HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 16, 2012, 10:07 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
There's I2C pads on the bottom of the board, labeled C/D/GND. Its been shown in one of the pics attached to the thread. So you just connect the breakout SCL (C), SDA (D), GND, and 3V. Not difficult.
Here's a picture of the bottom of the board and the link to a youtube video from sparkfun explaining how the board works.

I like that it maintains the heading for you. Looks very tempting!!!!!!

Digital Compass Modules with Engineer Chris Taylor (2 min 32 sec)
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 16, 2012, 10:20 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
It's about the only reasonable priced breakout at sparkfun.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:59 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
TC, can you post a pic of the pads on the FF board where the wires go and list or include what wires went to where.

This looks like a great option!
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 04:02 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2003
17,979 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
TC, can you post a pic of the pads on the FF board where the wires go and list or include what wires went to where.

This looks like a great option!
He described it pretty clearly already. The pads are labelled on the bottom side of the FF board (or should be). Just match up the letter designations.
Tom Frank is offline Find More Posts by Tom Frank
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 04:46 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank View Post
He described it pretty clearly already. The pads are labelled on the bottom side of the FF board (or should be). Just match up the letter designations.
Duh, I should't read so fast, thanks
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Milpitas
Joined Jun 2006
26 Posts
Hi. I need help with my FF Controller Board

After flashing it with the firmware 1.24, the red LED light is now continuosly blinking with a beeping sound. I can reflash but now I cannot get the board to respond with my transmitter. Also the UPPER MACHINE software does not seem to see the board anymore for me to configure. Prior to flashing, I was able to do so.

Did I just screwed up my board? Please help.
RiceRocketCar is offline Find More Posts by RiceRocketCar
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 06:31 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Golden
Joined Aug 2011
431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiceRocketCar View Post
After flashing it with the firmware 1.24, the red LED light is now continuosly blinking with a beeping sound. I can reflash but now I cannot get the board to respond with my transmitter. Also the UPPER MACHINE software does not seem to see the board anymore for me to configure. Prior to flashing, I was able to do so.

Did I just screwed up my board? Please help.
I just flashed FF 1.24 so I could compare to MWC, it's doing the exact same thing for me. The beeping is from the ESC's not having any PWM signal to them. The red light on the FF board flashes slow and continuous. I have no problem connecting in boot mode and reflashing.

Kiddos are up from their nap... So I will have to try later....
Rifraf is offline Find More Posts by Rifraf
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:00 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
You need to read the manual carefully and then use fix flash firmware I wrote.
Hint: erase necessary pages
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:14 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Milpitas
Joined Jun 2006
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
You need to read the manual carefully and then use fix flash firmware I wrote.
Hint: erase necessary pages
Hi Timecop... Thank you. Yes, I did do exactly what the manual stated including selecting the "erase necessary pages" option. I followed the instructions on the manual carefully step by step.
RiceRocketCar is offline Find More Posts by RiceRocketCar
Last edited by RiceRocketCar; Mar 16, 2012 at 07:15 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:17 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Golden
Joined Aug 2011
431 Posts
Yuppers. Me too.
Rifraf is offline Find More Posts by Rifraf
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Milpitas
Joined Jun 2006
26 Posts
Hi Timecop,

found your fix flash file and downloaded it to my board. now i have the green and red LEDs blinking rapidly.
RiceRocketCar is offline Find More Posts by RiceRocketCar
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:24 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
At some point you didn't - so you need to restore copy protection bits that ff firmware needs.
Search this thread for my post with attachment called fix flash or something.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:24 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Yes, now flash ff firmware as normal.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:29 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Milpitas
Joined Jun 2006
26 Posts
Thank you Timecop!!! It works with the fix flash.

Rifraf - you need to apply the fix flash and then reflash it again with the ff 1.24.
RiceRocketCar is offline Find More Posts by RiceRocketCar
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 07:33 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Golden
Joined Aug 2011
431 Posts
Geeze, enough to make one's head spin. Thanks, I'll do that tonight.
Rifraf is offline Find More Posts by Rifraf
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 09:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 11:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 09:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 02:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 10:23 PM