I agree that the flaps aren't very effective until they are at full throw.
Once you get full flaps it will float right in for a nice slow landing.

I didn't do the flap mod but did you have full flaps before the mod?
There wasn't any way I could until I moved the servo arms.
I haven't done the mod yet. I just wanted to fly the thing as is. I'm curious though, how did you go about adjusting the servo arms themselves, and what holes on the horns are you using? I wonder if I should move control rod to inner holes on both flap and servo. Would that make a difference? Thanks
Bucksterpup is offline Find More Posts by Bucksterpup
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 11:06 AM
Registered User
danpos's Avatar
Canada, NB, Fredericton
Joined Dec 2011
680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucksterpup View Post
I haven't done the mod yet. I just wanted to fly the thing as is. I'm curious though, how did you go about adjusting the servo arms themselves, and what holes on the horns are you using? I wonder if I should move control rod to inner holes on both flap and servo. Would that make a difference? Thanks
I adjusted the servo arms by:
1-first turning on the radio and plugging in the battery in the Corsair.
2-remove the screws that hold the servo arms on and move them on the servo until they are back one notch from pointing straight up from the wing.
3-adjust the clevis and use the holes as shown in the picture.
4-unplug your battery in the plane and make certain that you aren't overthrowing your servos. They should move the entire distance either direction without binding.
5-plug your battery back in and use your end point adjustments on the radio to
set the flaps level with the wing and full flsps without binding the other direction.

Sorry about the picture quality.
Good luck.
danpos is online now Find More Posts by danpos
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 12:06 PM
Registered User
taz101's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Oxenford
Joined Oct 2010
1,983 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by danpos View Post
I adjusted the servo arms by:
1-first turning on the radio and plugging in the battery in the Corsair.
2-remove the screws that hold the servo arms on and move them on the servo until they are back one notch from pointing straight up from the wing.
3-adjust the clevis and use the holes as shown in the picture.
4-unplug your battery in the plane and make certain that you aren't overthrowing your servos. They should move the entire distance either direction without binding.
5-plug your battery back in and use your end point adjustments on the radio to
set the flaps level with the wing and full flsps without binding the other direction.

Sorry about the picture quality.
Good luck.
If you move the rod to the inner hole on the control horn you will get more movement!!

LURCH
taz101 is offline Find More Posts by taz101
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 12:08 PM
Never Trade Luck for Skill
MERLIN V16's Avatar
United States, FL, North Port
Joined Jan 2005
12,903 Posts
It will help but the secret is a longer arm on the servo.
MERLIN V16 is offline Find More Posts by MERLIN V16
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 01:43 PM
Registered User
danpos's Avatar
Canada, NB, Fredericton
Joined Dec 2011
680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz101 View Post
If you move the rod to the inner hole on the control horn you will get more movement!!

LURCH
True, but the flaps can't open up more than they are now. The hinge doesn't allow it to open up any more than it is.
I unhooked the control arm and measured it.

I set it up like that because I hand launch and belly land in grass.
The grass kept getting caught up in the servo horn when I was using the top hole. I was afraid that it would tear the foam flap hinge in time.
Since I changed holes it doesn't get caught up in the grass anymore.
If I land it right with a slight flair as I touch down it will glide along the top of the grass now, instead of screeching to a halt in a clump of grass.

Between it being my first Warbird and radio failure my Corsair has been taking a serious beating all year.
Despite at least four major repairs (major meaning at least three pcs) it will still fly straight and level.


One tough bird. ha ha
danpos is online now Find More Posts by danpos
Last edited by danpos; Aug 17, 2012 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
muscleflex's Avatar
Leeds, UK
Joined Nov 2004
1,347 Posts
i'm waiting for hobbyking to have this back in stock in the UK.

Has anyone ever modded theirs to have a folding wing?
muscleflex is online now Find More Posts by muscleflex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 03:37 PM
Registered User
danpos's Avatar
Canada, NB, Fredericton
Joined Dec 2011
680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscleflex View Post
i'm waiting for hobbyking to have this back in stock in the UK.

Has anyone ever modded theirs to have a folding wing?
I did a couple times.
With enough epoxy and boiling water I was able to get it back where it should be.


Sorry, couldn't help it.
danpos is online now Find More Posts by danpos
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 03:54 PM
Registered User
muscleflex's Avatar
Leeds, UK
Joined Nov 2004
1,347 Posts
haha - just buy a new one!


would a Hobbyking Orange 3Axis help in flying this? Make it easier to fly for a newbie?
muscleflex is online now Find More Posts by muscleflex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 04:25 PM
Luck is my skill
queadlunnrau's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Jun 2009
1,140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by muscleflex View Post
haha - just buy a new one!


would a Hobbyking Orange 3Axis help in flying this? Make it easier to fly for a newbie?
Not really, those 3Axis gyro's help with outside forces like wind and gusts, but they don't fly the plane for you nor level it out for you. Would only help a newbie if that newbie is bold and flies in strong wind.

I have 2 installed. One in a small FMS 800mm corsair running 114mph, it helps keep that bird steady when I make speed passes. My second one is in a 55" pattern plane and helps knife edges and 4-point rolls.
queadlunnrau is offline Find More Posts by queadlunnrau
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 05:36 PM
Registered User
danpos's Avatar
Canada, NB, Fredericton
Joined Dec 2011
680 Posts
Flying in the wind helps you learn valuable flying skills.
Typically I take the Corsair with me every time I go to the field and since
I have six batteries for it so I have tons of flying on this plane.

Funny thing is that this is the first plane I bought, thinking it would be a good trainer.
I guess it worked because after flying this so many times I haven't crashed my 1400mm FMS P-47, Windrider Hawker Hurricane, or E-flite P-51B.
But I bet I will now since I mentioned it. ha ha

Lost a FMS 1400mm JU-87 due to ESC failure.
Almost lost the Hurricane re-using the same ESC recovered from the crash.
Luckily it failed on the ground this time instead of in the air.
Radio failure crashed the Corsair.

Cheap electronics have caused more crashes than lack of flying ability.
So yes I guess I am. I have much to learn!
danpos is online now Find More Posts by danpos
Last edited by danpos; Aug 17, 2012 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 05:52 PM
Dont be divided from the truth
Dangaras's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Mar 2010
3,216 Posts
Well said. 99% of crashes are pilot error, dont blame the model or the electronics. Its either something we did or didnt do to make sure tete would be a safe take off and landing. That excludes dumb thumb, hot dogging of mid air events.

It is amazing how much better you fly if one takes responsability for ones own mistakes.

Great to hear this corsair is so well liked, I really like flying her.

P.s. would you fly in a full scale version without exhaustive pre-flight checks?
Dangaras is offline Find More Posts by Dangaras
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 06:32 PM
Registered User
GiusedtoBe's Avatar
Tennessee
Joined Apr 2009
5,479 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangaras View Post
Well said. 99% of crashes are pilot error, dont blame the model or the electronics. Its either something we did or didnt do to make sure tete would be a safe take off and landing. That excludes dumb thumb, hot dogging of mid air events.

It is amazing how much better you fly if one takes responsability for ones own mistakes.

Great to hear this corsair is so well liked, I really like flying her.

P.s. would you fly in a full scale version without exhaustive pre-flight checks?
I've found that the RC pilots that will admit when a crash is their fault is definitely the minority.
GiusedtoBe is offline Find More Posts by GiusedtoBe
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 06:40 PM
Never Trade Luck for Skill
MERLIN V16's Avatar
United States, FL, North Port
Joined Jan 2005
12,903 Posts
And that is a Minority I am in!
MERLIN V16 is offline Find More Posts by MERLIN V16
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Durafly 1100mm P-51D Mustang anj4de Electric Warbirds 4638 Aug 25, 2014 07:55 PM
Discussion Parkzone f4u corsair VS Airfield f4u corsair Hoopsta17_99 Electric Warbirds 54 Mar 16, 2012 08:11 PM
Discussion Comparison between FMS 1.4m Spitfire or Durafly HK 1.4 Spitire Fidy$Trainer Electric Warbirds 5 Jan 11, 2012 06:36 AM
Discussion HK 1100mm P-47 captjoey42 Electric Warbirds 2 Nov 04, 2011 11:43 AM
Question ME-109, Spitfire, F4U Corsair, F4U Corsair, or P-51D Mustang, best flyer??? zippiz GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 85 Dec 30, 2004 11:32 AM