HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 18, 2011, 08:43 AM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Discussion
Regulate 7.2v down to 4.8v or 6v

I fly glow and my three 4.8v nimh batteries for my airborne units have gone bad. I would like to make a change to 2s 7.2v lipos for ease of use cheaper cost, ability to hold charge, etc.

I'm not electric knowledgable at all in terms of resistors or building something though I think i could with instructions.

Is there a simple, reliable and inexpensive voltage regulator that would allow me to use 2s lipos for normal 4.8 or 6v receiver/servo power.

Thanks,
Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 18, 2011, 09:19 AM
Joined Aug 2006
143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin View Post
I fly glow and my three 4.8v nimh batteries for my airborne units have gone bad. I would like to make a change to 2s 7.2v lipos for ease of use cheaper cost, ability to hold charge, etc.

I'm not electric knowledgable at all in terms of resistors or building something though I think i could with instructions.

Is there a simple, reliable and inexpensive voltage regulator that would allow me to use 2s lipos for normal 4.8 or 6v receiver/servo power.

Thanks,
Mike

The easiest way would be to get an external Swiching BEC, and they will let you run the servos at the voltages you want. They aren't too expensive. A search on here will give you more then enough info on them and how to select the model that fits your needs.
mpotter187 is offline Find More Posts by mpotter187
Old Nov 18, 2011, 09:22 AM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Thanks.. I'll take a look..

I do fly some electrics and I haven't given this much thought yet but what would prevent the use of a 30 or 40a ESC as the voltage regulator? It's already reducing reducing my 11.1 down to 4.8.
Old Nov 18, 2011, 09:22 AM
Spoooooon!
San Fernando Valley, California, United States