HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
2 Posts
power input to board

My problem as a beginner: the Crius multiwii SE board with FTDI gives all kind of beeps and leds but no reaction of the quadcopter motors. I cannot see an input connection for the power supply as I see in other boards. All newbuis guides miss thar point. Any help is welcome
Frans48 is offline Find More Posts by Frans48
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 28, 2013, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frans48 View Post
My problem as a beginner: the Crius multiwii SE board with FTDI gives all kind of beeps and leds but no reaction of the quadcopter motors. I cannot see an input connection for the power supply as I see in other boards. All newbuis guides miss thar point. Any help is welcome
Connection for power supply ?
Board get power from ESC connections
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 02:20 PM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frans48 View Post
My problem as a beginner: the Crius multiwii SE board with FTDI gives all kind of beeps and leds but no reaction of the quadcopter motors. I cannot see an input connection for the power supply as I see in other boards. All newbuis guides miss thar point. Any help is welcome
Many ftdi connections will not power the Rx or other parts, just the board.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 11:14 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Hi guys ... still no luck no configure my copter to fly and stay in air normally
I Use TURNIGY Plush 30amp http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...idProduct=2164
and D2822/17 Brushless Motor http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=18967

Who has TURNIGY Plush ESC ? Does they better work with SimonK firmware ?
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 11:36 AM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,879 Posts
can you post a screen shot of the sketch you are using ?
what exactly is your quad doing ?or not doing correctly?
are you getting a couple feet off the floor?you need get up out the prop wash .

have you tried it outside yet?if this is your first quad flying indoors might be too intimidating for you to get a good feel for it .
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 12:02 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
This is my second quad, ( I lost my first quad )
This quad have another components.
Recent one rise in air but it don't hangs in air, it every time fly or in right, or in left etc ...
Such feeling that gyro (Brain) give wrong command to ESC, or ESC spin wrong motors.
If I bow quad in ai it will stay in the same position and fly in that direction, It don't stabilize properly. (PID values are standart)
I tried whit LPF from default to minimum. the same sh**
ok my Radio swim between 1495-1505 value, but this cannot be such big problem right ? my old copter rise in air with the same radio and flew pretty stable but not like this one,
My old board was Crius MW SE, recent one is Crius MV LE (with MPU6050)
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 12:27 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,879 Posts
sounds like you dont have motors plugged in in right places .make sure you have them plugged in like diagram ,also make sure they are turning in the correct directions .you can reverse any motor by just swapping 2 esc leads around .

http://www.robson.fr/wp-content/uplo...d-v4-22-12.pdf

check your work .motor setup is at link ,scroll down .
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 01:17 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Look how my motor spins ... http://ialex.info/02.jpg
I cannot understand, what is broken.
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 02:13 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,879 Posts
have you calibrated the esc`s?

looks like they are not equal .


Calibrating each ESC individually



The ESC calibration must be done using the same radio system that will be used on the multirotor and done individually for each ESC. To do the calibration, e.g. on the recommended Turnigy Plush ESCs, follow the given steps (these are also provided in the ESC instruction manual):


1. Connect the ESC to the throttle channel of the receiver. Have a motor connected to the ESC as the motor will provide beeps necessary to hear the calibration steps. DO NOT attach the propeller or anything else to the motor; simply have the motor connected to the ESC.

2. Turn on the radio and put the throttle stick to maximum position.

3. Now connect the ESC to the battery.

4. The motor should beep a 1 2 3 beep followed by two short beeps. Immediately after the two short beeps, put the throttle stick down all the way, the motors should make 3 short beeps (representing the 3 cells of the battery) and then finally make a 1 long beep, indicating that the throttle range has been set (calibrated).


.
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 02:30 PM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
Look how my motor spins ... http://ialex.info/02.jpg
I cannot understand, what is broken.
You do realize that you have not enabled self-level, you are flying 100% in rate mode with that config.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2013, 11:49 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
#brontide what do you mean ? this board is LE
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2013, 12:05 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,879 Posts
he means in the picture of your gui you do not have self level(acc) turned on .
if it was on it would be lit green up top where it says acc.thats all .
i still think you need to calibrate those esc`s.
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2013, 12:05 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
ESC was calibrated for sure, how to enable ACC ?

Sensors is MPU-6050 Six-Axis (Gyro + Accelerometer)
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Last edited by MrDeath; Mar 04, 2013 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2013, 12:48 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,879 Posts
do you have a spare channel on your transmitter?
if so you hook gear channel from receiver to d8 on the wii board .then you go in configh and define this

/********************************* Aux 2 Pin ***********************************/
/* possibility to use PIN8 or PIN12 as the AUX2 RC input (only one, not both)
it deactivates in this case the POWER PIN (pin 12) or the BUZZER PIN (pin 8) */
#define RCAUXPIN8
//#define RCAUXPIN12

then in your gui you click on box in aux 1 and set it to low or high ,then hit write .

if your tx has a gear switch it should now control acc(self level).go in gui and with radio in hand flip the gear switch and see if it is working(acc turn green )and which way it is working .


if your tx does not have extra channel you can turn on acc in gui by selecting all 3 (click on all 3 low,mid high under acc) then hit write . it should be green(active) now .

i believe thats how you do it .brontide should be by to confirm .

ps- in the picture you posted of gui it doesnt look like your gyros are working either .(all lines flat in display and zero`s across board ) if you pick quad up and move around while in gui do the lines move around in display?
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2013, 01:04 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by helizrnew2me View Post
do you have a spare channel on your transmitter?
if so you hook gear channel from receiver to d8 on the wii board .then you go in configh and define this

/********************************* Aux 2 Pin ***********************************/
/* possibility to use PIN8 or PIN12 as the AUX2 RC input (only one, not both)
it deactivates in this case the POWER PIN (pin 12) or the BUZZER PIN (pin 8) */
#define RCAUXPIN8
//#define RCAUXPIN12

then in your gui you click on box in aux 1 and set it to low or high ,then hit write .

if your tx has a gear switch it should now control acc(self level).go in gui and with radio in hand flip the gear switch and see if it is working(acc turn green )and which way it is working .


if your tx does not have extra channel you can turn on acc in gui by selecting all 3 (click on all 3 low,mid high under acc) then hit write . it should be green(active) now .

i believe thats how you do it .brontide should be by to confirm .

ps- in the picture you posted of gui it doesnt look like your gyros are working either .(all lines flat in display and zero`s across board ) if you pick quad up and move around while in gui do the lines move around in display?
Thx for reply,
I will try after I'll write back
About gyro, yes it works. gyro is ok for now ....
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Full Foxtech AIO Glasses Review Guizmo12 FPV Equipment 1321 Sep 09, 2014 10:24 PM
Sold Arduino / MultiWii / Megapirates Boards 3rdeyepro Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Dec 03, 2011 08:43 PM
Wanted MSR 5in1 boards and MCPX 3in boards beachflyer Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Nov 22, 2011 09:14 PM
Discussion Foxtech AIO goggles RX? Teamsherman FPV Talk 2 Oct 02, 2011 10:06 AM
Sold 3 x PCB boards for multiwii copter for $28 madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Sep 06, 2011 06:53 AM