SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:48 PM
Registered User
Austria
Joined Jan 2004
7,698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
But How about model of Chip gyro/accel ?
I never read that there is a difference between these two chips ... 2 chips or 1 chip that does both ... make not much difference

All are i2c chips ... so no difference in performance

The 6050 works fine on my multiwii clone from HK

e_lm_70 is online now Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:35 PM
Splat
United States, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jul 2007
399 Posts
If i were buying a new controller, I would opt for the one with the MPU 6050. It is supposed to be the ITG 3200 gyro and Accelerometer in a single package. The ITG 3200 is supposed to be better performing than the ITG3205 part. Also, because the Gyro and Accelerometer are in one package there is no potential for misalignment due to how the parts are soldered to the board. The Gyro and Accelometer are automatically aligned. Soon Invensense will make the part with the Gyro, Accellerometer and Magnetometer all in one package available, which will be ever better IMHO.
PLC77 is offline Find More Posts by PLC77
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 12:30 AM
Registered User
ssatoru's Avatar
Chiba, Japan
Joined Jan 2002
1,044 Posts
Adding MAG and Baro to Lite

I tried GY-651 sensor board on old Crius Lite to add mag and baro. It fits perfectly and worked fine.

This adds HMC5883L mag and BMP085 baro. It is available as low as $12.5 or so shipped at ebay.

I simply soldered all 5 pins and enabled those sensors in config.h, adjusted mag direction. No I2C errors without adjusting pull-ups.

Sensors and FCs are becoming amazingly affordable!

Satoru
ssatoru is offline Find More Posts by ssatoru
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:07 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
What kind of motor/ESC do you use ?
Is better to take with many KV or less ? let say for 0.5kg of weight of quadcopter.

Also which ESC I must use for motor ?

Thx
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Last edited by MrDeath; Nov 29, 2012 at 03:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:43 AM
Wait...what?
gbmarsh's Avatar
Canada, BC, Abbotsford
Joined Sep 2010
1,025 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssatoru View Post
I tried GY-651 sensor board on old Crius Lite to add mag and baro. It fits perfectly and worked fine.

This adds HMC5883L mag and BMP085 baro. It is available as low as $12.5 or so shipped at ebay.

I simply soldered all 5 pins and enabled those sensors in config.h, adjusted mag direction. No I2C errors without adjusting pull-ups.

Sensors and FCs are becoming amazingly affordable!

Satoru
Very cool!!
I just ordered one to try on my Crius Lite, thanks for the tip!

Cheers,
Geoff
gbmarsh is offline Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:36 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTiDonavan View Post
A2212 cheap motors off ebay etc working well on my x525. They $11 each and carry a full load of fpv equipment with 1045 props.
How did u loose your quad?
What KV have your motors ?
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:10 AM
Registered User
Austria
Joined Jan 2004
7,698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
What KV have your motors ?
If you are still looking for a cheap new quad:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=19596

+

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...PS_Module.html

+

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_3A_UBEC.html (this is a good esc ... but after have place in the simonK firmware)

But for the power needed you can go for this .. without have to reflash:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._ESC_2_3S.html




With this control board, you will not lose again your quad
e_lm_70 is online now Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:23 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
No no I bought a X525 Aluminum Frame from ebay. So now I'm stuck with choosing Motors and ESC for this frame ....
I think to get 2212-13 1000KV motor, but don;t know yet.
I want to make a quick quad
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
285 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeath View Post
What KV have your motors ?
I use 930kv

1000kv fine too, then you can go a bit smaller on the props and have less chance of vibration. But shorter battery life
GTiDonavan is offline Find More Posts by GTiDonavan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:54 AM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
GTiDonavan give me some videos to look at your copter

p.s. how about this ESC ?
http://rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=goo...9&productname=
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Last edited by MrDeath; Nov 29, 2012 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 12:50 PM
Registered User
Moldova, Chisinau
Joined Oct 2012
88 Posts
Guys one more question. how right to put propellers on motor and which propellers to buy?
MrDeath is offline Find More Posts by MrDeath
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssatoru View Post
I tried GY-651 sensor board on old Crius Lite to add mag and baro. It fits perfectly and worked fine.

This adds HMC5883L mag and BMP085 baro. It is available as low as $12.5 or so shipped at ebay.

I simply soldered all 5 pins and enabled those sensors in config.h, adjusted mag direction. No I2C errors without adjusting pull-ups.

Sensors and FCs are becoming amazingly affordable!

Satoru
Good idea. I'll look into it. I have two lite board and it will be cheaper to go this route than to buy a new SE board.

BTW, did you connect a GPS to the board? And if yes, did you connect it to the I2C where the new board is also connected? I wonder if it will give me problem to connect them both.
TigerPilot is offline Find More Posts by TigerPilot
Last edited by TigerPilot; Nov 29, 2012 at 01:37 PM. Reason: Added question
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:32 PM
Wait...what?
gbmarsh's Avatar
Canada, BC, Abbotsford
Joined Sep 2010
1,025 Posts
...
gbmarsh is offline Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Last edited by gbmarsh; Nov 30, 2012 at 02:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
413 Posts
gbmarsh, I'm aware that you have to use the I2C interface board to connect the GPS, which is why I asked since it looks to me like ssatoru used the I2C connection to connect the extra board.
TigerPilot is offline Find More Posts by TigerPilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:42 PM
Wait...what?
gbmarsh's Avatar
Canada, BC, Abbotsford
Joined Sep 2010
1,025 Posts
...
gbmarsh is offline Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Last edited by gbmarsh; Nov 30, 2012 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Full Foxtech AIO Glasses Review Guizmo12 FPV Equipment 1321 Sep 09, 2014 10:24 PM
Sold Arduino / MultiWii / Megapirates Boards 3rdeyepro Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Dec 03, 2011 08:43 PM
Wanted MSR 5in1 boards and MCPX 3in boards beachflyer Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Nov 22, 2011 09:14 PM
Discussion Foxtech AIO goggles RX? Teamsherman FPV Talk 2 Oct 02, 2011 10:06 AM
Sold 3 x PCB boards for multiwii copter for $28 madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Sep 06, 2011 06:53 AM