Old Nov 19, 2011, 10:14 PM
James Cee
United States, FL, Jupiter
Joined Nov 2011
11 Posts
Discussion
Newbie Looking For Advice

Hey guys,
As the title says Im new to the hobby and I have some questions. I bought a champ as my trainer plane and I am learning what its like to fly with that. Now I really enjoy building things frim the ground up and I was wondering wwhat a good beginner trainer plane that is not extremely difficult to build. I am open to any suggestion or even if this is a bad idea all together. Thanks in advance for your input. - JC
JaCee83 is offline Find More Posts by JaCee83
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2011, 10:29 PM
United States, NY, CENTRAL VLY
Joined May 2011
1,029 Posts
It's a great idea to build. If you are getting reasonably adept at keeping the Champ in the air, then by all means move on to building, you won't be sorry.

My suggestion, from experience, get a Stevens Aero kit, more accurately, one of their UM compatibles. You can pop your Champ brick in a balsa build and never look back...

I built the Hummingbird this summer and I was amazed at the quality of the kit and the thought that went into it. It went together in a three evenings and with a few hours of covering (never did it before) and adjusting, I was in the air. Both my boys landed their UMs immediately and just watched. I just bought two kits for them for Xmas.

As far as toughness, both myself and the boys have hard some hard landings that would have certainly torn foam, but not even a scratch on the Hummingbird.
ausf is offline Find More Posts by ausf
Old Nov 20, 2011, 05:31 AM
Cedar Rapids, IA
Joined Aug 2010
831 Posts
I see from your other post that your Champ may have had a mishap on the first flight. Let me say you've done the right thing by learning on a Ready To Fly (RTF) plane. Beginners have enough to worry about without also wondering if everything has been assembled, wired and adjusted properly too!