SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 19, 2012, 03:55 PM
Registered User
Belgium, Walloon Region, Beauvechain
Joined Mar 2012
100 Posts
Excellent! I wish I could fly like you.

Did you never loose your quad when sending it so high?
Papiti is offline Find More Posts by Papiti
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2012, 04:06 PM
Quadtard
Breezemont's Avatar
United States, CO, Gilcrest
Joined Feb 2009
807 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifraf View Post
That is really impressive, as always. Thanks for that, Warthox!

I have the stock X400 setup and after just a couple flights, I can't understand how you have so much speed and power. I know reflashing the ESC's helps improve response, but your vertical thrust and forward speed is about 5 times mine. I'm running same motors, 8" props, 3S2200. I am at 6000' altitude, I know that doesn't help.
He's running 9" props. That would make a big difference.
Breezemont is offline Find More Posts by Breezemont
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 04:09 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2003
17,724 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breezemont View Post
He's running 9" props. That would make a big difference.
I don't know their altitude difference, but 6000 ft. altitude also makes a huge difference in performance, and power systems that are sized properly at low altitudes can swiing props with larger diameters at 6000 ft. and not be overtaxed (as you already know living in Colorado!)
Tom Frank is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frank
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Golden
Joined Aug 2011
431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
I don't know their altitude difference, but 6000 ft. altitude also makes a huge difference in performance, and power systems that are sized properly at low altitudes can swiing props with larger diameters at 6000 ft. and not be overtaxed (as you already know living in Colorado!)
Yeah. With planes, I prop up one pitch. But, this is a whole new game. Since there's not a lot of pitch options in these style props, I might go up an inch and see how it goes. On the bright side, I probably get longer run times than Warthox.
Rifraf is offline Find More Posts by Rifraf
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 04:47 PM
Registered User
danger_mouse's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Gatton
Joined Jan 2007
931 Posts
I think one thing is that the stock Free Flight firmware limits maximum power.
danger_mouse is offline Find More Posts by danger_mouse
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 06:00 PM
Quadtard
Breezemont's Avatar
United States, CO, Gilcrest
Joined Feb 2009
807 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
I don't know their altitude difference, but 6000 ft. altitude also makes a huge difference in performance, and power systems that are sized properly at low altitudes can swiing props with larger diameters at 6000 ft. and not be overtaxed (as you already know living in Colorado!)
Yes indeed. Props, wing loading and carb jetting all require recalculating.
Breezemont is offline Find More Posts by Breezemont
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 07:13 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
721 Posts
Hi,

Well i tried going back to FF firmware and im sorry, its not for me, it just isnt right, the acro mode isnt acro and the level mode doesnt like the wind, but hey thats just me being a bit of a control freak i suppose and if that was the only quad i had and tc hadn't done the multiwii port, i would have to get used to it.
So back to tc's multiwii port and she flys so much better. So this time i thought i'de tidy things up a bit and go PPM-sum as i had a spare D4FR lying about, But it dont work
As you can see from the attachment i've enabled PPM but the ing FF board doesnt know it!
I attached the RX to the first channel and all it does is wobble the throttle line a bit, so i reconnected the normal five wires and bingo it works again. By the way i did also check all the other channels and no go.
So anyone got any ideas what i am doing wrong.

Ray
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Last edited by whiteturbo; Mar 19, 2012 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:10 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Aug 2007
113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteturbo View Post
I attached the RX to the first channel and all it does is wobble the throttle line a bit, so i reconnected the normal five wires and bingo it works again. By the way i did also check all the other channels and no go.
So anyone got any ideas what i am doing wrong.

Ray
Did you connect channels 3&4 on the D4FR by a jumper?
drkdgglr is online now Find More Posts by drkdgglr
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:29 AM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
721 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkdgglr View Post
Did you connect channels 3&4 on the D4FR by a jumper?
Yes, i took it straight off of another working quad. Something in the firmware is broken because i reflashed it to a version where you had a separate ppm(baseflight-20120228a) and it worked fine so now after i proved everything was working with the quad i reflashed baseflight-20120319 and back to the same problem, it works in pwm and not ppm. Strange

Ray
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:34 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Aug 2007
113 Posts
It works on my FF board so the firmware is fine. It did take me some time to get it to work though. Try save and reboot command in cli after enabling ppm.
drkdgglr is online now Find More Posts by drkdgglr
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:34 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteturbo View Post
As you can see from the attachment i've enabled PPM but the ing FF board doesnt know it!
did you try 'save' after doing 'feature ppm'?
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 20, 2012, 12:48 AM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
721 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
did you try 'save' after doing 'feature ppm'?
No, But guess what LOL, i have now and it works, why didnt i think of saving it FFS. Once again tc comes to the rescue
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 02:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
28 Posts
hi guys, just question, is their a stable mode with this firwmare (acc working?) http://afrodevices.googlecode.com/fi...t-20120319.zip
Because i already try wii firmware but it's not good for fpv flight !
Thanks
quentusthetroll is offline Find More Posts by quentusthetroll
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 05:32 PM
Registered User
Belgium, Walloon Region, Beauvechain
Joined Mar 2012
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by snapper1234 View Post
new PID with a level controller:
if you turn right level is high like MWC
you can see Roll and Pitch number change !
I tried to install the PID software but I got this message:
"mscomm32.ocx" or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid.

Do you know what's wrong?
Papiti is offline Find More Posts by Papiti
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 05:46 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quentusthetroll View Post
hi guys, just question, is their a stable mode with this firwmare (acc working?) http://afrodevices.googlecode.com/fi...t-20120319.zip
Because i already try wii firmware but it's not good for fpv flight !
Thanks
multiwii.com/software for explanation of how to use switches to enable/ disable stable mode and tune pids.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 08:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 10:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 08:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 01:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 09:23 PM