Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:04 PM
Go Ugly Early
Azle, TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,128 Posts
Yippee!
First Pefect Landing Today!

I GREASED A LANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There. Had to get it out of my system. I took my (US Army) GWS Beaver out today, and after many attempts to correct the CoG, got it spot on today for some stick time in the back pasture. Time to land, and I kept in mind what some of you have said in posts, and articles. I managed the throttle more than the elevator, and it smoothed right in at <1/4 throttle...let it decsend gently, and just as it touched down, fed some up elevator...didn't even bounce!

I know I've been in this hobby for a year now (so maybe not technically a total noob)...even though I've had virtually no flights in over 6 months. Just as I was really progressing, we had another baby, then our nasty Texas summer hit. Then, windy spring. So I'm back in trainer-plane-beginner-mode. I know some people take to landing like a fish to water...but that has been my biggest struggle with larger planes.

Anyway...I'm pumped right now!
The Hog Pen is offline Find More Posts by The Hog Pen
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2011, 10:33 PM
Look out below
United States, OR, McMinnville
Joined Aug 2011
1,153 Posts
great job. I have just been building and repairing, too cold or wet to fly.
mcnowhere is online now Find More Posts by mcnowhere
Old Dec 11, 2011, 07:47 AM
United States, MI, Monroe
Joined Jun 2009
1,977 Posts
Nice, Hog Pen, it takes a lot of practice. Sweet landings are the shiz. I only use gear because to me take off's and landings are a big part of the flight experience. Most of my landing now are decent, some are just a joy to see, and some I'm glad nobody saw them. Good practice is to run a lot of passes down the runway slower and slower, then some touch and go's, ,which I still can't get to look that pretty.
Tony K is offline Find More Posts by Tony K
Old Dec 11, 2011, 08:54 AM
This is NOT a TOY?
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Jul 2011