HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 03, 2013, 02:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgeezy View Post
Did you try what i just did? Fixed my problem real quick!
I appreciate your help but I wonder... It's not like it's drifting. It's aggressively flipping. It will not even get airborne... at all...

Would assume a calibration should sort most of that out, but no...
Naamis is offline Find More Posts by Naamis
Last edited by Naamis; Jan 03, 2013 at 02:40 PM. Reason: courtesy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2013, 02:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
57 Posts
If you trim it all the way the other direction does it help?

Sounds kinda like the escs might not be calibrated for throttle ranges correctly too. Im having a similar issue with a multiwii board. Did you calibrate rc in high and move sticks all arpund and flip all the switches?
jgeezy is offline Find More Posts by jgeezy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 03:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
16 Posts
I've tried calibrating everything pretty much. Used the software for the ESCs, done the RC Calibration as well. It's also a bit suspicious that pulling the stick all back does not prevent the quad from flipping forward.
Naamis is offline Find More Posts by Naamis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 03:49 PM
Registered User
techspy's Avatar
USA, NC, Matthews
Joined Aug 2008
3,242 Posts
Hey Guys, I bought a cheap used quad with Baseflight installed to have something to fly while stuck in teh sand in Afghanistan. It hovers ok but beeps continuously while flying and doesn't fly very long before the lipo cutoff forces me to land. I was told that it may be because an incompatible Baseflight FW is installed. The board is a white Freeflight board with version "1.31" on it. I didn't get the USB Boot Loader with it. I tried following the Freeflight board manual to calibrate it with my TX. I can't get anything to work as described when using the AUX channel. Also, auto level is definitely not working.

So, couple questions please.

Is there a comparability issues with my board and Baseflight?
Is there an aux channel that is used with this board and Baseflight?
How is auto level turned off and on with this board and Baseflight?
Where can I purchase a USB Boot Loader?

Thanks
techspy is online now Find More Posts by techspy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Esprit Saga
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 05:59 PM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Bradbury
Joined Dec 2007
237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naamis View Post
I've tried calibrating everything pretty much. Used the software for the ESCs, done the RC Calibration as well. It's also a bit suspicious that pulling the stick all back does not prevent the quad from flipping forward.
Hi Naamis,
Sounds like you may have something connected incorrectly, check to make sure motor connections and rotations are correct. Also make sure the prop rotation is correct, I've made this mistake myself.

If you've done all the calibrations and IMU settings/readings are correct within the software, it must be something else.

Cheers,
Smithy.
knobby1 is offline Find More Posts by knobby1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2013, 06:18 PM
Registered User
danger_mouse's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Gatton
Joined Jan 2007
931 Posts
Techspy there shouldn't be any compatibility issues.
Yes you can add extra aux channels for various functions. These need to be defined in the multiwii gui or Nicodh's Naze32AIO.
Auto level is controlled via whichever channel you chose above.

Start here and read down the page for info on alternative usb adapters.

I don't think the flight controller has anything to do with your power reduction. It just has an alarm which can be changed. You need your USB adapter first. Maybe your esc's need to be reprogrammed or your batteries are a bit old???

I found my Freeflight board flew much nicer with the Baseflight firmware.
danger_mouse is offline Find More Posts by danger_mouse
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:57 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
i just finish building a quad using FF controller v1.31 (white board) i haven't done anything with PC/software yet, but the board will only power on when using the JST connector that comes attached to the board. i was under the impression that the board can be powered on just using the PWM header with ESC bec?
scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby1 View Post
Hi Naamis,
Sounds like you may have something connected incorrectly, check to make sure motor connections and rotations are correct. Also make sure the prop rotation is correct, I've made this mistake myself.

If you've done all the calibrations and IMU settings/readings are correct within the software, it must be something else.

Cheers,
Smithy.
I checked the rotation direction with the GUI using the sliders. Rotation direction ok, props the right way around. So I assume I can think that to be correct. I've calibrated RC and IMU and the readings, whilst the quad is static on level ground is a flat line on the middle. Shaking or moving the quad does incur a change on the graph.

I'm running out of ideas.
Naamis is offline Find More Posts by Naamis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:29 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scub View Post
i just finish building a quad using FF controller v1.31 (white board) i haven't done anything with PC/software yet, but the board will only power on when using the JST connector that comes attached to the board. i was under the impression that the board can be powered on just using the PWM header with ESC bec?
ok i finally got the board to power on (aside from using the JST connector on the board) is to bridge these two pins (blue line) which then i get LEDs and buzzer working.. can someone explain why i have to do this? is something wrong with this board?

scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 06:42 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,883 Posts
the board is meant to be powered thru the jst ,thats how mine always was .why not just use it that way?you hook other side of jst to your power distro board and your done .
you can see my jst in this picture .goes right to distro board .you can still plug all your esc`s with bec in no problem .


i have moved on from this board but still familiar with it .

ps- doing what you done you also have no regulation now
helizrnew2me is offline Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 07:01 PM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scub View Post
can someone explain why i have to do this? is something wrong with this board?
I think your board is fine, the board is just designed to be powered via the JST direct from the main battery. It has a nice switching regulator on the board which means it's independent of the ESC 5V power outputs. My setup has no ESC BEC's connected at all. My reason there is that they will heat up less if unloaded on the BEC's, and also the on-board switching regulator is more efficient anyway. I'm not driving any other servos or loads from the 5V rail so it's output is plenty for the task.

Bottom line is you can power it the way you are anyway if you want to.
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 07:05 PM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naamis View Post
I checked the rotation direction with the GUI using the sliders. Rotation direction ok, props the right way around. So I assume I can think that to be correct. I've calibrated RC and IMU and the readings, whilst the quad is static on level ground is a flat line on the middle. Shaking or moving the quad does incur a change on the graph.

I'm running out of ideas.
If the rotations are correct I'd put money on it then that the position of two motors is swapped (obviously the ones rotating the same way). There was I think an error in the documentation diagram at one stage, as I too fell for that problem for an hour or so when I built my first one. The error caused the quad to try to flip at lift off every time.
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 12:46 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Springfield
Joined Dec 2010
575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLMS View Post
I think your board is fine, the board is just designed to be powered via the JST direct from the main battery. It has a nice switching regulator on the board which means it's independent of the ESC 5V power outputs. ....
okay, just thought i could do away with using the JST on board (except for setup purposes) and just use the PWM from ESC to power the board. i ended up just pigging the JST from the board to the battery/ESC feed.

so it flys pretty decent.. this is my first quad (i have experience with CP helis) and i can hover it hands off indoors for about 5 seconds before it starts drifting in one direction.

i updated the firmware to 124 and used PID v1.24 and set heli to 230mm (its a X240 cf frame).

so a couple questions.. low voltage is going off a bit early think. 3.86v alarms rings, what mv setting do i set ZN software so it triggers around 3.72-75/cell? i'm using a 450mah 3s.

also, if i change PID, do i have to calibrate/level with ZN again?

p.s. if anyone has some PID values i could use to make this mini even more stable i would appreciate it. i am getting a little bit of "gittering" seems random, but hovering pretty well. doesn't appear to have any vibrations which is good. FF is mounted on 1/8 inch sticky foam. i suspect some of the drifting and gitters might be due to one of the motors not sitting perfectly straight and slightly tilted.
scub is offline Find More Posts by scub
Last edited by scub; Jan 05, 2013 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 01:54 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLMS View Post
If the rotations are correct I'd put money on it then that the position of two motors is swapped (obviously the ones rotating the same way). There was I think an error in the documentation diagram at one stage, as I too fell for that problem for an hour or so when I built my first one. The error caused the quad to try to flip at lift off every time.
ok, this could be. How would this show? I tried using the sliders in the GUI to rotate the motors and they fired in order. Isn't the order starting from front left being nr1 clockwise ?
Naamis is offline Find More Posts by Naamis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 02:28 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naamis View Post
ok, this could be. How would this show? I tried using the sliders in the GUI to rotate the motors and they fired in order. Isn't the order starting from front left being nr1 clockwise ?
Motor #1 starts at top left but the rest do not proceed in a sequential order clockwise around the quad. If you did it that way then the motors/props are incorrect.

Please refer to the manuals I created which are linked on the first post of this thread. For ease, I have attached it as well.

The first manual covers the earlier FF boards, while the second the later FF C10 boards. The orientation of the board itself is different from one version to another but the orientation of the motors and props is the same.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 08:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 10:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 08:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 01:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 09:23 PM