HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:33 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepower View Post
Thanks for the video but mine seems to be completely different. Moving one stick has never done anything.
...upgrade firmware, and it will work.
One member here won't upgrade firmware (check his earlier posts with complains about gimbal not working) posts, and now others will follow him? Heh ;-)
ABLomas is offline Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:36 AM
Registered User
Slovakia
Joined Nov 2010
1,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
...upgrade firmware, and it will work.
One member here won't upgrade firmware (check his earlier posts with complains about gimbal not working) posts, and now others will follow him? Heh ;-)
I could not make the gimbal manual pitch adjust to work on stock FW 1.22 via CH7, but jesolins helped me and advised to include the TX knob in the RC calibration to fix this. It works now. No upgrade, just proper setup and calibration. What else should I say, stock FW works just fine for me. Since 1.24 brings nothing why should I bother?

I never said gimbal did not work. It worked since the beginning.

Besides, his arming procedure points that he is on 1.24 already, because in that version you arm the board like that....
alek3d is offline Find More Posts by alek3d
Last edited by alek3d; Feb 17, 2012 at 01:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:52 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,538 Posts
Col,
Load the FF v1.24 firmware and lets start from there Important thing when doing that is to make sure "erase only necessary pages" is checked!
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepower View Post
Here is a close up photo.

I have not changed the firmware that it came with. On the bottom of the calibration screen it says Firmware Version 1.22 PC Client Version 1.0.7.

So I have the same props diagonally opposite which should be correct.

Basically the front (two orange props) lift off the ground and would flip over backwards. In other words the black props are not going fast enough.

So I have not done and fine tuning and the trims on the TX do not seem to do anything. I have not done the PID stuff whatever that is.

It just flips over backwards. I can do the video tonight.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Last edited by jesolins; Feb 17, 2012 at 08:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:54 AM
FLY IY, BREAK IT, FIX IT,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2005
838 Posts
After my soldering screw-up, I have now got this thing together....



imu calibration done
RC calibration done (via PC)
ESC throttle ranges independently set
motor directions right
props balanced
checked for gyro reaction in the right direction
checked TX sticks will move it in the right direction
Set Telemetry voltage alarm
NOT yet range checked

what else am I forgetting?

Expo/dual rate settings? Any suggestions welcomed.
Impailer is offline Find More Posts by Impailer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 08:56 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
That frame looks super cool.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:08 AM
FLY IY, BREAK IT, FIX IT,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2005
838 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
That frame looks super cool.
65USD from GLB - iFly-4 - came with a minor crack in a motor cup, so got $15 off

reasonably durable
IDEA FLY IFLY 4 Strength Testing (2 min 12 sec)
Impailer is offline Find More Posts by Impailer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 10:39 AM
FLY IY, BREAK IT, FIX IT,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2005
838 Posts
OK, noob question, sorry.

I am used to KK/HK boards with pots for gyro gain control.

Does this board do something fancy with the accellerometers instead?

Also, I have seen posts about PID settings - this is like a gyro pot yes? only more advanced?

The PC software doesnt seem to have any settings for PID (1.05) - running 1.22 on teh board.

Is there something I should be looking at to refine the gyros before I maiden?

thanks in advance
Impailer is offline Find More Posts by Impailer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 12:06 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NH, Amsterdam
Joined Aug 2007
112 Posts
Small tip if you don't have a sprit leveI at hand: I wanted to calibrate my board and make sure the board was level. I didn't have a spirit level available so searched android market, and downloaded this tool: Master Spirit Level

drkdgglr is offline Find More Posts by drkdgglr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 12:15 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
721 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impailer View Post
OK, noob question, sorry.

I am used to KK/HK boards with pots for gyro gain control.

Does this board do something fancy with the accellerometers instead?

Also, I have seen posts about PID settings - this is like a gyro pot yes? only more advanced?

The PC software doesnt seem to have any settings for PID (1.05) - running 1.22 on teh board.

Is there something I should be looking at to refine the gyros before I maiden?

thanks in advance
go to the 1st page of this thread and everything you need is there.

You dont adjust Pots with this one, its done in software. And yes accelerometers, which this board has, auto-levels it ,unlike KK which only has gyro's

Ray
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 04:03 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firepower View Post
Thanks - I am sure that I did that but will double check tonight.

I am mode 1 and moved the "Elevator" UP and "Rudder" LEFT (nearly all the way on TX trims) and instead of doing a back flip it was flipping forward. But I can not trim it and even put it back where it was doing a back flip it still was going forward until I turn it off and on again.

Something funny there.
It sounds like your ESC's are connected to the wrong headers on the FF board. Same thing occured to me. Had ESC #2 and #4 switched.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 04:15 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impailer View Post
65USD from GLB - iFly-4 - came with a minor crack in a motor cup, so got $15 off

reasonably durable
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kh4Flz526XM
It came with a cracked motor cup but it took the abuse in the video? Gotta love the marketing!!! Very cook looking frame.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 05:14 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
United States, MA, Walpole
Joined Dec 2003
17,571 Posts
ACRO or HELI mode?

deleted... post in wrong thread
Tom Frank is online now Find More Posts by Tom Frank
Last edited by Tom Frank; Feb 17, 2012 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 05:27 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
It sounds like your ESC's are connected to the wrong headers on the FF board. Same thing occured to me. Had ESC #2 and #4 switched.
Thanks for that info. I'll check it out.

I just printed out your document and I think I'll need another printer it was so long. It will be good reading.
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 05:28 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABLomas View Post
...upgrade firmware, and it will work.
One member here won't upgrade firmware (check his earlier posts with complains about gimbal not working) posts, and now others will follow him? Heh ;-)
Thanks for that. I'll have a look at it.

Col
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 05:29 PM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
North Brisbane, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
3,145 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesolins View Post
Col,
Load the FF v1.24 firmware and lets start from there Important thing when doing that is to make sure "erase only necessary pages" is checked!
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Sounds good. I'll get to it as soon as I come back next week.

Thanks for all your help.

Col
Firepower is offline Find More Posts by Firepower
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 08:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 10:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 08:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 01:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 09:23 PM