Old Nov 25, 2011, 05:10 AM
flexwing addict
midlands uk
Joined Sep 2004
2,678 Posts
Build Log
rc microlight /ultralight

Hi guys,
ive been making a rc microlight for the past 3 years (on and off)
finally got it finished enough to test it again the other day and was quite pleased with how its coming on

one of the videos below is of my old wing and nitro trike which is abit embarrassing to look at now lol,
im very suprised it even took off to be honest.

after seing that it took off i decided to make a proper wing with the 'A' frame, kingpost and flying wires to get more lift,less drag and more stability, also changed from nitro to brushless/lipo,
finally feel like im getting there now even if it has taken a fair time to get there

the newer video was meant to just be a taxi test but i tried a few small hops to see what would happen, the bar was tied to the front strut though because there was no servos fitted for the wing at that time.. this angle of attack made it stall as soon as it left the floor though.

my last few tests (that i unfortunately didnt get on camera) were alot more positive, since ive now fitted the wing servos and found a nice smooth, long carpark to practice on it can lift off and check things like steering response etc alot easier,

seems to steer quite nice at the moment.. a little slow but with only weight shift i was expecting this and is what i want in a way to make it realistic in the air, just have to plan ahead abit lol
one of the mods ive done is change the keel sleeve from carbon to alloy so it doesnt twist and take out some steering authority.

hoping to get it back in the air this weekend as ive done a few mods to loose abit of weight and moved a few things around so we'll see how that goes,
fingers crossed for some nice still weather

ill post some pictures later which should explain bits better than i can.

cheers,mark

old microlight test (4 min 49 sec)

RC microlight (0 min 47 sec)
mark675 is offline Find More Posts by mark675