Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2012, 05:10 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteturbo View Post
Hey Mike that would be great as most of us have KK's lying about
My thoughts precisely

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaccies
but will that solve my problem with FF board throttle , i did manual calibrated all ESC with my TX and RX......no result
The problem is, the normal Tx/Rx range is too large to be used with FF controller.

Anyway, here you go!
This software allows you to do ESC throttle range calibration using a KK board

Setup:
  • Check/change PWM_PULSE defines if you want
  • Compile in AVR-Studio
  • Flash hex file to board
  • Connect up Rx (Collective only needed) & motors (M1->4) normally to KK board
  • Remove props
  • Turn Tx on and put Collective High
  • Power on the FC.
  • after ESC signal bleeps, put Tx Collective to Low
  • Wait until FC LED starts flashing quickly (completed)
  • Power Off

Other info:
if LED flashing every 0.5S, it's waiting for Rx signal (or TxColl is too low)
After initial LED flash, if LED is off, put TxColl to minimum.
When finished, LED will flash rapidly.
Use Motors M1->M4

I set the maximum pulse to 1700uS (<-edit)
I havn't actually tested this on an FF board, so pls feel free to tweak

<edit> instructions on how to setup project in AVR Studio
<edit more> OK, I have updated the zip file to have pre-compiled hex files for ATmega48/168/328
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Last edited by Mike Barton; Jan 23, 2012 at 01:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:08 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, LI, Venray
Joined Dec 2008
1,375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Barton View Post
My thoughts precisely


The problem is, the normal Tx/Rx range is too large to be used with FF controller.

Anyway, here you go!

I set the maximum pulse to 1750uS, but could probably be reduced to 1700uS
I havn't actually tested this on an FF board, so pls feel free to tweak
sorry to technical for me ( not your fault Mike ), dont understand what to do for FF board , will stick to manual ESC calibration
jaccies is offline Find More Posts by jaccies
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:29 PM
Registered User
Flyingfool's Avatar
Belle Chasse Southern, Louisiana, United States
Joined Apr 2002
867 Posts
Mike,

Can the hex file you supplied be flashed to a kk board as is if I don't want to make any changes to it? as I don't know much about compiling of hex files.
Flyingfool is offline Find More Posts by Flyingfool
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:35 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaccies View Post
sorry to technical for me ( not your fault Mike ), dont understand what to do for FF board , will stick to manual ESC calibration
OK - it's nothing to do with the FF board, which is maybe confusing....

If you have a KK board with ATmega168 on it, you can use that.
Just flash the hex file in the zip file, and wire it up normally.
Then follow the instructions above.
This will do a custom ESC throttle range calibration to the attached ESC's.
Then remove KK board & plug everything back into FF board

@Flyingfool - yes: for ATmega168
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Last edited by Mike Barton; Jan 23, 2012 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:14 PM
Registered User
Flyingfool's Avatar
Belle Chasse Southern, Louisiana, United States
Joined Apr 2002
867 Posts
Mike,

Can this be flashed with LazyZero kkflashtool to a older KR blueboard or a KK+ original D model? as I don't know if they have the 168 or the 168P chip.

I have both boards on hand and I may try this when I get home from work as I tested my FF board yesterday for the first time and I am not impressed with it due to the throttle range.
Flyingfool is offline Find More Posts by Flyingfool
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:29 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingfool View Post
Mike,

Can this be flashed with LazyZero kkflashtool to a older KR blueboard or a KK+ original D model? as I don't know if they have the 168 or the 168P chip.

I have both boards on hand and I may try this when I get home from work as I tested my FF board yesterday for the first time and I am not impressed with it due to the throttle range.
OK, I have updated the zip file to contain hex files for ATmega48/168 & 328
So should work on *most* board types.
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 07:17 PM
Registered User
Flyingfool's Avatar
Belle Chasse Southern, Louisiana, United States
Joined Apr 2002
867 Posts
I can confirm that this fix Mike came up with works and works well for me at least.

You DA MAN Mike, thanks a bunch for this as I think I'm going to like this board a whole lot more now.

GLB needs to put some kind of esc calibration in the firmware to make this easier for the masses.

Randy
Flyingfool is offline Find More Posts by Flyingfool
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:44 PM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,528 Posts
KK board as "servo tester"

Is this kk firmware same as a "servo tester"?
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 12:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2007
47 Posts
I just received the Ifly-4 kit with the FF controller from glb
http://www.goodluckbuy.com/ifly-4-co...ontroller.html

The USB programmer was not in this shipment, I am not sure if this was only a mistake on my order, but if you are considering this kit, ask about the programmer before ordering.
krial is offline Find More Posts by krial
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 12:16 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alll View Post
Is this kk firmware same as a "servo tester"?
Just write your own.
Sample pot ADC, scale to 1000..2000us, output PWM.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 24, 2012, 02:14 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,938 Posts
Randy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingfool View Post
I can confirm that this fix Mike came up with works and works well for me at least.
Glad to hear it worked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingfool View Post
GLB needs to put some kind of esc calibration in the firmware to make this easier for the masses.
I agree, this also applies to other boards aswell, as ESC throttle range calibration is very important for multirotors.

Rolf got this spot on with his KK software
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 02:51 AM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by krial View Post
I just received the Ifly-4 kit with the FF controller from glb
http://www.goodluckbuy.com/ifly-4-co...ontroller.html

The USB programmer was not in this shipment, I am not sure if this was only a mistake on my order, but if you are considering this kit, ask about the programmer before ordering.
You should have got the USB-serial programmer, in fact its useless without it but it doesnt surprise me that its missing. i got a rabbit flight controller saturday, no leads just the controller.
I am hoping its just a glitch because they were going on holiday, but bl**dy annoying, worse for you as i can make up temp leads. You dont have that option im afraid. I assume you have told them via the contact page. But nothing will happen until the Chinese New Year is over and they are back to work

Ray
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 04:24 AM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
739 Posts
Hi Mike,
will this work with the FlyCam Blueboard ?? and the programer that comes with it? the AVR ISP Programmer v2.1
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 05:01 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadframes View Post
Hi Mike,
will this work with the FlyCam Blueboard ?? and the programer that comes with it? the AVR ISP Programmer v2.1
If FlyCam Blueboard has the same basic pin configuration (RxColl and M1->4) as KK board (?), then yes, it should work.
But I don't have one so cannot say for sure....
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 05:21 AM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
739 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Barton View Post
If FlyCam Blueboard has the same basic pin configuration (RxColl and M1->4) as KK board (?), then yes, it should work.
But I don't have one so cannot say for sure....
Hi Mike I'm not sure, I hope someone else can answer the question
would be better if the FF board had this already in the code

Is it not poss to load some code like you have done onto the FF board and then flash back with software, just a thought as some of use dont have KK boards ??
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 08:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 10:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 08:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 01:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 09:23 PM