Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 22, 2011, 07:36 PM
Whisper Model Aircraft
Greensburg, PA
Joined Feb 2008
558 Posts
Discussion
Bagged layup for XC ship

What would you guys like to see in a bagged wing layup? I'm currently a pretty experienced TD builder, so from building super light to carrying loads of ballast is a new venture.

If you look at this link you can see how I'm currently doing them. I'd like to stick to tube and spar center section, and stressed-skin tip panels. The spar tapers from .56 to .14 with a shear web made from epoxy and cotton fiber filler. The carbon in the center panel is 40% of the center span. There is .7oz FG all around. The carbon is 4.1oz uni from sollar. Everything is on the bias including the kevlar doublers.

Almost all of my structural knowledge has come from Anker. I know there is some layup calculators, but I really don't have the time to figure them out.

The only thing that I could add might be to replace the .7oz FG with maybe 4oz FG. Would s-glass be the way to go?
heliwill10 is offline Find More Posts by heliwill10
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2011, 12:17 PM
yyz
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliwill10 View Post
What would you guys like to see in a bagged wing layup? I'm currently a pretty experienced TD builder, so from building super light to carrying loads of ballast is a new venture.

If you look at this link you can see how I'm currently doing them. I'd like to stick to tube and spar center section, and stressed-skin tip panels. The spar tapers from .56 to .14 with a shear web made from epoxy and cotton fiber filler. The carbon in the center panel is 40% of the center span. There is .7oz FG all around. The carbon is 4.1oz uni from sollar. Everything is on the bias including the kevlar doublers.

Almost all of my structural knowledge has come from Anker. I know there is some layup calculators, but I really don't have the time to figure them out.