HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 14, 2012, 12:04 AM
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,445 Posts
i plan to use my ff board on a 25inch quad 620mm motor to motor so do i need to use the pid ajustement in the software or just do the rc calibration ? thanks
windfou is offline Find More Posts by windfou
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2012, 01:27 AM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Oct 2010
39 Posts
Hey Jim

Quote:
Try increasing your yaw P and D a few points at a time to get a tighter yaw response. First make sure your motor tilt is correct by doing a dynamic neutral stability setup and test.
I'll try it. But when I want to run the PID Parameter v1.24(2012-2-10) I got the mscomm32.osx error message. I'm running Win 7 68 bit, can someone support?

But as QIW wrote
Quote:
well ... the quad flies very well with the KK board
MY Quad was fine with the KK. Here is an old picture of my FPV Quad.



BR
Michael
DerRose is offline Find More Posts by DerRose
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:28 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Matlock
Joined Jun 2010
41 Posts
My guess is you will have to load in the default pid settings the nearest size, so 500mm and adjust from there which is what I'm doing for my 600mm quad.

But to which software you start with at the moment is anyone's guess as there is two pid software's both with very different default values.

Thanks
Andy
andygilbert23 is offline Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:30 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Matlock
Joined Jun 2010
41 Posts
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
andygilbert23 is offline Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 02:14 AM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Oct 2010
39 Posts
Quote:
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
Thanks Andy! That was quit easy
DerRose is offline Find More Posts by DerRose
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 02:57 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Matlock
Joined Jun 2010
41 Posts
@DerRose
No Probs

Does anyone know if the PID accepts floating values? (decimal values)

Thanks
Andy
andygilbert23 is offline Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 03:55 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
I think PID stuff came from MK, so no
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 14, 2012, 07:15 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,404 Posts
Q,
You certainly should have seen a huge difference when changing the P value that much. Did you send the settings?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
well ... the quad flies very well with the KK board
i just swapped over the FF into this frame and electronics .. did the radio and ESC calibrations using the ZN software .. self leveling is not aggressive (i like that)
its just the yaw overshooting and extremely soft control/hold problem ..
maybe i will just play around with the PID settings (somehow i feel whatever figures i throw it does not get written into the FF)
changed yaw P & D values ranging from 50 - 150 does not seem to have any effect .. or should i be playing with the ROL values ?
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:28 AM
QiW
Registered User
south east asia
Joined Mar 2009
956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesolins View Post
Q,
You certainly should have seen a huge difference when changing the P value that much. Did you send the settings?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
sent .. and saved as well (after sending)
the chinese characters says "values successfully uploaded" ..

stick controls and sensors all working perfectly in the ZN software ..
QiW is offline Find More Posts by QiW
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:35 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,404 Posts
Hi Q,
OK good. Is that with the slider PID utility version? I've only been using the PID v1.24 linked on the first page, so those defaults seem to be OK. I was able to increase the P by 7 points on my build. Yaw is default for me and responds well. Setting up dynamic neutral stability is key to success there.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
sent .. and saved as well (after sending)
the chinese characters says "values successfully uploaded" ..

stick controls and sensors all working perfectly in the ZN software ..
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:38 AM
QiW
Registered User
south east asia
Joined Mar 2009
956 Posts
i am running firmware 1.22C currently (or so it says on the ZN software)
so i am using the PID utility for 1.22 that has no slider ... maybe i should try the one with the slider
will try and do that and see what happens
QiW is offline Find More Posts by QiW
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:46 AM
Registered User
Belgium, Walloon Region, Beauvechain
Joined Mar 2012
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andygilbert23 View Post
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
Hi Andy, hi TC,

I put both OSX file and PID 1.24.exe in a PID directory in c:Windows/System32, but I still get the error message when I follow your procedure.

TC, you recommended to "open (elevated on vista/7) command prompt, cd to \windows\system32, and type 'regsvr32 mscomm32.ocx", but my poor English doesn't allow me to exactly understand what to do.
Could you please explain it to me in very simple words?
Papiti is offline Find More Posts by Papiti
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:50 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,404 Posts
Q,
I recommend that you upgrade to FF V1.24 first.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
i am running firmware 1.22C currently (or so it says on the ZN software)
so i am using the PID utility for 1.22 that has no slider ... maybe i should try the one with the slider
will try and do that and see what happens
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 10:30 AM
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,445 Posts
for Jesolins
windfou is offline Find More Posts by windfou
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 12:00 PM
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,445 Posts
i just downgrade to 1.24 and the download with the bootloader was succesful but now my board flashing a red ligth and can't see any activity in the set up software
windfou is offline Find More Posts by windfou
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 08:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 10:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 08:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 01:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 09:23 PM