HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 27, 2011, 05:37 PM
United States, IL, East Alton
Joined Sep 2011
8 Posts
Discussion
Tug Amsterdam

Hi. Guys I just bought a kit the tug amsterdam and i am fixin to start i am new to building boats and i have a couple of questions i don' have any metric drill bits can i convert to inch bits 2. do I need to rough up the plastic with sandpaper to make the glue or fiberglass to stick. 3. what would you use to seal the hole where the prop and rudder shaft. last what size prop is on this boat i bought a 3 inch brass prop to replace the plastic prop that came with the boat thank for your help in advance
Jrmanning58 is offline Find More Posts by Jrmanning58
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2011, 04:48 PM
Joined Sep 2011
8 Posts
would some one please reply to my questions thank you
Old Nov 29, 2011, 05:15 PM
Union, Maine
Joined Jul 2006
4,054 Posts
Sure you can use inch drills, just find what ever is closest to the metric and drill away.
Definately roughen the plastic with sandpaper. 80 grit should work fine.
Epoxy should work, or you could use JB weld which is a bit thicker.This will seal around the shaft tube and rudder tube quite nicely.
Not sure of the prop size, but if you locate the shaft with the prop attached temporarily just right, while attaching the shaft tube to the hull with adhesive make the room available for the 3" prop. maybe give yourself an 1/8" to 3/16" from the tip of the prop to the hull surface.
then the 3" should be fine.
Jerome Morris is offline Find More Posts by Jerome Morris
Old Nov 29, 2011, 06:09 PM
"Take the Cannollis"
Lake Martin ALABAMA
Joined Feb 2006
875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrmanning58 View Post
. do I need to rough up the plastic with sandpaper to make the glue or fiberglass to stick.
The release agent used in the factory mold will eventually weaken any bond made to it..... no matter how much you clean or sand it. It may take months, but it will unstick.